Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars967
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2006
Without a doubt the best sci fi movie ever made. Ridley scott created a wonderfully atmospheric movie with sets and cinematography which lesser directors have tried to imitate countless times since. I am giving the movie five stars, but the DVD is mediocre at best. No special features and poor video quality. If Warner brothers ever decide to give this masterpiece the treatment it deserves, they should include a second disc with the theatrical version. DTS and remastered audio and video might be a good idea also.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2006
This is a great film that has stood the test of time. It has aged so well compared to other sci fi films (see Total Recall). BUT, it will look just as good in 4 months time when the 4 disc special edition comes out, so don't buy it just yet unless you can think of a really good reason. I can't think of one, just be patient!!!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 January 2007
Despite all the furore over which cut is best, (without the happy ending is the most important change in my view, I have mixed feelings about the Decker voice over) this is quite simply the best Sci Fi film ever and surely one of the best films of the 20th Century. From the opening dark and ominous long shot over the pyramids of LA supported by a brilliantly moody and atmospheric Vangelis soundtrack, through Roy's stunningly over the top, poeticly scripted, (by Hauer himself apparently) death speech, (C beams glittering in the dark) to the final mystery or mysteries,(who is or is not a replicant) it remains a nigh on perfect piece of work. It certainly ranks with Ridley Scott's other seminal early ,masterpiece, Alien,in fact Blade Runner does have the edge insofar as style, script, art direction and just general artistic merit. Although Alien is the scarier. Wait for the new cut if you wish or buy both, whatever, but look, understand and enjoy. This is cinema art in its purist form and ranks with all the masterpieces of cinema. The only other Sci Fi that comes even close is 2001.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2006
everyone knows about this film and its associated problems with the studio release/directors cut etc etc.

the main thing here is this particular dvd release. this is the version ridley scott wanted to release in the first place so to be honest this is how the filom is supposed to be seen by the man who created the whole film - from this, we should accept this as the original version (but perhaps not the best, that is your own personal opinion)

this is a gernally vanilla disk with no frills. i recommened that you do not buy this version unless u have to as around xmas time there will be a FINAL cut version i beleive with many extras. this dvd release is being treated the same way all new films are realsed now - first just the film with no extras, then after a few months the film with all the extras and the "bonus" disk.

the choice here is do you not want to wait and just have the film? or

do you want to wait and have the film in a complete version with the extras. that is YOUR choice. the film itself is fantastic, a landmark. a must buy.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Based on, well sort of, in fact more inspired by Philip K Dick’s ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?’ this film has now become a cult classic, and despite mixed reviews from the critics when the original was first released at the cinemas this film has now come to be recognised as one of the best sci-fi films ever made.

This special edition two disc Blu-ray box set is the 2007 final cut of the film, and is a feast for the eyes. What has always struck me about this film more than anything else are the visuals, the cityscape that was created for this which brings a future to life, and is the backdrop for the whole story to take place on. Rick Deckard is a blade runner, someone whose job it is is to root out replicants, genetically engineered persons for various jobs that would be unsafe for humans.

With a group of Nexus 6 replicants now on the planet and in the city, it is Deckard’s job to find and retire (kill) them. But first they have to be located and help is needed from the makers, the Tyrell Corporation. It is illegal to have replicants on Earth, but is there one here already working for the corporation?

Raising a number of issues such as morals and ethics, this makes us think not only about the effects and purposes that could be employed for such persons, but also what it is to be human. For the Nexus 6s their lifespan is only four short years, but they are perfect and undistinguishable from humans, with only the trained blade runners being able to notice and spot them.

Cyber punk meets neo noir, with a good slice of paranoia this is an exceptionally good film to lose yourself in. You have subtitles here, along with various film commentaries, and featurettes that look at the film including outtakes, deleted scenes and interviews, as well as looking at the making and legacy of this film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
This is a review of the version of the film as it was originally released in the cinema.
So much has been said about this film (in its various edits) that it is hardly worth adding to it here. However, I went out of my way to obtain a copy of the original cinema release (thanks Philip Mawson, through Amazon Marketplace) on VHS just to remind myself of how it originally appeared.
Something that surprised me was just how similiar this version is to the Final Cut version, although that version is (somehow) a fair bit longer than this version. Without doing a scene-by-scene comparison it wasn't clear quite why that is so.
Something I liked about the original version was the world weary, laconic voice-over by Harrison Ford (that had to be added, supposedly, to tie the whole film together). It fitted well with the mixture of high-tech AND fim noir AND desolated appearance of the sets, the appearance of Rachael Tyrell (made-up and dressed like a 1940's film character). It also surprised me how little voice-over was actually used.
Someone has put the original ending up on YouTube and various people have commented that Ford sounds either drunk or bored. The use of this voice-over, as was used in various film-noir detective stories of the 40's, seems to have gone over their heads. Someone else makes a very astute comment in reply, "This is the version that astonished us."
Regardless of the other versions that have appeared since, THAT is why I wanted to see this version again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
This is a review of the 2-disc, Final Cut, Blu-Ray.
I am not going to go into a full review of the film itself. I bought this version to replace my old DVD, which replaced a VHS. Needless to say, I am a fan of the film. I think it is too easy today to forget the impact the film had on almost all science fiction which came after it. Its vision of the future (actually supposed to be 2019!) was ground-breaking at the time. A world of dirt and squalor, of neon, of a world left to the poor underclass, whilst the rich found better places to live. Somewhere that had been left behind. The story seems fairly simple; replicants, used to do all the dirty work, are banned from Earth. If found, they are 'retired' by Blade Runner units. A small group have found their way back, and Deckard is tasked with 'retiring' them. He encounters difficulty, both physical and moral, along the way.
For me, Blade Runner is one of the best films ever made. I have watched it many times over the years - in its many forms - but I think this is the best version, as the director intended.
This version is almost perfect in every way. Visually, the blu-Ray offering is perfect, sharp and crisp. The only slight let down is the sound. It has been re-mastered in 5.1, and the music and general sounds are beautiful; well-balanced, crystal-clear and accurate. But the dialogue is slightly muffled in places; I have tried several different settings on my system, but without success.
This is, however, a very minor point; the film is over 30 years old now, so it will be showing a little bit of age. If you are a fan, then this is the version to have; if you haven't seen it, buy it and experience this great film that influenced almost every science fiction film since!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2007
Although this film is now accepted as a classic, and regularly appears in "Top Ten" lists, it still manages to divide opinion. Personally I love it, but I guess I should point out the reasons both why some people love this film, and why others don't.

Firstly, the film is aesthetically more pleasing than almost any film I can think of. It has been said that you could pause this film at random, take the still image on the screen, mount it, and hang it on your wall as a piece of art. It is that beautiful. And certainly this was no accident, being largely the result of Ridley Scott's eye and attention to detail, and the wonderful design of the film, which was very influential and even refuses to look dated now.

So, you could turn off the sound and still admire this film - it is so pleasing to the eye - but the opposite is also true: you could turn off the picture and enjoy every minute of Vangelis' unique and atmospheric soundtrack. As I said, aesthetically, this film has few equals.

But to focus on this alone would be to suggest that the film is all style and no substance. Far from it in fact (it was after all based on a Phillip K. Dick novel). There is more philosophical musings in this film than almost any big budget film I can think of. Indeed, the last half hour serves as an incredible meditation on life, from the moment Batty confronts Tyrell (ever wondered what it would be like to be able to meet god, ask that he grants you immortality, and then kill him when he tells you it isn't possible!?!), to the pursuit of Deckard by Batty (with all it's eye catching religious imagery), to the final death scene (what can you say - best and most profound death scene ever?). The rest of the film has plenty of classic lines and reoccurring visual motifs (for instance eyes, origami animals), and thus has much to keep you engaged, but perhaps benefits more than most films from repeated viewing (which explains partly why it flopped in the cinema but then became a classic by virtue of video and DVD).

That the film hangs together at all is a minor miracle, as the script was re-written several times by different people, and the production itself was troubled (for more on both of these issues, check out the book by Paul M. Sammon), but the virtues mentioned above are just some of the reasons why people like me regard this film as one of the greatest ever (if space allowed I could give many more).

But Bladerunner isn't for everyone. In some ways it is more art house than traditional block buster - the action is slow, and at times it's as if it doesn't know what it's meant to be (detective film noir? sci-fi? suspense?). Despite the good looks of Harrison Ford, it also lacks a genuine hero with a cause to get behind. Ford's natural charisma is kept in check by the role, and consider this: he is given the mission to "terminate" four replicants. Two he manages to kill himself (both women, both unarmed and shot in the back!), one is killed by someone else when about kill him, and one dies of its own accord after having saved Deckard's life! Hardly very heroic, is it!? Of course the point is that the character of Batty ends up behaving in a more human and noble way than our 'hero', but the result for people who went to the cinema on the film's initial release expecting to see a new sci-fi film staring Han Solo was largely bafflement and boredom.

So not for everyone, certainly, but the people who love this film REALLY love it. I'm lucky enough to be one of them, hence the five stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2002
I have watched the 'Directors cut' version on numerous occasions and every time I find some other little nuances in the performances or plot which grabs my attention.
I love the gloomy visuals with the huge sky scrappers and neon lit rainy streets. The atmosphere is wonderfully consistent and really draws you in. As with Ridley Scott films in general the camera work and visuals are superb (the scene where Deckard runs a VoidCom test on Sean youngs replicant, and the window gradually turns opaque springs to mind). The effects still look great, remarkable considering the film is now twenty years old.
Harrison Ford is pretty much himself (that is to say low key and unemotional), and that is the genius in that casting as it adds weight to the argument that Deckard is a replicant. Sean Young is great as the fragile but beautiful replicant. Rutger Hauers performance is easily the best though, and the sequence where he dies and releases the dove is simply unforgettable. I read somewhere that he wrote part of the script for the ending, and I am positive that parts of his performance were done spontaneously. Hauer brings so much complexity, sensitivity and charisma to the Roy Batty character, you can really feel his pain because he loves life too much.
Look for answers and easily identifiable good or bad guys and you will not like this film. Instead you will find question such as 'where do I come from?', and 'why am I here?'. If all great works of art shine a light onto these imponderables of the human condition, then this film is a great work of art.
One question: when Batty releases the dove, why is the sky blue?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
If you don't mind losing Deckard's voice-over, then the Final Cut is the version you want. I prefer the voice-over, however, because it gives the movie a stylish 40's gumshoe detective feel, that contrasts nicely with the grim futuristic setting. If you have seen the original, then it removal is a distraction because you are constantly expecting it. Ridley Scott & Harrison Ford say they both felt uncomfortable with it for reasons unclear. I brought this because I mistakenly assumed that the removal of the voice-over was only in the Directors Cut.

The ending is a little abrupt too, I thought. I expected to the scene where Deckard & Rachel fly off together. It does however, have a longer unicorn scene, prompting the viewer to speculate on its implications.

Arguably, this is a compromise version that is slightly closer to Philip K. Dick's novel ... while opening the possibility of a Blade runner sequel. I have read a synopsis of the books and there are significant differences to the original Blade runner movie. For example, Rachel is not quite as sweet and defenceless as the one portrayed in the movie. In addition, Rachel & Pris are identical. Although in these regards, I preferred Scott's vision.

Overall, buy this if you have not seen the original, or don't care too much about losing Deckard's voice-over. The other numerous improvements, which you can read in the wiki (Versions of Blade Runner) otherwise makes this the best version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.