Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD OF THE YEAR<BY A MILE !
If you enjoyed the last Crossroads Guitar Festival,then you are in for one
fabulous treat here,if not don't miss this set.Recorded in July this year in
Chicago in aid of Eric Clapton's Antigua Centre,this double set is an
absolute must for anyone who likes guitars and legendary performers.Hey,think where else on the same show would you get blues...
Published on 27 Nov 2007 by P. Clack

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor sound quality
Well, having enjoyed the 2004 crossroads dvd I couldn't wait to get this.
Frankly its not as good as the Texas recording although it includes Johnny Winter whom we rarely see in action.Clapton is in top form however on disc two.
My main gripe is the appaling sound quality. It crackles throughout both the dvd's and is unbearable. ( Its not my equipment- honest.)...
Published on 7 Sep 2008 by recipio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD OF THE YEAR<BY A MILE !, 27 Nov 2007
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoyed the last Crossroads Guitar Festival,then you are in for one
fabulous treat here,if not don't miss this set.Recorded in July this year in
Chicago in aid of Eric Clapton's Antigua Centre,this double set is an
absolute must for anyone who likes guitars and legendary performers.Hey,think where else on the same show would you get blues legends
B B King,Buddy Guy,Jimmie Vaughn,Herbert Sumlin,Robert Cray and Johnny
Winter,plus rock heroes such as Jeff Beck,Steve Winwood,and Sonny Landreth
oh! and Sheryl Crow.Then of course EC and his band sounding the best I've heard him for quite some time.Then we come to some newer names on the block
that really are stunning and bode well for the future of rock n blues,just
listen to John Mayer,Doyle Bramall 2 (what a version of Outside Woman Blues,yep it's the old Cream song,but what a version)Derek Trucks,and one
who is I think one of the most exiting talents in music today Robert
Randolph and the Family Band,this guys bringing to blues what Prince brought to pop,funky dancing rhythm like no one else.
I could go on and on about this release but you've got to see and hear it for yourselves to see what I mean.Eric himself is watching when he's not playing either from the side of the stage or sat in the crowd(at one time
with a pretty aweful wig on)but he's like a young fan just enjoying seeing
such great talent all there for a great cause.
This is musically the best one day festival this years as far as real
talent goes so must not be missed.Just one mention,you may not be a country fan but on this set you will be lifted by some stunning country
pickers and singers in Vince Gill,Willie Nelson and Albert Lee,this ain't
your usual country gring this is top class and very exiting and Gill and
his band are quite one of the constant highlights on what is as I've said already the best DVD released by anyone anywhere this year.Hey! and buying
yours from Amazon you save money as well,don't wait order it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Clapton - Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007, 14 Oct 2008
By 
Rocky (Penzance UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say - this is simply the best live rock/blues concert recording - EVER!
Clapton effortlessly demonstrating why he is in a league of his own.
Great(guitar)performance from Steve Winwood, superb playing from John Mayer, Robert Cray, Jeff Beck (where the heck did he find that bass player?), Derek Trucks, Vince Gill, et al. Spine-tinglingly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply phenonemal., 12 Jan 2008
By 
Steven (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
Disc 1 of this DVD starts very well with great peformances by Derek Trucks, Doyle Bramhall and BB King. After that however it begins to go downhill with performances by the country and western artists. As a hardcore blues fan I did not enjoy these songs and even skipped a few. Another shocking thing about Disc 1 is that the producer chose not to put BB King's 'Thrill is Gone' into the final cut, undoubtedly one of the festival's highlights. They have however still put his emotional speech onto the DVD which preceded the performance and ran into 'Thrill is Gone' beautifully - they edit it to make it look as if the speech ran into Rock Me Baby. (Not quite the same emotional impact!)

Disc 2 starts with a short set by the young John Mayer. Having never heard of him I was more than pleasantly suprised with his performances. The final guitar solo on 'Gravity' is one of the finest I've ever heard.
After that the DVD loses a bit of momentum with 2 performances by Los Lobos, not who I'd choose.
After that small blip however, things are constantly uphill to the fantastic climax at the end. Anything slightly negative in the festival that has come before is more than made up for.
Eric Clapton's set, aided by his young guitar prodigies Derek Trucks and Doyle Bramhall, is mindblowing. (The epic Little Queen of Spades has to be my favourite performance on the DVD). His reunion with Steve Winwood is also fantastic. The closing with Buddy Guy is superb and also adds a touch of fun to the festival.

In conclusion: If you appreciate fine guitar playing, you NEED to own this DVD.

(There appears to be some confusion over the disc arrangment of this DVD. I bought it from Amazon, it came with 2 discs and everything works perfectly.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Greats re-united, with new friends, and still enjoying themselves, 26 Jun 2012
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
Having bought the 2004 Festival US DVDs this 2007 DVD set was a must-have. I get the impression that the image quality and production on this one is not quite to the same high standard, however I was not disappointed because the performances from almost everybody are still excellent. There is a good variety in genres, all aiming at the core values epitomised by combining Blues, Jazz, Rock and Country.

This has been my favourite type of music since the 1960s, so I guess I was pre-disposed to an automatic purchase, but even SWMBO enjoys this DVD, and she often is less than enthusiastic about what I listen to! The cast list is long, and includes several of my favourites as well as Clapton himself, such as BB King, Jeff Beck, Albert lee, John Mayer, Steve Winwood, Hubert Sumlin, Susan Tedeschi...

In some ways perhaps not quite as good as the first one, but still superb and all for a good cause.

Also well worth a look is the 2010 Festival, carrying on the tradition of supporting a very worthwhile charity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor sound quality, 7 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
Well, having enjoyed the 2004 crossroads dvd I couldn't wait to get this.
Frankly its not as good as the Texas recording although it includes Johnny Winter whom we rarely see in action.Clapton is in top form however on disc two.
My main gripe is the appaling sound quality. It crackles throughout both the dvd's and is unbearable. ( Its not my equipment- honest.) I foolishly threw it aside in disgust and now its too late to return it. beware.

p.s. Now July 09 and I just put the DVD on to my new Panasonic blue ray player. Magic !! Perfect sound quality.!!Great music but you need a compatable player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable., 23 May 2014
By 
C. Cook "cmcook34" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
Probably the best blues/rock concert video I've ever seen. Superbly filmed. Clapton and his guests at their finest. Buy it. Play it. Treasure it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars faulty disc, 9 Feb 2014
By 
E. W. Bramham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
disc number 2 will only play in region one my tv , my tv says wrong region? disc number 1 is region two and will play ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Crossroads 2007, 5 Nov 2013
By 
E. Whitworth "Elaine Whitworth" (Epsom, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
Not nearly as good as Crossroads 2004.

Unfortunately all the old favourites are leaving us slowly but surely, and sadly there are few to replenish the quality and genius of the past. Jonny Lang excepted - he is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied deaf person, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. R. R. Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
Eric is always good, he can be relied upon to have interesting support. The DVD is round and works perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a concert - would have loved to be there, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] (DVD)
What a concert a great collection of Guitarists - have since bought 2004 and 2010 let's hope there's a 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD]
Crossroads Guitar Festival 2007 [DVD] by Eric Clapton (DVD - 2007)
14.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews