Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.23
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2010
Like other Hitman fans I was sceptical about this book, but it was cheap and so I thought I would take a chance and buy it. Having just finished it I can say this is an excellent book for Hitman fans. Mr Dietz has clearly done his homework and all that he writes seems very real, from Agent 47's day to day activities, to the preparations he makes for accomplishing a task and his thoughts during the missions themselves, all of it is entirely plausible and seems at home in the established Hitman universe. Although this book wouldn't lend itself to a game, it could certainly be adapted into an equally brilliant film. Overall, whether a non-Hitman fan will enjoy this, I can not say. But if you love the Hitman games then you will find this to be an extremely entertaining and engaging novel.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2008
After watching the film I was a little wary as to how the book my turn out to be, but after reading the other reviews I decided to give it ago, and I'm glad i did! Unlike the film the book stays very true to the character that is Agent 47. It gives a good brief background as to how he came to be and how he lives, and it offers a great story.

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is well written, entertaining, and it stays true to the games and the character. I sincerely hope the author writes another.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
This was an extremely detailed and enjoyable read. This did the game and true fans of the hitman franchise justice (unlike the film...just terrible). If you buy this book you will absolutely not regret it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2009
I'll admit, when I saw there was a Hitman novel, i was skeptical. And like other reviewers on this site, was getting impatient waiting for hitman 5, and felt let down by the Hollywood movie. I decided to give this a try, thinking maybe it could give me a few hours entertainment.

I was surprised and blown away by how great this is. The narrative is well told and intelligently written, making for a great story that is dark, exciting and stays true to the hitman universe. Not only are we given a great plot and mission to follow, but we are given insights in to things the videogames never could. 47's past and his daily routine and habits are convincingly told, it definately feels like Dietz is passionate about the story, and I for one accept this story in 47's life as canon, not just a spin-off. Unlike the videogames 47 wears fake beards, make up and conceal his barcode when going undercover, he engages in thrilling pursuits of targets when a mission goes awry; he waits for counter assassins as you'd imagine, silencing them with his signature garrot-wire and syringe. Dietz succeeds in establishing 47 and the agency in reality, making it brutal and sometimes chillingly explicit in detail. In all, this is a great book

If you're a fan of the hitman games, this is a must. If you're unfamiliar with the Hitman series, you should enjoy it as a standalone, as long as you like dark, complex, well written literature.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
As an unconditional fan of the Hitman game series, I bought this book the minute I knew it existed. And I could not be more happy with it.

It tells the story of a lonely assassin that, despite following the orders of a ruthless group of executives and investors, is not blind the the most human acts. It describes brutal images of our poor reality, being the description of a Moroccan prostitution orphanage and the fight for survival of African refugees the most violent of them, in my point of view.

This book is very addictive and you won't be disappointed. While following the life of Agent 47 I felt rush and excitement, similar to the gaming experience: feelings you will also most certainly feel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2011
The regular references to the game like using fibre wire, sneaking up behind people and using a silenced pistol is really great if you've played the game, because you can really picture the scenes well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
Hitman: Enemy Within is a fantastic book, I can not overstate this enough!

The character of 47 is portrayed fantastically well and it delves into 47's past as a boy in the asylum of the brutal Dr Ort-Meyer. Fast forward 30 or so years later and we have the world's most deadly assassin that has ever lived.

This book is a must read for any fan of the Hitman Series, and I would actually recommend it to anyone who even just likes to read crime novels in general! Hitman: Enemy Within is a fantastically written, intelligent book that breathes new life into agent 47. You will get to know what makes 47 tick, and the nuances of his character.

Most importantly the book stays completely accurate to the series of games and does a fantastic job of maintaining the dark and gritty world that 47 often finds himself murdering his way through. 47 sounds like the most dangerous man that has ever lived, but it is easy to warm to this cold hearted contract killer as the novel unfolds.

Stop reading this, buy it... Enjoy it.

If you don't chances are you might just disappear and a bald man wearing your clothes will wander off down the street...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Five stars - and for a reason. As a Hitman franchise fan (ever since Codename 47) I was afraid, that author simply won't "catch the drift" of what Hitman was about, as it happened before, with Hitman Movie (which was simply disappointing, in my opinion). Fears were further elevated by describing 47's childhood - was author really competent enough to do so, without spoiling the series?

In short: yes, he was. Author made sure to keep the spirit of the IO masterpiece and didn't succumb to temptation to simply include lots of meaningless shoot-outs with tough-as-nails bad guy as a protagonist.

Writing style was one I really liked and allowed to actually imagine, what was going on with vivid clarity - accessible language paints the picture in the head of a reader almost automatically. Plot is interesting and doesn't conflict with game, though in my opinion, too much action took place in Fez - but that's just my opinion.

Overall, I'd recommend it. Even if You don't like Hitman much, You will like Dietz - guaranteed :).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I think this was a worthwhile investment since I already have the inherent bias of being a fan of the series but I also enjoyed it from a detached point of view.
The language and pacing of the story was easy to follow and here and there were golden nuggets of vocabulary that had me reaching for the dictionary.
Like other reviews have mentioned, we do get a really good glimpse into the character of 47 and his perspective and let me say that it doesn't disappoint, 47 is every bit as sophisticated as you would expect him to be and he is cold and calculating just as hired agent should be.
My gripes with the book tend to be in the story direction particularly in the last third of the book where things could have been a bit more complicated but were kept purposefully simple. But then again it is all subjective and a simple story can be just as good as the complicated ones
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
This is an astounding piece of written fiction. Hitman enemy within is a must for any hitman fan, such as myself and any one who loves to read. William C.Dietz really makes agent 47 shine. From the assassinations to doing simple tasks such as faking biker accents to eating hamburgers. Buy this book u will not be dissapointed. If i could rate this a ten it would have got it. Also check the other hitman novel, hitman damnation by Raymond Benson. Thank you Amazon on such a great purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.