Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Plain Fun!!!
Despite the frivolous, not to say silly, plot, "Help!" is just plain fun; and, if one gets past the frantic antics, it is full of delightful puns and allusions (Some are very Goon Show.). The adorable four are supported by an A-1 cast, including Leo McKern, who puts as much zest into his role as the evil Clang as he does into that of Rumpole. Victor Spinetti (who was also...
Published on 6 July 2008 by F. S. L'hoir

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing really
Watched both discs in one sitting last night.

Disc 1 is the film and beyond options for subtitles in various languages there are non extras. It's a sparklng restoration and the sound is perfect. When they're indoors in their terraced house pad for the first time you see that their suits have a light pin stripe. George is reveled as sometimes looking tired a bit...
Published on 14 Nov. 2007 by Holloway, north London


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Its Reputation, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
John W. Edelman (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Help! (Audio CD)
Help! is often unfairly maligned as being one of The Beatles "not all that great" albums along with "...For Sale". Having just bought the Blu Ray of the movie I thought I'd give Help! the album another listen, the first time since buying it remastered. Reset the reputation...
My memories of the LP are coloured by my first Beatles experiences when I was a young teen, lapping up the movies on their first showing on TV in the mid 70's... and then influenced by the naysayers. All I can say is the naysayers were wrong, Help! is an excellent album and this remaster is exquisite. For me the lesser known tracks are the album's highlights, with The Night Before sounding as vibrant and exciting now as it did all those years ago. You're Going To Lose That Girl and I've Just Seen A Face are classics and then there is Yesterday. Overplay and familiarity had dulled it's beauty in my memory but this remaster brings back the lustre for me....And what a genius bit of programming to end the LP on Dizzy Miss Lizzy!
The last of the "early" Beatles really is rather good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Star record (by Beatles standards), some great songwriting, February 8, 2001, 10 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Help! (Audio CD)
With The Beatles' first five albums, we have them in the process of boy-girl "I love you" pop, whereas their only artistic contemporary Dylan is doing much more satisfying (to this listener) work during this time period. Of course, these five records, and especially HARD DAY'S NIGHT, are the best that early rock'n'roll has to offer. And this is the same period HIGHWAY 61 REVISITED is released. Tell me, do you want to listen to Like a Rolling Stone or Desolation Row or this pop with Ringo singing a Buck Owens song about "all you have to do is act naturally"? I think that's the worst Ringo song of all. They should have stuck with the song from Anthology II "If You Got Trouble", and maybe included "That Means a Lot" as well..

Not that this is a bad album, by any means. Its The Beatles, after all, and all of their albums (even BEATLES FOR SALE) is top rate stuff. This is the first album to point toward some new changes in The Beatles' repertoire. The best songs on here are the title cut, Ticket to Ride, Its Only Love (in my opinion), Tell Me What You See, and the best Dylan song that Dylan never wrote: Hey You Got To Hide Your Love Away. Oh yeah, I'm also leaving out another song.......what was it.......something about Yesterday. Of course, I'm sure no one remembers that, but I think its pretty good, very memorable melody. Its not like its the most covered Beatles song ever *cough cough*. Also, a funny factoid for you music buffs is Yesterday was originally Scrambled Eggs, and McCartney literally dreamt it. One thing Lennon resented McCartney for happened that this and Michelle, two of The Beatles' biggest song, is essentially McCartney solo, with Lennon not playing at all on eithet track.

Dizzy Ms. Lizzy's good for the rocking side of Lennon, reminiscent of Twist and Shout off Please Please Me, which, btw, was never released in America in the original format until much later (ooooh, that evil Capitol!).

So chalk it up as a holding pattern, one last boy-girl lyrical record before they moved on to the much more satisfying (to me) mid and late portion of their career. Remember, any criticism against The Beatles is realative -- it should go without saying any other band would give their front teeth for these songs.

Yesterday, all my troubles seem so far away........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars They could have made it better, review explains why, 9 Feb. 2012
By 
J. I. De Beresford "safemouse" (Farnham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Help! (Audio CD)
This album has some excellent tracks on it but its somewhat marred by some unnecessary self-doubt on the part of the Beatles that stops it from being a truly satisfying and coherent long player. There are two cover versions on this, both of them inferior to what the Beatles initially wrote and recorded for the album and then shelved. One is 'Act Naturally', popularised by Buck Owens. I'm kind of glad Ringo did it because it would have made the songwriters' year, I should think, but the country style doesn't fit the album, or any album that I would want to buy. I much prefer If you've got trouble, which as far as I can tell is a very catchy and dark little number that suited Ringo's voice and the Help vibe perfectly. The other track that was tossed is That Means A lot, which to my thinking is ideally a very fine Beatles B side or very fine album track, certainly superior to Tell Me What You See or It's Only Love, both of which are quite poor for the Beatles. (Tell Me What You See was rightly rejected by Richard Lester for use in the film Help). It was sorely needed because the second side is vastly inferior to the first-overall- and it really makes the album quite unbalanced. The other cover they chose was Dizzy Miss Lizzy, which is a good rock song but goes against the grain of the infectious Lennon McCartney tunesmithery that the album delivers for the most part, even when one Lennon and McCartneyesque track happens to be by George. The infectiousness reaches its peak with You're Going to Lose That Girl for me, which is like eating a very nice bar of chocolate with your ears. It's just aural deliciousness. But McCartney is very close with the Night Before, which is rockier and sounds fantastic on vinyl, somewhat lifeless on CD.
The other thing I'd like to comment on is George's contributions. George Martin, not someone who I happen to agree with all the time (I love the Decca audition stuff, it didn't impress him)has remarked that Harrison's early songs weren't much good and that he blossomed later. I think with the freak exception of George's stunning contributions to Abbey Road, he basically wrote good and bad songs from the get go and carried on that way until the end. I need you- only his second or third effort- might not be as good as a top flight Lennon and McCartney effort but they could have written this for George, it's that good. It bears all the hallmarks of a modest but lovely song that slots right into their milieu and doesn't disgrace the film at all. I personally don't think he wrote anything as musical until he wrote 'It's only a Northern Song' for Pepper. Again, this was shelved but revived for Yellow Submarine. The other George song is interesting lyrically, but is just pure muzak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant although underrated, 31 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Help! (Audio CD)
Help! is one of the Beatles better albums although it is ignored by many critics around the world. Sgt.Peppers and Revolver are talked about frequently and Help along with Rubber Soul are I think up there alongside Sgt.Pepper and Revolver. Pics for tracks include You've got to Hide Your Love Away, Yesterday and for a Ringo song, the funny Act Naturally. 1965 was one of the Beatles most productive years producing Day Tripper, (My personal favourite) Norwegian Wood and Drive my Car. Joe, 13 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane.., 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Help! (Audio CD)
Brought back a few happy memories - some brilliant tracks and enjoyed listening to it whilst driving in my car - I've got the red & blue albums, but going to collect some of the other albums now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Music, Hilarious Acting From The Boys, Highly Recomended., 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Help [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
After seeing "A Hard Days Night" for the first time a few months ago I was extremely eager so see Help and see the Beatles in action wants again. It did not disappoint. With combination of John's laugh-a-minute humour, Paul's womanising efforts, George's compasionate efforts towards his friends, Ringo couldn't ask for better friends to help him in his time of need.
The graphics are top notch, the storyline is near perfection and the script is of a five-star rating. The boys once again rested many laughs and smiles along with wonderful songs in perfect settings such as "Ticket to Ride" whilst skiing in the alps, "Another Girl" while on holiday in the Bohamas, and "You've Got To Hide Your Love Away" in their home which I full of vending machine, an organ that rises from the floor, and a garden indoors. The soundtrack also includes classics such as "The Night Before", "Youre Going To Lose That Girl", "Help" (of course) and many others.
I would highly recommend this to any fun loving fan of the Beatles. The film will not disappoint. The boys are truly timeless in their ability to make fans laugh even 49 years after their performance in Help!.
May the Beatles legacy never end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remaster, 14 Oct. 2010
By 
C. L. Gardom (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Help! (Audio CD)
I believe Help to have improved the most from the Beatles Remastering process.

If you've only ever heard the 1987 CD release i wholeheartedly recommend you purchase the remaster. The sound is really full, good bass sound, the guitars ringingly crisp and clear. And of all the Beatles ALbums Help! has by far the best stereo spread - great to listen on headphones from 1st track to last.

On many tracks on Help! the Beatles continue the country tinged feel of some of its predecessor (Beatles for Sale - also a great remaster)but the highlight is Ticket to Ride which is now heavier than ever - superb, it really hits home with the droning repeated chord to the fore.

However, no amount of remastering can salvage Dizzy Miss Lizzy which provides a disappointing end to an album that is due reappraisal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sixties in a Nutshell, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Help [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
This is very much a film of its time. It is enjoyable and 'silly' rather than laugh-out-loud, a bit cringe-making in places but you have to remember the year. You have to watch it a few times to get all the gags. One of my favourite bits is where they go to Scotland Yard and Patrick Cargill says "So this is the famous Beatles. How long do you think you'll last?". To which John replies "Great Train Robbery - how's that one going then?".

The boys are good (well they were playing themselves) although John does not seem to make much impression. It is fun watching the sceene where they are fighting the baddies in their house and John & George are obviously laughing. And the sceene when Paul is shrunk and naked. Considering that this was 1965 and a film whos audience was mainly teenage girls, the sight of Paul with no clothes on must have been virtually pornagraphic!

Perhaps it would have been good to have more songs but the film is a nice reminder of simpler times and it is always a treat to watch the boys in their prime and be reminded of their brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE FAB FOUR DO IT AGAIN..., 26 May 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Help! [CASSETTE] (Audio Cassette)
If you are a fan of The Beatles, then you will love this CD. This is their fifth release, and it is filled with quite a number of excellent songs composed by that dynamic songwriting duo, Lennon/McCartney. There is even a nice little tune by George Harrison, "I Need You". There are only two non-Beatle compositions on this fourteen track CD.
This CD showcases the versatility of the Fab Four. It also shows the musical evolvement of The Beatles. From the wonderful and offbeat "You've Got To Hide Your Love Away" to the lover's warning found in "You're Going To Lose that Girl", the listener is hooked. Follow it up with the rollicking "I've Just Seen A Face" and the beautiful ballad, "Yesterday", and you have a CD well worth having.
While this CD still reflects some of the innocence and youthful exuberance of the early Beatles, it also has an overlay of newly acquired musical sophistication and maturity. It is a portent of things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best., 12 Jan. 2013
By 
Miss Acl Twisk (wilts.U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Help! (Audio CD)
Replacing old and broken cd's. This is one of the best popular music albums of all time. Full stop. End of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Help [DVD] [1965]
Help [DVD] [1965] by The Beatles (DVD - 2007)
£21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews