Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound and the packaging is not that bad
This masterpiece came to my knowledge from the Magazine BBC Jazz Legends and after I verified the orchestra arrangements in Miles Davis' SKETHCHES OF SPAIN. Gill Evans gives a great performance on piano and conducting the orchestra. The opening piece, LA NEVADA is his composition and it is remarkable, really cool and it lasts more than fifteen minutes. The rest of the...
Published on 3 Aug. 2012 by O. Guedez

versus
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great music, poor product
It is a shame to give such a low mark to such good music, but the score is a reflection of the package rather than its content. In the vinyl era Impulse! tended to produce LPs with disappointing background information and generally with no recording dates. This problem was eventually sorted out in the era of CD production, when most CDs have been accurately documented and...
Published on 27 Mar. 2008 by Umberto Albarella


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound and the packaging is not that bad, 3 Aug. 2012
By 
This review is from: Out of the Cool (Audio CD)
This masterpiece came to my knowledge from the Magazine BBC Jazz Legends and after I verified the orchestra arrangements in Miles Davis' SKETHCHES OF SPAIN. Gill Evans gives a great performance on piano and conducting the orchestra. The opening piece, LA NEVADA is his composition and it is remarkable, really cool and it lasts more than fifteen minutes. The rest of the album keeps the mood and shows musicanship, good taste and elegance. The orchestra and the arrangement keep the jazz flavour and add colors throughout the whole set. The personel includes Elvin Jones on percussion, who is well known by his work with John Coltrane. The orchestra has everything well set and in the right place. I also highlight the wonderful winds, especially in the track STRATUSPHUNK. The whole set is brilliant and it is clear why Davis worked with Evans in SKETCHES. The albums is considered the best of Evans in his early period (it was originally issued in 1961).
The packaging... Well, the names of the whole band are there and the original sleevenotes. I do admit this work should have and edition with proper care and bonus tracks and that is missing. However for the price it is quite aceptable and enjoyable. The most important thing is the sound and it sounds pretty well. For specialists and fans it is advisable to look for a special edition. For those of us who are buying the album for the very first time I find the material is properly given.
Five stars, no doubt. This is clearly a classic. The critics who led us to this album were right indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Work Of A Music Genius, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. D. Wyatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Out of the Cool (Shm) (Audio CD)
Like the previous reviewer, I love this music Which is a timeless classic and would not add to his comments on it but find the packaging somewhat disappointing. I agree with his critisism of the sleeve notes and recording information (or rather lack of!) which is unusual for Impulse.We jazz enthusiasts just have this information, if only to argue with each other about! Anyway, I prefer the old fashioned jewel case and booklet insert to cardboard packaging.
Unlike the previous reviewer, however, I think it is a bit harsh to deduct three stars because of this. Hence my four star review which would have been five for the music alone. Pity about the very short playing time of 37 minutes though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packaging no problem - beautiful music throughout.....!, 24 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Out of the Cool (Audio CD)
I could never mark a CD down on packaging grounds personally, but may mention this in the review. I personally prefer the Impulse CD packaging to the oh so awkward jewel case.

Anyway this album is just superb - and shows off Gil Evans great skills as a consummate musician/arranger/conductor, and happily sits in my collection along with the 3 more widely known Miles Davis collaborations (Sketches of Spain/Miles Ahead/Porgy and Bess). From the opening piano on Nevada, with such a glorious intro, through a further 5 pieces covering a wide emotional and dynamic range, it allows a degree of introspection whilst providing novelty and stimulation in equal measure. I would not want to isolate any particular piece but celebrate the unity of the album, covering Gil's work in it's entirety.

So, a very high recommendation - representing jazz orchestra rather than big band as such, if such a difference can be made. Exceptional!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gil Evans has a talent for atmosphere., 5 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Cool (Audio CD)
I listen to this cd when I'm painting because it has an understated tension that inspires creativity. The french horn in Where flamingos fly is totally haunting. I love this cd and will never get rid of it. A suite of tracks carrying a quiet cool buzz through the evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gil's Greatest, 19 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Out of the Cool (Audio CD)
Following on from his three classic albums with Miles Davis, this is Evans' best ever album. Stand-out tracks are the long, swinging 'La Nevada', and the dark, moody 'Where Flamingos Fly' and 'Hidden Treasure'.

Try to get the edition of this CD that has a bonus track, Horace Silver's delightful 'Sister Sadie'.

Great arrangements, great musicianship, particularly Ron Carter on bass and Elvin Jones on drums. A real gem of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The album has five tracks; there is a version with six., 23 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Out of the Cool (Audio CD)
I add this note to buyers that this CD only has five tracks on it (all marvellous) but there is an alternate release with six tracks. Check which you wish to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great music, poor product, 27 Mar. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Cool (Audio CD)
It is a shame to give such a low mark to such good music, but the score is a reflection of the package rather than its content. In the vinyl era Impulse! tended to produce LPs with disappointing background information and generally with no recording dates. This problem was eventually sorted out in the era of CD production, when most CDs have been accurately documented and sometimes beautifully accompanied by an information booklet. I was therefore dismayed to find that for this CD re-edition produced (by Verve) in 2007 they seem to have gone back to their old sloppy days. There is no recording date, no time length of the different tunes is provided, no additional information booklet but only an almost illegible reproduction of the old liner notes, and Ron Carter is listed as playing the trombone! It is an irritatingly sloppy product, which represents an insult to the musicians and to be honest also to a glorious recording company, which has produced some of the best jazz in history. If you are of a less irritable predisposition than this reviewer, you may eventually ignore these issues and concentrate on the music, which is excellent. This is the Gil Evans' orchestra in its prime with extremely imaginative arrangements and a group of superb musicians ranging from Elvin Jones to Johnny Coles (listen to him on `La Nevada'!), Jimmy Knepper (great solo on "Where flamingos fly"), Budd Johnson and Ron Carter (who, by the way, plays the bass, as one would expect!!). If you have the vinyl version, however, do stick to that as this sloppy product does not offer anything more or better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out of the Cool
Out of the Cool by Gil Evans (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews