Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
55
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 September 2014
This was an interesting concept, giving modern day artists the chance to cover a particular song from a giving year to celebrate 40 years of Radio 1. Rather predictably, not all of the covers work, but others do. The good stuff either gives an interesting new spin on an old song we are already familiar with, breathing new life into it, or an almost identical cover version, good, but in some cases, forgettable.

Lots of the biggest artists from 2007 are featured like Kaiser Chiefs, Foo Fighters, James Morrison, Stereophonics, Razorlight and The Fray. Everyone's going to have their own different favourites, so I won't bother to list my own stand out tracks (although I must write that the brilliant Paolo Nutini has made me suddenly become obsessed with 'It Must Be Love', originally a hit for Madness), but I will say that just under half of them have made their way onto my iPod. It's good and bad in almost equal measure guys, but at the bargain bin prices that you can now pick 'Radio 1 - Established 1967' up for - you can't complain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2007
Covers in my opinion are only valid if they fill one of two criteria:-
(a) they do a different take on the original (often possible - I can't stand Joss Stone but Fell In Love With a Boy is so completely different to the White Stripes it's a passable effort) or much more rarely (b) IMPROVE on the original.

Sadly next to none of these tracks or artists manage this, it's a mix of conservative choices by bland artists. We get a bunch of bland musicians doing cheesy bland tributes to their heroes. What really is the point of Robbie Williams warbling through Lola or Keane dumbing down the vocal highs of Under Pressure? Foo Fighters taking on Britney, Kylie doing Iron Maiden or even The Wurzels sprucing up the Sugababes - that's what I want to hear; not this pile of treacley nothingness.

To me this album stinks of the mediocrity of bland noughties Britpop and cynical backroom execs pumping out more soulless trash.

The main thing that this album underlines is how uninspired our allegedly "indie" music scene truly is - there's not a breath of originality or interest.
44 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 March 2008
How can people say that the bands haven't strayed very far from their own genres?? Hello?? Klaxons doing Blackstreet's 'No Diggity', Stereophonics doing Hot Chocolate's 'You Sexy Thing', The Streets doing Elton John's 'Your Song' - it seems quite a departure to me.

Ok, so some of the songs aren't as great, I could live without hearing KT Tunstall doing 'Let's Stick Together' again, but this album has some great moments. Shame everyone else seems to have lost their sense of humour!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
This CD is brilliant. I cant stop listening to it. Lots of great songs, I like the majority and there are some im not keen on but it is actually better than the later live lounge CDs i have previously purcharsed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2007
Saw the line-up and thought, I must get that CD! There are some great versions on it, but with 40 tracks, 5 great ones isn't anywhere near enough!

I found that most didn't really give it any thought and just plodded through their performance. Razorlight is a prime example, Johnny Borell's vocals are so weak. Stereophonics slowly rambles through and then ends up doing some fast guitar rubbish that don't fit the song!

The Fratellis are the best on the album. It's a difficult one to cover and do it justice, but they did with ease. Keiser Chiefs are also great, but then the song they are covering is rather cool anyway!

The other moan I have is, who selected these tracks? Why are the biggest bands not covered here? Where are OASIS during the 90's? Where are Duran Duran or Adam & the Ants cover songs for the 80's?

If you are torn between this and the Live Lounge CD's, then please get the Live Lounge! So much better, then the artists would have to be, they are playing live to an audience of millions aren't they!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
Looking at the list of artists on this record will get you excited. Looking at the list of songs covered on here will get you to shrug a couple of times. Listening to the two disc offer will get you to frown several times.

You have to wonder about the whole process. Who was given what song or list of songs? What were some of the artists thinking (or smoking) when they chose the songs? Why didn't anybody step in and say "you're kidding, right?" Then again, the odd choices are supposed to be our favorites on here. How great would it have been, if The Kooks could have pulled off "All That She Wants" by Ace Of Base? It could have been as tasty as a big scoop of vanilla ice, as is Keane's rendition of "Under Pressure". But the odd choices most of the time just stay odd as the results are odd and this leaves an odd feeling in your mouth. Kinda as if the ice cream used stale milk. And wacky could be good. Listen to the "Live Lounge" CDs and see how brilliant an Embrace pulled off a D-12 cover, reinventing the song.

What is a good cue: there's just so little reinventing of the original here, so little re-arranging. And just so many choices you want to say "you're kidding right?". A true invention can be heard on the supreme Gossip version of "Careless Whisper". It's on Disc 1 and as everybody says, Disc 1 is the better disc. Robbie even impresses the die hard haters with "Lola". Franz Ferdinand sound better on someone elses song, than they have sounded with one of their own in quite a while. Lily Allen rarely sounds as sweet as she does on "Don't Get Me Wrong".

To buy or not to buy? Get it. Even if it's just to show your respect for BBC Radio 1. Buy it, rip it and make 1 CD with all your favourites. And if there's some room left, grab the "Live Lounge" discs and put some of those songs on your best of.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2007
There are two theories as to why this compilation varies between the great and the mediocre.The first is obviously that modern music is mostly rubbish and therefore all the classic songs are crammed onto the first of these cd's.Certainly when you get a great artist attempting a great song you tend to get great results.With the exception of Mika's mauling of Can't Stand Losing You, the first half of this is uniformly excellent.Special mention to Robbie Williams, The Feeling, Foo Fighters, Kylie And KT, Franz Ferdinand, Lilly Allen, Keane and James Morrison.Hell they're all pretty good even Mcfly !! and the Streets version of Your Song is so divine in it's beautiful simplicity that it's quite breathtaking.
The second part of this set however pales in comparison.Only Razorlight, Paolo Nutini and The Fray get their teeth into great songs, though The Stereophonics and The Kooks try damn hard to turn their picks into gold dust.So was there really so few classic songs from the last 2 decades or have some artists chosen badly? My second theory on all this is that we are all too close to recent music to distinguish true greatness.I think of British Bands like The Smiths, U2, Beautiful South to name but 3 amazing singles groups who are not represented on these discs and wonder if there is an element of rivalry that prevents contemparary bands from covering them and others like them.(respect to Corinne Bailey Rae for overcoming this and providing a superb closing song)But then that's just my opinion, who buys compilations and expects to like every song on them? They of course vary enormously, just like peoples tastes.I'm sure some listeners out there think Madonna deserves 2 tributes !These CD's are still worth buying though if just to intrigue and fascinate.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2007
The problems with this compilation are:
1. There are better songs that could have been chosen
2. Not enough of the artists have ventured outside their comfort zone. Instead, they've chosen to pick songs not too far removed from their own sound.
3. Most of the covers are faithful renditions and add nothing to the original.
4. Some of the songs were awful the first time round and the covers just make them sound even worse.

Positives:
Editors lend a nice degree of creepiness to The Cure's original rather cartoony "Lullaby"
Kylie dresses up Roxy Music's "Love Is The Drug" in shiny new disco clothes (but why follow it with KT Tunstall's awful rendition of Bryan Ferry's "Let's Stick Together"?)
Gossip make "Careless Whisper" sound good.
The Kooks bravely attempt Ace Of Base's "All That She Wants" and it works!
Hard-Fi merge Britney's "Toxic" with Vince Taylor's "Brand New Cadillac" (as covered by The clash on "London Calling")

Some of the other tracks work fine as well and overall there's about 1 albums worth that I'd listen to again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2007
I heard very few on these when they were on the radio (could only listen on the way in & out of work) the ones that i did hear were pretty good & even better.
When i got the cd & listened to the rest, oh my it was fantastic, there are some ok ones but overall brilliant concept & brilliant execution!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2007
I'm afraid this doesn't really work for me, probably because the originals are so much better. Another album that has been padded out with mediocre music. Better off listening to the originals rather than this pointless collection. Your Mother wouldn't like it either - not 'arf!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)