Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB PRESERVING JARS!!!, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight (Kitchen & Home)
Traditional Le Parfait3L
Le Parfait are, in my opinion, without doubt the best preserving jars on the market.
I have no hesitation in recommending them for anyone wanting the best. I ordered three
3L size, but there are various other sizes to meet your needs. They were delivered very
quickly and arrived intact, having been well packed by the supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight (Kitchen & Home)
Great product - I use mine as candle lantern and it looks great! Found it difficult to get Le Parfait in stores now (John Lewsi and Lakeland used to sell, but don't seem to anymore, having replaced them with Kilner).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality jar , reasonably priced., 3 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight (Kitchen & Home)
The jar arrived very well packaged,it is a quality item and is very well made and strong.I needed a decent sized jar to make larger batches of sauerkraut and this is perfect for my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Litre Parfait..enough for around 60 pickled eggs, 29 July 2012
By 
J. Spennewyn "boxer lady" (cambridge, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight (Kitchen & Home)
3 Litres typically works out at 3000g of dry materials such as sugar

So 1x g = 1x ml.

Parfait jars are about as tough as they get, i've had many over the years (& still got them all) ..& room for a few more.
Unlike other brands you tend to be able to get replacement "Rondelles" (the orange rubber strip*) from good town cook shops in a hurry or here on Amazon, The Le Parfait

*Super rubber seals are specially fitted for the Le Parfait Super Jars and Terrines. They are universal and can be used for your fruit and vegetable preserves as well as for savoury dishes, meats or casseroles.

We put ours through the dishwasher & clean the wire thoroughly afterwards to prevent / minimise corrosion, this is for cleaning & is NOT sterilisation.

I'll include some basic instructions as a lot of folk think you simply pour preserves in & it keeps it edible, not the case...
.................................................................................
Step 1. Prepare the Jars and Terrines Le Parfait..

Make sure the surfaces are not chipped or show signs of abrasion or residue. Clean the jars, terrines and lids with hot soapy water. Avoid any contact between the jars or the terrines. Do not use metal or abrasive sponges.

After cleaning, rinse thoroughly the jars and terrines with hot water and let air dry.

.................................................................................

Step 2. When making preserves, always use perfectly fresh and healthy food, suitable for preserves.

Never use frozen or defrosted products or ingredients.
During the preparation, be careful not to mix peeled fruits or vegetables with the waste (peelings, leaves).
................................................................................

Step 3. Cook the food

If necessary, blanch the vegetables.
Remove the entrails from the poultries and wash thoroughly the interior with water.
Follow the recipe. All operations should be carried out without interruption and without wasting time.
................................................................................

Step 4. Fill the Le Parfait Jars or Terrines

Fill the jars or terrines with the hottest preparation - even boiling.
Fill the jars or terrines until the engraved mark, or up to 2cm from the brim.
Wait a few minutes and check that the preparation is properly distributed, without air pockets.
Fill again if necessary.

Be careful: do not use acid brines, sauces or liquids (pure alcohol, vinegar, etc.) in the Le Parfait Familia Wiss Terrines. Acid liquids may corrode the lid and sealing cap if they are in contact with metal parts.

..............................................................................

Step 5. Seal the Le Parfait Jars or Terrines

Before closing the jars and terrines, be sure to use a new Le Parfait Super rubber seal that fits the size of your jar or terrine.

Scald the seal and position it properly on the jar or terrine. Check that the brim is clean before clamping. A particle trapped between the seal and the glass could spoil your preparation.

Finally, clamp the closing system and proceed immediately to the heat treatment if mentioned in the recipe.

The preservation processes differ according to the recipes - in some, the vinegar, oil or salt act as preservatives and a heat treatment is no longer necessary.

Regarding the Le Parfait Familia Wiss Terrines, be sure to always use new Le Parfait Familia Wiss sealing caps specially designed to fit each terrine. The sealing caps should not be deformed and the seals should be in good condition. Screw on the lid (but don't overtighten it) and proceed to the heat treatment.
................................................................................

Step 6. Heat treatment

Put a clean cloth at the bottom of the pressure cooker to prevent any direct contact between glass and metal.

Fill with hot water and put the cooker on the heat source. When the water starts boiling, immerse your jars/terrines. Be careful not to burn yourself. Place the jars or terrines upright, lids on top. Block them with other containers (full or if they're empty, without covers). Add more water in the cooker : the jars/terrines should be completely immersed. Seal the pressure cooker hermetically.

The time indicated in the recipe counts when the valve starts steaming.

For the safety of your preserves, carefully respect the time indication.
Once the time is over, remove the pressure cooker from the heat source. Cool naturally until all pressure is gone. Do not release the valve and, do not cool with water as the jars or terrines under pressure could open themselves with this quick cold cooling.

Once cooled down, open the pressure cooker, take out the jars or terrines and store them upright in a cool dry place away from the light.
.................................................................................

Step 7. Check and store the jars ((THE REALLY IMPORTANT BIT))

Let the jars or terrines sit for a few hours until they are completely cooled, then check that each one is perfectly airtight by unfastening the clamp. The lid must stay sealed to the jar and resist to pressure.

If the lid of Le Parfait Super Jars or Terrines doesn't remain airtight once the clamp is unfastened, it may be due to:

- Incorrect filling : too little or too much
- Unfinished heat treatment : not long enough and/or too low temperature.
- Lack of air-tightness: chip or stain on the edge or the lid.
- Old, used, deteriorated or inadequate rubber seal.

To address this problem, repeat the heat treatment imperatively using a new rubber seal.
Regarding Le Parfait Familia Wiss Terrines, please process identically then unscrew the lid. The sealing cap must stay sealed to the terrine and resist to pressure. If the sealing cap doesn't stay airtight, repeat the heat treatment imperatively using a new sealing cap.

In order to keep your preserves several months, do not readjust the lids (Le Parfait Familia Wiss Terrines) or do not re-clamp the closing system (Le Parfait Super Jars or Terrines).
Store in a cold dry place away from direct light.

.................................................................................

Step 8. Open the jars

Before opening the jars or terrines, verify their airtightness (refer to Step 7).

If the lid doesn't stay airtight once the clamp is unfastened (Le Parfait Super Jars or Terrines), or if the sealing cap doesn't stay airtight to the terrine once the lid is unscrewed (Le Parfait Familia Wiss Terrines), or more generally if you have any doubt on the state of your preserve, throw it away: do not eat it and do not taste even a small bite.

The jars or terrines must be opened by an adult. Pull the tab of the seal to let some air inside the Le Parfait Super Jar or Terrine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Storage., 31 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. R. R. Moore "rio" (chichester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight (Kitchen & Home)
Sometimes you purchase something that is both attractive and practical. Over the years I've been gradually building up my collection of Le parfait jars, I now have quite a few and use them for storing flour, cereals, dried fruit and various other items. They are perfect for the job. I know they keep my foodstuffs nice a secure from not so timorous beasties and I can decant what I need as and when I need it, with little bother. Imagine then my frustration when seemingly everywhere stopped stocking them and went over to ( the dark side) of Kilner jars. Would have thrown my whole system out! Really! So very irritating. Anyway, thankfully I managed to buy two online from Collanders and when one arrived chipped they kindly sent another at no extra charge. So am very pleased. :-)

All in all a very nice item. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cereal Jar, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight (Kitchen & Home)
I accidentally dropped an existing jar so bought this replacement. It's a good size for cereals and keeps them more fresh than in the bags they come in. Can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits the bill (actually, the spaghetti), 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight (Kitchen & Home)
I wanted something that would store my dried spaghetti that would look good, and replace my old tuperware. This was perfect. *just* tall enough for spaghetti. Looks great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Parfait 3L, 26 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight (Kitchen & Home)
This is an excellent jar to make homemade pickled onions, however this purchase is to make my first homemade Sloe Gin. Measures 285mm x 135mm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traditional Le Parfait 3L LP940041 Preserving Food Storage Jar ClipTop AirTight
9.70
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews