Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Excellent 60's Compilation
All the original recordings. A wonderful 5 CD box set with a few surprises added that gets 10 out of 10.

"100 Hits- 60s" contains 12 number ones that collectively spent 49 weeks at the top of the UK single charts (The Everly Brothers' "Cathy's Clown" 9wks, Elvis Presley's "It's Now Or Never" 8 wks, Jim Reeves' "Distant Drums" 5 wks, Gary Pucketts' "Young Girl"...
Published on 27 Jan 2008 by Mr. D. Barber

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as
This has 100 tracks form the 60's, but the collection is not as good as "Greatest Ever 60's: The Definitive Collection". That 3 cd box set has only 54 tunes, which is a better selection.
Published on 30 May 2009 by K. Packard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Excellent 60's Compilation, 27 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. D. Barber "dnb418" (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
All the original recordings. A wonderful 5 CD box set with a few surprises added that gets 10 out of 10.

"100 Hits- 60s" contains 12 number ones that collectively spent 49 weeks at the top of the UK single charts (The Everly Brothers' "Cathy's Clown" 9wks, Elvis Presley's "It's Now Or Never" 8 wks, Jim Reeves' "Distant Drums" 5 wks, Gary Pucketts' "Young Girl" 4 wks, Scott McKenzie's "San Francisco (Be Sure To Wear Some Flowers In Your Hair)" 4 wks, Hugo Montenegro's "The Good, The Bad And The Ugly" 4 wks, Everly Brothers' "Walk Right Back" 4 wks, Roy Orbison's "Only The Lonely" 3 wks, Zager & Evans' "In The Year 2525" 3 wks, Love Affair's "Everlasting Love" 2 wks, Sonny & Cher's "I Got You Babe" 2 wks, and Georgie Fame's "The Ballad Of Bonnie And Clyde" 1 wk).

A further 49 top 20 hits are included, and many tracks not included on other similar compilations.

Really pleasing to see the inclusion of The Yardbirds' "Over Under Sideways Down", Edward Byrnes & Connie Stevens' "Kookie Kookie (Lend Me Your Comb)" and The Mar-Keys' soulful instrumental "Last Night".

All in all an great collection at a great price that should be part of everyone's 60's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as, 30 May 2009
By 
K. Packard "koktrash" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
This has 100 tracks form the 60's, but the collection is not as good as "Greatest Ever 60's: The Definitive Collection". That 3 cd box set has only 54 tunes, which is a better selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be labelled Amercian 60's hits, 15 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. R. Jacques "Mad Hattie" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
I agree with Mr Barber that this is a great selection but how can any 60's album not include virtually any of the iconic british bands of the era? I could not count for certain 10 brit bands on these 5 discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Groovy Collection!, 25 Jun 2010
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
This good value 5-cd set is one of the better collections from the 1960s. It's representative of the era and there's some great music here. My only reservation is that it tends to focus on US releases, but many listeners will buy it because of that. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100 hits 60s, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
just received this CD. The CD holder was a bad it fell to pieces the minute i opened it. CDs in wrong order. The songs are great just the casing i am not happy with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great tunes, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
enjoy listening to this in the car, would recommend this would be ideal as a Christmas or birthday present.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100 Hits 60's, 23 Mar 2009
By 
M. Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
I expected this cd to be all the original artists, some are to be fair, but some are covers and although they are good covers it isn't quite what I'd hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the idea behind these series but find it frustrating ..., 28 Nov 2014
By 
Robert Carpenter (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
I love the idea behind these series but find it frustrating that the rare 60's hits are frequently overlooked.
I must have so many doubles on various compilations that I rarely find what I'm looking for lately.
It was nice to see some but few new artists very rarely featured on any compilations on this and the 60's
original release. Let's see a rarities release from all era's 100 Rarities would be a first and not necessarily
hits. 100 Collectors rarities would be another good choice. Hurry up before the people who remember these
records are no longer with us to enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 100 hits of 60's CD, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
I bought CD as a Xmas present. It came promptly & was well packaged. I've had no complaints so presume it was OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Hits of 60s, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: 60s (Audio CD)
What a fantastic collection.
Anyone who loves all the old sixties music would love this.
Theres a hole in my bucket was a favourite in our house :)
Would recommend this to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits: 60s
100 Hits: 60s by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2007)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews