Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete disco in a box - and less than 8p a track !
You could play a fully credible disco night armed with nothing more than these five cds. If a definitive chart was made of the 500 top tunes from the dance decade of 1975-1984 this set would claim an absolute minimum of 50 places.
One ill informed reviewer knocks legenary weekender tunes on CD3 as fillers and bemoans the lack of Abba, Bee Gees and Dexy's Midnight...
Published on 20 Aug 2008 by fivestarfrankie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disco
Heard the first disc in this set the other night at a party. It made me by it and it's worth it just for the first and second disc, but after that I think they are scraping the barrel a bit.
Published 15 months ago by Ian Lavender


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete disco in a box - and less than 8p a track !, 20 Aug 2008
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
You could play a fully credible disco night armed with nothing more than these five cds. If a definitive chart was made of the 500 top tunes from the dance decade of 1975-1984 this set would claim an absolute minimum of 50 places.
One ill informed reviewer knocks legenary weekender tunes on CD3 as fillers and bemoans the lack of Abba, Bee Gees and Dexy's Midnight Runners. It's precisely that absence which makes this such a credible set. I already owned perhaps 80 or 90 of these tracks but the purchase was well worth it for Janice Macclain's Smack Dab in the Middle and then again for the huge grin that spread across my face when I heard Wikka Wrap again for the first time in twenty years.
If you have only a few disco tracks in your collection then my advice is BUY THIS SET !
If on the other hand you have a huge collection of Soul and Disco then none the less BUY THIS SET !
See my other reviews for more bargain CDs available on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing from elsewhere, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
Disc 1
The Trammps - Disco Inferno
The Jacksons - Blame It On The Boogie
Sister Sledge - Lost In Music
Patrice Rushen - Forget Me Nots
Rose Royce - Is It Love You're After
Chic - Le Freak
Stacy Lattisaw - Jump To The Beat
Melba Moore - This Is It
LaBelle - Lady Marmalade
K.C. & The Sunshine Band - Give It Up
The Hues Corporation - Rock The Boat
Dan Hartman - Relight My Fire
Andrea True Connection - More, More, More
Billy Ocean - Love Really Hurts Without You
Wild Cherry - Play That Funky Music
Detroit Spinners - Working My Way Back To You
Candi Staton - Young Hearts Run Free
McFadden & Whitehead - Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now
Frantique - Strut Your Funky Stuff
Rufus & Chaka Khan - Ain't Nobody

Disc 2
Odyssey - Use It Up And Wear It Out
Chic - Everybody Dance
Earth, Wind & Fire - Let's Groove
Sister Sledge - He's The Greatest Dancer
Rose Royce - It Makes You Feel Like Dancin'
The Three Degrees - My Simple Heart
Billy Ocean - Red Light Spells Danger
Cheryl Lynn - Encore
Heatwave - Boogie Nights
Dan Hartman - Instant Replay
The Emotions - Best Of My Love
The Average White Band - Pick Up The Pieces
Evelyn 'Champagne' King - Love Come Down
Chaka Khan - Fate
Gladys Knight & The Pips - Bourgie' Bourgie'
Goody Goody - #1 Dee Jay
Janice McClain - Smack Dab In The Middle
Phreek - Weekend
Stacy Lattisaw - Dynamite!
Kleeer - Keep Your Body Workin'

Disc 3
Tom Browne - Funkin' For Jamaica
Lonnie Liston Smith - Expansions
Jean Carn - Don't Let It Go To Your Head
The Jones Girls - Nights Over Egypt
Keni Burke - Risin' To The Top
Rodney Franklin - The Groove
Undisputed Truth - You + Me = Love
Stargard - Wear It Out
Candi Staton - When You Wake Up Tomorrow
Dexter Wansel - Life On Mars
Narada Michael Walden - I Shoulda Loved Ya
The Futures - Ain't No Time Fa Nothing
Philadelphia International All-Stars - Let's Clean Up The Ghetto
G.Q. - Disco Nights
Phyllis Hyman - You Know How To Love Me
Cheryl Lynn - Got To Be Real
Heatwave - Gansters Of The Groove
The Intruders - I'll Always Love My Mama
Kleeer - Tonight's the Night (Good Time)
MFSB - TSOP (The Sound Of Philadelphia)

Disc 4
Boney M - Daddy Cool
Gary's Gang - Keep On Dancin
Tina Charles - I Love To Love
Baccara - Yes Sir, I Can Boogie
Johnnie Taylor - Disco Lady
Deodato - Whistle Bump
Graham Central Station - Now Do-U-Wanta Dance
Club Nouveau - Lean On Me
Steve Arrington - Feel So Real
Nu Shooz - I Can't Wait
Conway Brothers - Turn It Up
Timex Social Club - Rumors
The Evasions - Wikka Wrap
Space - Magic Fly
Eruption - I Can't Stand The Rain
The O'Jays - Put Our Heads Together
Luther Vandross - Give Me The Reason
Linda Lewis - It's In His Kiss
The Weather Girls - It's Raining Men
The Drifters - Kissin' In The Back Row Of The Movies

Disc 5
The Isley Brothers - It's A Disco Night (Rock Don't Stop)
Odyssey - Native New Yorker
Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes - The Love I Lost
Gladys Knight & The Pips - Baby Don't Change Your Mind
Sly & The Family Stone - Family Affair
The Trammps - Hold Back The Night
Jean Carn - Was That All It Was
Lou Rawls - See You When I Git There
Billy Paul - Bring The Family Back
Slave - Just a Touch of Love
Gwen McCrae - Keep The Fire Burning
Change - Searching
The Three Degrees - The Runner
The Pointer Sisters - Automatic
Evelyn 'Champagne' King - Shame
M.F.S.B. - Mysteries Of The World
The Jones Girls - You Can't Have My Love
Billy Griffin - Hold Me Tighter In The Rain
People's Choice - Jam Jam Jam (All Night Long)
The O'Jays - Love Train
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100 Disco Hits, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Lesley Bashford (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
Feeling a bit nostalgic, I bought this last week as the seventies was my era. I really love discs one, two and five, but discs three and four are not very good, not heard of some of them and a bit boring. Overall though, I am more than happy to have bought this as I still have three discs of really good quality and sound, for an excellent price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another delight, 23 April 2013
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
Some people hate "disco", some love it. There are five delightful albums packaged together here with some big hits, like Disco Inferno (Burn Baby Burn) - Trammps. (The best version of this can be found on Saturday Night Fever, another excellent album, but I'm getting ahead of myself)! If you love The Jacksons; Patrice Rushen; Melba Moore; Rose Royce and a host of similar stars, you will definitely enjoy this huge collection of hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disco, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
Heard the first disc in this set the other night at a party. It made me by it and it's worth it just for the first and second disc, but after that I think they are scraping the barrel a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 28 Dec 2008
By 
A. Joyce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
This album has most definitely helped to form the bedrock of my dj collection sure you may have some of these on various albums but as a previous reviewer said you could play a whole dj set with these 5cds alone.
Can anyone name me a collection that doesn't duplicate tracks already found elsewhere? This is a very good buy. Oh! and I got mine from good old Woolies may they rest in peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bread & Butter disco, 22 July 2008
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
My album was bought in tesco's... so that probably tells you all you need to know. If you are a hard-core disco afficionado, then you will already have most of these songs, and this LP wont wet your whistle. If you remember this period of life with memories of the school disco, then this will do the trick. A solid good value album... like BOGOF, ready meals, oven chips, lambrini (ok, not lambrini... its not that bad)... and like those deals, it deserves to be sold in tesco's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Compilation, 11 Nov 2007
By 
R. Mortimer "Rye Man" (Bucks., U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
If you are after a single compilation of all the very best dance numbers from the late 70's and early 80's then this is it. I can guarantee that you won't be able to keep still
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great mix of Disco Classics, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Robert Carpenter (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
It's very rare that you can actually buy a box set like this with so many tracks that aren't commonly used on compilations in general. It's normally the hits constantly re-used time and time again and the smaller hits or Disco hits in this instance get pushed to the back of the music locker and never again see the light of day which is a travesty in itself. So well done Demon who seem to be leading the way in bringing the unsung heroes to the fore. Magic Fly-Space, Dancer-Gino Soccio and so many others surface on this collection and really shine through for me. It's well worth purchasing if you enjoy this Disco era of course. Demon listen to me go for more rare recordings and resecue them from obscurity starting with the sixties hits and the one's that got away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Emmanuel Moral "emmanuel" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Disco (Audio CD)
Good compilation of my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits: Disco
100 Hits: Disco by 100 Hits (Audio CD - 2007)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 2 to 5 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews