Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutally addictive.....
Well others have outlined the gameplay elements so I won't repeat that.

What you have to realise when buying this game is that you are not paying for a 10-12 hour campaign. You are paying for a game that can be played through on easy level in a couple of hours. However, step the difficulty level up and the challenge begins to try and perfect your runs, timing...
Published on 13 Feb 2008 by PL Tuck

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Battle Royale
I have just read a review of The Club written by somebody who is clearly disgusted that it is not Gears of War and I am inclined to agree. After all, The Club merely requires you to run and shoot in order to drive forward a very threadbare narrative, whereas Gears of War... Hang on.
The Club really is tremendous fun for a while. It's structure is very much like that...
Published on 12 Dec 2010 by Jeeves


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutally addictive....., 13 Feb 2008
By 
PL Tuck (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well others have outlined the gameplay elements so I won't repeat that.

What you have to realise when buying this game is that you are not paying for a 10-12 hour campaign. You are paying for a game that can be played through on easy level in a couple of hours. However, step the difficulty level up and the challenge begins to try and perfect your runs, timing your shots well so you keep your combo going to rack up high scores.

A previous reviewer said there are no tactics but I disagree, the choice between spraying your enemies with machine gun fire just to keep your combo going, or risking going more precise for a much more score worthy single headshot, at the risk of losing your combo is a constant one. Similarly, weapon choice is a constant decision.

The fact that there is no story as such and this is primarily a trip back to the good old days of gaming where the sole purpose was to beat your high score will grate some people. I find it a hugely refreshing change.

Multiplayer is good fun and lag free (though last night there were only 12 people in the world playing The Club online)

My only gripes are that the difficulty curve is quite steep. you will blast through every level on casual mode, yet put it up one level to reckless and it gets pretty tough, pretty quickly. Either Casual is slightly too easy, or reckless is slightly too hard. There are 2 further levels which seem nigh on impossible to me so why reckless has to be as difficult as it is I'm not sure. On the flipside, when you nail it and completely blow your previous high score away, it is a very, very satisfying feeling. Also I would have liked to have seen a bit more in the way of unlockable, but that's pretty minor really.

EDIT : Now I've been playing this for a week, I'm starting to really learn some of the levels and although I still havent won a tournamant on Reckless, I'm consistantly getting 2nd place over the 6 events, so it does get possible to take on the higher skill levels, (managed 4th in an Insane tounament too!) even for a shooter neanderthal like me.

PGR4 + Tony Hawks + Tekken + guns = The Club

The most enjoyable shooter for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glad i got the full game, 14 April 2009
By 
Mike R (England Gt Britain) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played the demo for a while and was quite taken with it, I finally decided to buy the game. I was put off a bit by the mixed reviews that this game had. I even considerd the PC version, but after hearing about the NIGHTMARE problems people are having with crashing DRM and Limited installs etc... !!, I decided to get the 360 version. normally Im quite selective when I buy a game, unless its got like 5 stars I wont touch it, but I was wrong about the club. The game is a real blast !!, The sound effects and music are brilliant, Ive been playing the club for a while now, its a little hard at first trying to keep up with the massive scores you have to get to stay up in the rankings in tournement mode, this game needs alot of practice, but its somthing you have to work up to. all in all... I think its a really decent game, ive had lots of fun playing it and continue to do so..........

Mike UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why do people rate demo's!!!!!!!!!!, 18 Jun 2009
By 
D. P. Smith "DonDarthVaderington" (Ledbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have read a number of reviews, this one and various others that have been critiqued by people who have only ever played the demo...WHY? THe demo is just that, a demonstration, it is not the full thing and invariably demo's that are released are just tasters for what you are going to get so please dont rate games if you have only played demo's and please dont read demo reviews, there not worth the computer screen there typed on.

This game is excellent. Sure there's no storyline really to speak of ( a shame in my opinion as this could really have been extended to put in some extra zest to the game) but that is not what this game is about. It's no Two Worlds or Oblivion etc where you have to spend hours and hours on it. You put it on pick up the controller AND HAVE FUN! After all what are we all doing playing games? To have fun, simple as that. The great thing about this is to beat yourself or your mates (have not played online unfortunatley so cant comment on that)and that is the beauty of it. Theres no pointless boss at the end of each level or meandering wayward story or no NPC that you have to protect annoyingly (aka Res Evil 5) just good clean shooting fun...simples!

Er, the only downside is that the "opposition" always spawn at the same point, which is great for racking up the points as you know where they will generate but abit more randomness would have been better...in my opinion.

All in all 5 star for fun but 4 star overall as there are a couple of niggling things that lower the score. Graphics, music contolls all top notch (tip: get the hang of the Y button and A button, you'll need it to get top scores) and at the price currently its a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spot on for its time, 30 Aug 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
brilliant online game with superb graphics and game play. how can people slag this off. every game gets repetitive but this is good because the outcomes are random and you can have a lot of different battles. this should have 5 star rating. people with shallow minds should not be able to review this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like challenging for high scores you'll love this!, 9 Feb 2008
By 
G. Moore (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I can totally see that this game may not be everyone's cup of tea, but if they idea of competing in online leaderboards, or trying to beat to beat your friends best scores, then this game is definitely for you.

It's incredibly addictive, and it's been years since I had that feeling on being 'in the zone'- superb.

Also, the 4 player split screen multiplayer is awesome for post-pub fun with your mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the club, 30 May 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i have to say i liked this game even though single player was pretty short lived,and though there is a multiplayer hardly anybody online plays it even though its fairly good fun to play.There are tournaments and single player events with online leaderboards these are the main part of the game,which would have beed vastly improved if they have had included an option to watch the top player replays.Presentation is good and the gameplay original it could be a classic, but just lacks something especially in the online department.Five out of five for an original well put together unpretentous shooter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A W E S O M E - Prepare to be addicted, 16 Jan 2008
By 
Amazonian Native (Amazon Rainforest) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The impression that I got of this before I bought it was that it seemed to be like some kind of Unreal Tournament, but it's quite different from that.
It's actually a rather inventive Arcade shooter, it has to be said it is very similar to a training mission level that you get at the beginning of various shooter games where you run a course and shoot what pops out in front of you, think the training level at the start of Call of Duty 4, but the thing is, this is just so much fun!

The game has 8 running and gunning environments such as Prison Cells, (as featured in the demo), Ocean Liner, Steel Mills, Venice, Warehouse, Manor House, Bunker, and Warzone maps, and in each of these are 6 various game modes such as Sprint, Time Attack, Run the Gauntlet, Survivor, and Siege. You choose one of of the aggressive looking characters and then run through the map shooting up multiplyers, hitting special skull plates if you should see any, all this adds up your score, the aim of the game is just to get the highest score you can and get to the end.

The game is fairly original, addictive, and good as one of those games you just want a quick blast from if you haven't got much time to spend playing a game, the graphics are very good, some might think it won't warrant full price, but I can tell you, although you will unlock all the championships and maps on easy level in just a few hours, to then master a tournament on harder levels takes a lot more time, and the game actually has just as much; if not more gameplay time in it than the average action shooter.

Also a little tip, go to youtube and watch some of the guys videos there, the very best players are racking up unbelievable scores of about 8 million, just watching how they played levels I was able to go back and double my scores straight away on the maps I was playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy it for what it is!, 12 Feb 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've played this a lot and some of the reviews just don't match up to the game. And I think that's down to the expectations.

Imagine reviewing Mario Kart and saying it doesn't have the depth, number of cars, physics etc of Gran Turismo. No it doesn't, but hat's not a bad thing.
No, it isn't a game of huge depth, character and strategy. But I don't think it was meant to be. It's meant to be something different to the games already delivering that, and fair play for that too.
The Club is a great blast of a game. Fun. Run and shoot people. It's a brilliant challenge and a great lauch, and well worth a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 31 Aug 2008
By 
Lj Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
very good attempt by sega. good graphics and game play with a good choice of weapons, characters and levels addictive online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Battle Royale, 12 Dec 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Club (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have just read a review of The Club written by somebody who is clearly disgusted that it is not Gears of War and I am inclined to agree. After all, The Club merely requires you to run and shoot in order to drive forward a very threadbare narrative, whereas Gears of War... Hang on.
The Club really is tremendous fun for a while. It's structure is very much like that of an extreme sports game (time trials, combo points etc.) But instead of a snowboard or a BMX you've got, y'know, guns. Lots of guns. All of the locations look fantastic and it doesn't take too long to get to grips with the controls (left thumb run, right index finger shoot). But once you have, you'll be filling up your Combo Meter and Death Rolling into Head-Shot Heaven in no time and having a ball while you do it.
That said, there are a couple of frustrating omissions. The Club's most obvious influence is Japanese uber-cult film, Battle Royale, and yet that is the one game mode that has not been included. You just long for a massive Smackdown between all of the main characters - of which there far are too few - to make a brief change from constant parade of what are essentially armed victims.
Two of the featured game modes - Siege and Survivor - ARE EXACTLY THE SAME! I don't know why that bothers me enough to hold down the shift button while I type it, but come on! "Would sir care to purchase a tomaytoe to go with his tomahtoe?"
The biggest draw-back is how quickly The Club loses it's appeal. After you have completed the tournament on Casual (first difficulty) in a few hours and then realised how futile it is to even attempt it on Reckless (second difficulty), there is only so much satisfaction to be gleaned from playing it through again. What The Club needs more than anything is a character and weapon customization system. It's the sort of little detail that this sort of game needs to make it worth spending more than a few pounds on. Buy it pre-owned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Club (Xbox 360)
The Club (Xbox 360) by Sega (Xbox 360)
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews