Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game To Go With Your Wi Zapper
I just bought this game yesterday to go with my Wii Zapper and it is brilliant. The Zapper works really well with this game and you will be pulling off double/triple hit combos in no time. The game's sound and graphics are also really good and it is like having a mini arcade machine in your living room when you play it.

The game is quite short as in there are...
Published on 19 Jan 2008 by Justin

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short Squad
While lightgun shooter are always appreciated on Wii, Ghost Squad is much more fun in the arcades. This is solely due to the games length.
OK, effort has been made to increase longevity, with a detailed level up system to unlock additional costumes and weapons. High scores can be posted online, and alterante versions of the 3 missions are unlocked upon completion,...
Published on 1 Sep 2008 by Stevie G


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game To Go With Your Wi Zapper, 19 Jan 2008
By 
Justin (Slough, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
I just bought this game yesterday to go with my Wii Zapper and it is brilliant. The Zapper works really well with this game and you will be pulling off double/triple hit combos in no time. The game's sound and graphics are also really good and it is like having a mini arcade machine in your living room when you play it.

The game is quite short as in there are only 3 areas to play but you can unlock loads of weapons and costumes which keeps you coming back for more, and for 25 is an all round good buy. Can't wait until House Of The Dead in March/April 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap & Decent Arcade Light-Gun Shooter + Extras, 26 April 2008
By 
MAK Ali (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
Pretty much a perfect copy of the GHOST SQUAD arcade game. You get the the main arcade mode with 3 missions (a hotel, airplane, and jungle base) with several areas to shoot through on each one. You'll make decisions on which path to take, so you will end up replaying levels to see everything. For those who struggle (or want to struggle) the game lets you turn on/off the targeting cursor, and has 3 difficulty levels.

It's best to play this game with a gun accessory. B buton is shoot and flicking the wiimote away from the screen will reload. The shooting is broken up by the odd mini-game event. Mostly holding the A button on a hostage to subdue them or pointing at a bomb wire and pressing A and other stuff. Also the bosses are played against in this way.

A nice feature to the main game, is the experience points system. Unlike older arcade shooters, there's more to the points from shooting bad-guys and being quick about it, these mount up and the more you get the more guns (with different behaviours and features), and costumes you can unlock (as well as a few bonus modes). You can play the main game with 1-2 players and there is also 4-player support in party games. The training mode is great (but short) for easing people into the game and is a good place to make sure you've setup your wiimote the way you wanted.

The sounds and music are a lovely (and cheesy techno) touch, that reminds me of old-skool shooters. The graphics are crisp, on a HDTV but they seem to look like a fuzzy PS2 game on a standard TV at 50Hz. And don't expect to much acting talent from the voice actors...

I played this game using the "Venom ShootActive Wii Gun Accessory". Compared to others I've used it is the best out there - others feel very front heavy (like they're tipping forward). It is far too awkward playing GS with just a wiimote in one hand, as you naturally point the wiimote at an upward angle.

A serious point though, if you get this game. When you point your wiimote normally at the screen you'll notice the cursor is slightly above/below where you're actually pointing (depending where your sensor bar is). Luckily the game lets you fix this...

It would be wise to put the wii sensor bar on top of the TV and set the wii settings. Then go to the in-game options and calibrate you wiimote (lining up the on-screen crosshairs with the top edge of the wiimote). This is a bit annoying, but it will save any aggro later when you realise your going to have to shoot at an angle to compensate for the cursors postion. It was a nightmare to shoot when the sensor bar was below the tv.

And for the hardcore, there's also the ability to submit your hi-scores via the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection.

This is a worthwhile purchase on the cheap and with a wii gun accessory. A good blast with plenty of reason to stick at it for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sega arcade goodness for the wii zapper, 6 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
Im a huge fan of light gun style games and enjoying the new life the Wii is giving this genre, so first resident evil umbrella chronicles was a fantastic game and now Ghost Squad and very much looking foward to House Of The Dead 2/3 Return in march.

For those of you that dont know what type of game Ghost Squad is it's a on rails shooting game so bascly the computer controlls where you go and when and leaves you to concentrate on blasting any bad guys jumping out although every now and then you will have to select a option on the screen telling the computer what direction you want to go in, so for instance in the first level you break through a door to a lodge then get to choose if you want to rescue hostages or provide cover for your team each option leads the level in to a different direction, choosing the hostage option you proceide down stairs and need to rescue a certian amount of hostages where as choosing the other option sees you moving along a balcony blasting bad guys and then dismantleing a bomb, there are number of options like this in each of the 3 levels so to see every thing you will need to go back and replay levels, a thing many games now days lack, replay value.

I never played Ghost Squad in the arcades, but there is an arcade port of it as one of the modes. You can have up to two players in the arcade mode, and up to four players in the "party" mode. I have played both with another player, and it was a blast to play. My cousin and I got a great blast out of accidentally killing hostages in the stages where the jump out like the enemies. The more you play through the game successfully, the more difficult the game becomes, and then you start to unlock new costumes and guns for you to be able to select prior to entering the game. That feature is different from many of the Time Crisis games I've played and is more than welcome.

Ghost Squad also has WiFi leader boards so once you compleate the game you can compare your score to other people in your regon or worldwide and it gives you something to aim at again inhancing its replay value.

The graphics in Ghost Squad are not the best avalible on the Wii but they certanly are not bad either so dont go buying the game expecting a visual feast, then again if you have a Wii and expect top graphics you should of probably done your homework before buying the Wii.

So there are a couple of controll methods for ghost squad, either using the Wii zapper(or gun shell alternative) or just the remote. If you use just the remote a target will appear on the screen so you can see what you are aiming at this is the method i have been mainly using for lightgun games on Wii and it works well for me. For those that want to use a gun attachment Ghost Squad allows you to calibrate the remote so you can use it like a light gun you can even make the on screen target dissapear to make it more like the arcade. Although the gun and calibration method works well there are a few issues with it, as the wii works via a senser bar above your tv onec you calibrate the controller you will need to sit in the same postion because if you move the senser will not beable to pick that up and aiming will then be off.

Closing comments

Ghost Squad is a short game but has plenty of replay value, multiple paths, co op modes and loads of unlockables if you are a fan of this type of game its a no brainer PICK IT UP.

i can also recomend it to casual gamers as well has more hardcore ones as although the game may be simple to pick up and play it is difficult to master and even more difficult to get to the top of the worldwide leader boards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short Squad, 1 Sep 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
While lightgun shooter are always appreciated on Wii, Ghost Squad is much more fun in the arcades. This is solely due to the games length.
OK, effort has been made to increase longevity, with a detailed level up system to unlock additional costumes and weapons. High scores can be posted online, and alterante versions of the 3 missions are unlocked upon completion, with different routes and outcomes available. Theres a training mode, and a party mode etc.

But the arcade mode is completed in around 30 mins, (Mission 2 less than 5). It isnt much longer before almost everything is seen.
And theres only so long a 30 minute game can be played without getting bored.

Ghost squad is great for multiplayer, the graphics are functional and the shoting has a nicely old-school feel. Just dont play alone for very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good little shooter!, 9 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Philip G. Sorrell "Mr. P. G. S" (Littlehampton (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
Ghost squad is the classic retern of the old arcade machine game, and it is compatable with the wii zapper, there are three main levels, and the game is a bit short but there are different paths you can take within the levels. also you can win costumes and new weaponds, as you go through the game! 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Squad-a surprisingly fun game for the wii!, 21 Feb 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
I admit i was very wary and hesitant on buying this game, upon learning the only online is leaderboards and that the campaign gives you 30 mins max to complete i was quite pushed to buying something else instead. But hell im glad i did buy it in the end now!!

The game feels like such a classic arcade game. From characters movements, the cheesy voices and sound effects and the mission objectives and music you'll feel like your back in the arcade.

Graphics 3/5: The graphics are classic arcade graphics but i wasnt expecting anything anything revolutionary and i dont think anyone else was. The graphics are cheesy but they just add to that classic arcade feel.

Audio 4/5: I cant really mark down a game on audio unless its truly terrible but i quite like ghost squads, the music feels so arcadey and is quite humourous, it pumps on and changes with different events every 3 minutes or so.

Arcade 4/5: Ok admittedly most people will be turned away from this by the 30 minutes of gameplay thing. Dont listen to this. Its about 30 mins to complete it once BUT it contains so much replay value, you'll want to keep on going to unlock all the hilarious costumes and fun weapons. Also the campaign expands as you keep playing with new routes and events.

Party mode 5/5: Ive only played the party mode once with 3 other mixed people. One was a casual gamer, one was a wii casual player and the other was a sony fanboy. But after playing through the party mode just once they all enjoyed it very much. And then theres the paradise mode which you can run around with water pistols and shoot bikini ladies. And the ninja mode where you can run around with ninja death stars and attack ninjas. So hilarious and great competitive fun for the highest score.

Wii zapper usage 5/5: The wii zapper needs a lot of preferences for it to work properly and comfortably. For example i myself hate reaching up to press the A button as it is uncomfortable. But Ghost squad uses 2 buttons. B and Z. And it adds to the realism of the game while being comfortable. And this is probably the best game for wii zapper compatibility.

Gestures 1/5: A major flaw of this game. Its just point and shoot. flick the gun to reload. Point and shoot. I wasnt expecting anything brilliant but something to make it feel more immersive. No gestures at all.

All in all a fun game with lots of repaly value and to unlock the highest ranks, all the weapons, costumes and new routes youll be spending hours and hours to complete. Well worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun but overpriced in the UK, 31 Jan 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
Before I get onto the review, note that this game is $30 in the US so as usual UK players are getting ripped off. This is why it lost a star. Hold fire until you find it for under 20.

The game itself is great fun. Play alone or in co-op, gain points and unlock new outfits and guns. Every time you beat the end-of-level boss it raises the difficulty of that level the next time you play (up to level 15 I think). This changes the time of day, paths available and number of enemies encountered. You can play with the crosshairs turned off for more points if you're good and have calibrated your Wiimote properly.

There is also a party mode for 3-4 players in which you get to play through anything you've already unlocked and don't unlock anything else. There are also online scoreboards so you can compare your top score with everyone locally, in the UK or worldwide.

Recommended for everyone who doesn't have Wiimote pointing trouble as a great casual game for 30 mins at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
No need to go down to the local arcade anymore. Get this game and the arcade comes to you. Its excellent having the gun adapter for this game as it makes it feel abit better than just holding a controller and pressing the buttons. You get abit more into the game. The fast paced shooting gets the Adrenaline pumping. Then you can choose to have the crosshair taken away for more points which is also a good addition.

Anyway overall im really enjoying this game and hope that capcom or nintendo bring somemore games like this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did the game just disappear?, 27 Feb 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
Well, I got the game yesterday, and I am severely disappointed in how limiting it is.. 3 whole scenes (I wished I read that before I spent 25) - it's fun to play, but I'm already bored. The maps are tiny, it doesn't take long to work out where the enemy are coming from, and the you are stuck with the gun you choose for all 3 maps in arcade, is pretty dull too. I'm happy for it to move along for me so all I do is shoot, but 3 whole maps!!??! Seems like there is only an hour or so worth of gameplay really.

The problem is I am comparing it to Resident Evil IV which has loads of maps, large maps, with all sorts of extras thrown in too, and lots of weapons to play with. And it took me 20 odd hours of gameplay to complete the first time. And I go back for more.

So, I'd say if you have 30 and don't know what to buy, get Resident Evil IV, quite frankly I've had Ghost Squad 36 hours and I'm thinking it belongs on ebay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Squad (Wii) (Video Game)
Just1Word........Good!!!

What the!?!?? Need to put more words!!!

4 players mayhem!!! Yeah Baby!!!

Don't know what to say? Just get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Squad (Wii)
Ghost Squad (Wii) by Sega (Nintendo Wii)
13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews