Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daylight bulbs
Full Spectrum Daylight bulbs

With Daylight bulbs people either seem to love them or hate them. At first they do appear a very different light - but very quickly ordinary bulbs appear yellow and gloomy in comparison. Possibly how gaslight looked after electric came along.

They are intended to mimic daylight, and in the not very scientific test of...
Published on 30 Jan 2010 by M. Smith

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shorter life than advertised but nice light
The light from this product is great but the bulbs need to be placed in a VERY open light-shade. I've bought about ten of these - the one in my study has lasted ages, but I'm already on the third on my upstairs landing. There is a good three inch space all around the bulb, and the top and bottom is open, but still it lasts about two or three months...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by G. Russell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daylight bulbs, 30 Jan 2010
By 
M. Smith (South of the Watford Gap) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Androv 15 Watt Bayonet Full Spectrum Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
Full Spectrum Daylight bulbs

With Daylight bulbs people either seem to love them or hate them. At first they do appear a very different light - but very quickly ordinary bulbs appear yellow and gloomy in comparison. Possibly how gaslight looked after electric came along.

They are intended to mimic daylight, and in the not very scientific test of turning them on during the day and comparing with sunlight coming through the window, they match it very well. If the intensity feels too bright early morning then a 25 Watt Dimmable Daylight Bulb can be a good idea.

Reading a book under their light seems very much easier on the eyes. I personally now have all the main lights downstairs as `Full Spectrum' type, which gives an even colour temperature all round. For me the description "Full spectrum light for better colours - Better contrast lighting, with higher definition - The ideal light for tasks, reading and hobbies" is spot on.

If you sometimes want a softer effect a couple of uplighters with standard bulbs can be used to warm the colour temperature of the room. Light and mood is a very subjective thing. One persons gloom is another's restful. Bright could also be considered harsh. Just like colour and brightness settings on a television the light from these bulbs is a very personal thing.

For me they work well and do as advertised. They also have the added bonus of reaching full brightness very quickly, help save energy and should last a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shorter life than advertised but nice light, 24 Mar 2010
By 
G. Russell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Androv 15 Watt Bayonet Full Spectrum Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
The light from this product is great but the bulbs need to be placed in a VERY open light-shade. I've bought about ten of these - the one in my study has lasted ages, but I'm already on the third on my upstairs landing. There is a good three inch space all around the bulb, and the top and bottom is open, but still it lasts about two or three months.

Unfortunately I bought three for my Mother (thinking I could brighten up her house) - we had a smallish shade and the bulb lasted about 30 minutes. I thought it may be a faulty bulb so I placed another one in there - it lasted about 30 minutes. That's 15 down the drain. The third we placed in a cone shaped open shade - I think its still going.

I contacted Androv but never got a response which was a bit dissapointing.

They should at least provide more accurate usability instructions because they are relatively expensive - so you don't really want to shorten their lifetime.

If you use cone shape light-shades which expose the bulb then they work for ages, otherwise consider changing your shades or buying an alternative bulb.

But - the light they give is great, feels much better than normal bulbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good bulbs, 12 Dec 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Somwhere in the UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Androv 15 Watt Bayonet Full Spectrum Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
I like these bulbs. Very nice bright light. Don't know do they really help with SAD but light is really nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars German to English Conversion, 28 Jan 2009
By 
Yay!! (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Androv 15 Watt Bayonet Full Spectrum Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
To convert the manufacturers specification to UK wattages:

UK Bayonet B22 (22mm diameter) daylight bulbs:
15W (800 Lumen) replaces standard 60 Watt bulbs
23W (1200 Lumen) replaces standard 100 Watt bulbs
32W (1650 Lumen) replaces standard 130 Watt bulbs

Full spectrum lighting is superb. Once you've experienced it, you can't quite believe the difference it has on your mood.
I converted to using a SAD alarm clock - and for about 15 years, have used them continuously, I wouldn't dream of returning to anything else.

If you're affected by dark nights, this will alter your mood, instantly. You'll know if you're affected, as it's instant in its effect.

Try it. It's better than anti depressants. If you're reading a lot say for a University degree, definitely get one. It's like a summers day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor Lifetime, 15 Sep 2012
By 
A. J. Kendall "fixit9660" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Androv 15 Watt Bayonet Full Spectrum Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
I'm impressed by the colour and brightness of these bulbs but the liftime is very poor. I bought two and they both failed within a day of each other after roughly 8 months. They were used in a domestic kitchen, not exactly a high usage environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brighter than you think, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Androv 15 Watt Bayonet Full Spectrum Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
Quite a compact unit compared with other normal energy saving bulbs, but this also gives full spectrum 'white' light. When you use these bulbs it really shows up the yellow hue that standard bulbs through out and that is reason enough to prefer what these bulbs have to offer. They ship direct from Germany so the delivery times take the full predicted timescale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Androv spectrum light bulbs, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Androv 15 Watt Bayonet Full Spectrum Bulb (Kitchen & Home)
Use these bulbs throughout the house. They give a good clear light and are cheaper to use. I would recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews