Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portable PSP game turn based strategy
One of the first games I purchased for the PSP an still playing it.
The graphics and sound are superb, and the missions are at the right difficulty level.

There are a number of units to use (space marines, scouts, terminators, grey knights, dreadnoughts, predator, land raider, land speeder) as the space marines and the enemy chaos also has a number of...
Published on 26 Nov 2008 by Wii fan

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but frustratingly short...
This review is based exclusively on playing the single player version.

My favourtie style of strategy games has been the turn-based version for many years, and I used to play tabletop 40k as a teenager, so I was really looking forward to this title. Ontop of that, I loved Chaos Gate - the similar PC game of 10 years ago - that I had heard Squad Command was...
Published on 18 Feb 2008 by P. E. Haynes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portable PSP game turn based strategy, 26 Nov 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
One of the first games I purchased for the PSP an still playing it.
The graphics and sound are superb, and the missions are at the right difficulty level.

There are a number of units to use (space marines, scouts, terminators, grey knights, dreadnoughts, predator, land raider, land speeder) as the space marines and the enemy chaos also has a number of different units and vehicles. You get to choose the weaponry (bolters, missile launchers, las cannons, chainsword, plasma guns and many more) for your squad and then play a hunt and destroy or survive for a number of turns game.

They are all set in an urban city which again is very good graphics and the scenery is all destructable. This is the real limitation of the game and all missions are set in the same city environment. But the game is great fun and there are 15 missions to play in single mission mode. The best missions are when you have to keep the squad alive playing defensive for a number of turns whilst they are attacked by numerous enemies.

The cut scenes also must get a mention as they are really well rendered.
Though the storyline linking them could have been better with characters such as maybe a squad sergeant etc.

Top game lets hope they do another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 29 Sep 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
I've lost count of the number of times i've played through this game. For me at least i find it has great replayability as you try to complete each level without loosing any squad members etc.It suits the PSP perfectly as it is turn based so can be picked up and played easily without wearing your left thumb to the bone Also as i own several consoles and have found mostly crap on the PSP I was delighted with this game. Great atmosphere and unit moddeling. The very short cutscenes between levels are exceptionnaly well rendered and you can tell alot of effort and care was put into making it. Personally it's my favourite game on the PSP. Also i've never played the 40k boardgame so i'm not a total fanboy although since playing this and Dawn of war i've begun reading the books which i would also recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Squad Command great game to play!, 14 May 2009
By 
M. Versluis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
Squad command is an easy game to play, the controls are simple and speak for them selves. The missons are nicely linked together by the cinematics, very nicely done.
I love the great variety of units, weapons and maps. Although 15 missons is not that much... I wouldn't mind an expansion. Or second game...

Any Warhammer 40K gamer is going to love this game. Its a great digital version of the table top game. A great pice of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but frustratingly short..., 18 Feb 2008
By 
P. E. Haynes (Sidcup, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
This review is based exclusively on playing the single player version.

My favourtie style of strategy games has been the turn-based version for many years, and I used to play tabletop 40k as a teenager, so I was really looking forward to this title. Ontop of that, I loved Chaos Gate - the similar PC game of 10 years ago - that I had heard Squad Command was closely designed on.

The graphics seemed spot on - the usual sharp PSP quality; the vehicles in particular looked spot-on and really suited the 40k atmosphere. The sound was also good and very atmospheric.

But the game just didn't live up to my expectations, and I feel it was a real missed opportunity. The single biggest problem seems to be a lack of any real depth throughout the game. There are 15 missions, but there is actually not a great deal of difference between them. The combat areas do not differ much - always the same ruined city - and the actual objectives are hardly diverse. For example, in the few missions where you do have a clear objective (e.g. destroy the ammo depot), you can actually end the game by default if you kill all of the enemy. So, sadly, you find yourself simply on a seek-n-destroy mission each time out.

Character development is not strong, and certainly not on a par with chaos gate. Successfully completing missions allows you access to slightly better weapons, but the individual men do not gain experience at all. Almost instantly you lose any feeling of a campaign - it is just 15 consecutive skirmish scenarios.

But all of that aside, the biggest weakness is that each of the 15 scenarios are way too short. Only 3 or 4 took me more than 1 attempt to complete, and in less than 48 hrs the game was completed. I am now going back and enjoying some replay value, but doubt the "campaign" will entertain me for a third time.

I really wanted this to be a good - no, great - game. It looks the business, it plays decently enough. And, deep down, I have a feeling that the multiplayer variant would be great. But, as a one player game, it just doesn't have enough depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a REVIEW based on playing the full game...not Demo's or people's 'hopes' of what the game is like., 10 Dec 2007
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
Ok before I start ... those of you who write reviews on what the game 'should be like' and then give it 5 stars...for god's sake stop !! OK you're a fan but reviews are supposed to tell people what they are about to buy based on experiences...not your hopes or DEMO's !! Rant over.
Ok the game graphics are fine and the game play itself is fine. 'Fine' meaning nothing remarkable or worth commenting on... there is nothing special to comment on in terms of playing it either.. it plays in a similar fashion to the PC version of Warhammer 40k tactical games, in terms of views, but with the PSP controls bogging down and glitching (annoying...ruhed to production ?) occassionally but nothing to make you lose a battle and nothing you've not experienced on other PSP games. I am a fan of Warhammer 40k but this was disappointing as I completed the entire game in a day. My son who's eleven had a similar experience. We normally buy 2 games of something we both enjoy so we can go ahead and play head to head like with Legends, or Pokeman (swapping monsters etc.) However even he agreed the game simply isn't good enough or challenging enough to warrant buying a second copy to play head to head. We both got the impression we'd be bored with the new maps and the playing style very quickly. again we couldn't imagine dragging this out time and again like we do with other games. They should have released it with more armies, more customised abilities and enhanced the squad units and increased types as well. Ok it's asking a lot but this is suppossed to be the latest version of the game but it comes over as tired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good Strategy for PSP, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Rp Scragg "BOB2787ESQ" (UK west midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
RTS and similar games finally coming the consoles more and more recently and this one i'm glad to say is a good addition. although the multiplayer mode isn't as good especially as it tend to timeout when looking for players at least in my experience..a good buy waiting for D-O-W 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent debut for Warhammer on the PSP, 23 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. C. E. Blackwell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
Being a big fan of the Dawn of War series of rthe PC, I was eagerly awaiting this release for the PSP, and I wasn't dissapointed.

The game is turn based, which makes the focus of the game very defintiely on tactical decissions - using each member of yyour squad to their maximum potential, making use of the desctructible terrain, making use of overlapping fields of fire etc. Basically, it's a military small-unit tactics game set in the Warhammer universe.

The graphics are great, and as one would expect from a Warhammer game the sound, music and video sequences are suitably stiring and dramatic. However, for me by far the best element is the enemy AI. Enemy units are genuinely intelligent and can make very good use of cover, movement & even set up ambushes for you - charge blindly in & your entire squad will almost certainly be wiped out in short order. Essentially, the enemy forces you to carefully consider how to approach each objective and how to utilise the customisable kit (wargear to the initiated) carried by your Spacemarines or local defence force troopers (think Imperial Guard).

I haven't yet completed the campaign, so I can't really offer a valid oppinion on the game's longevity, but if you're a fan of the Warhammer universe and are looking for a dose of the Ultramaries on the go, then this game is a must. If you enjoy squad-level tactical strategy games then this is an excellent one, set in a well realised universe. Finally, Warhammer 40K comes to the PSP!

If the game has options making re-play worthwhile, and if multiplayer turns out well, then I'd gladly award this game 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kim, 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
This is a good game and I will be buying this game because it is such a good game
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
Easy to understand and get going on. Takes me back to my youth and war gaming - I would recommend totally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, Great service, 1 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP) (Video Game)
The game is brilliant, worth easily twice as much as i paid for it. As for service, i recieved it over a week before the ETA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command (PSP)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews