Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good on dvd, superb on Blu-ray!
This is a surreal feel-good comedy from one of France's best directors. We have a downtrodden loser at the end of his tether who meets a catwalk model of an angel who turns his life around and changes how he sees himself and the world around him.
Paris itself is the third leading character in this tale and the cinematography is glorious. It's all been well planned...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by SL-N/1973

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars socrates
A good film that challenges our perception of right and wrong, good and evil. My only cricitism would be the ending which goes against, in my opinion, the concept of the film which is change.
Published on 20 April 2012 by Forallseasons


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good on dvd, superb on Blu-ray!, 14 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel-a [2005] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a surreal feel-good comedy from one of France's best directors. We have a downtrodden loser at the end of his tether who meets a catwalk model of an angel who turns his life around and changes how he sees himself and the world around him.
Paris itself is the third leading character in this tale and the cinematography is glorious. It's all been well planned and even short scenes of the two main characters are filmed in the most visually appealing way, for example they'll be walking across a bridge for just a few seconds - but they'll be filmed from beyond one of the other bridges to show off just how beautiful the summer sun makes Paris look. This happens time and again, and adds up to a visual treat for anybody with a soft spot for Paris. The ending is completely mad and emphasises that this is a modern day fairytale, nothing more nothing less, and that dramatic finale makes Angel-A seem very different (in a lighter, crazy way) for the second viewing. The film gets a second life when you know what's coming.

I had it on dvd and saw it plenty of times, so when it came out on the better format I replaced it immediately and I'm glad I did. The transfer is magnificent. The greys and blacks have become so rich, and there are great swathes of very soft tints slipped into some scenes which weren't so obvious on dvd, such as the skies above Paris having the vaguest of blue hues. The clarity is cranked up a gear and therefore I am one pleased customer.

Strange though, the subtitles have been re-done and some lines have been re-interpreted and some words have been ditched. It doesn't really matter, but it does make me wonder how the mood or tone of foreign films can be changed by the people who do the subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb modern day fairy-tale, 25 Feb 2007
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel-A [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have no hesitation in giving top marks to this stylish French film. It is filmed beautifully in monochrome, the acting performances from Rie Rasmussen and Jamel Debbouuze are impeccable ,the musical soundtrack is enchanting and the storyline is captivating.Debbouze plays a businessman,Andre, up to his ears in debt to a number of dangerous criminals, while the svelte,stunning Rasmussen plays a mysterious stranger whose name,Angela, provides a clue to her real identity.Their paths cross on a bridge and the pair gradually build up a close relationship as Angela assists Andre with his debt problems and helps him feel better about himself and life in general. The on screen chemistry between the unlikely pair is very strong and the film touches on a number of key themes such as the transforming power of love, the unnoticed influence of the supernatural and the importance of a sense of amour propre. Quirky and idiosyncratic, romantic and witty, "Angel-A" is one of the best films that I have seen this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Send Me An Angel, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: Angel-A [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Directed by Luc Besson, Angel-A was first released in 2005. It's a French romcom (not quite what most would expect from Besson) and stars Jamel Debbouze and Rie Rasmussen in the two lead roles.

André is 28 years old and badly down on his luck. Although his working practices have been a little shady in the past, he's trying to make an honest fist of things and - following a recent trip abroad - is sure that his big break is just around the corner. However, given that he owes an absolute fortune to nearly every crook, villain and gangster in Paris, he mightn't live to see the good times. Having sought help and protection from both the police - who wouldn't lock him up for a few days - and the US Embassy - although of North African descent, he holds a green card - he's left alone and desperate. Eventually, he gives up and decides to throw himself off a bridge and into the Seine...and, just as he's about to jump, he notices Angela to his left. In fairness, Angela is very distracting : she's a tall, very leggy and exceptionally beautiful blonde...and the dress she's wearing only just keeps everything covered. Although he pleads with her not to jump, she won't listen...and so, rather than ending his own life, André finds himself jumping in and saving Angela's. The pair get talking on the banks of the river and, by way of thanks, Angela dedicates herself to helping André. Miraculously, with Angela on his side, things start looking up very, very quickly...

It is subtitled (which may put some people off) and it mightn't appeal to the very innocent, but I loved it. There is a real `feel-good' element to the movie and there is a pretty obvious comparison to "It's a Wonderful Life". Some of the better known locations of Paris are used as the story's backdrop - the Seine and its bridges, the bateaux mouche and the Eiffel Tower - and it's very stylishly shot in black and white. A film I'd have no hesitation in recommending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unexpected delight, 9 May 2007
This review is from: Angel-A [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this dvd with very little knowledge of the film itself, being attracted by the Director (whose previous films I've enjoyed) and the rather striking box art. Boy, am I glad I took the plunge (no pun intended!). The story itself is very simple but this allows us to concentrate on the, almost palpable ,growth of love and respect between the two main characters leading to one of the most moving pieces of understated acting I've ever seen in the 'mirror scene'. This is a romantic film that even 'blokes' will love!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...It's What's On The Inside That Matters..." - ANGEL-A on BLU RAY, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel-a [2005] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Coming from Writer/Director LUC BESSON who gave the world the Sci-Fi/Indiana Jones extravaganzas "The Fifth Element" and "The Extraordinary Adventures Of Adele Blanc-Sec" and tense/ballsy thrillers like "Taken", "Nikita" and "Leon" - the pared-back almost serene "Angel-A" is not what you'd expect from this amazingly gifted Frenchman. Yet it so works.

Large part of the credit has to go to the casting one of his favourite lead actors JAMEL DEBBOUZE. Squat, cute, compelling - his lined crumpled features and stubbly chin are akin to a French Humphrey Bogart - the kind of actor whose face and watery eyes can express so much and have you routing for his character with an investment that feels personal. And like most Male Directors of a certain age - our Luc likes his leading ladies too (the prettier the better). Enter the extraordinary-looking RIE RASMUSSEN.

Jamel plays Andre Massau - an Algerian pint-sized low-life living in Paris who steals croissants from restaurant tables and owes money to Frank the Frenchman and Pedro the Spaniard. But unless Andre pays up more than 50,000 Euro by midnight Saturday - his body will be `everywhere' on Sunday morning. Failing to find solace in the American Embassy (a green card he won in a Lottery), even the French Police won't put him in Jail so he can be safe for a few days. Andre finally goes to the bridge overlooking the Seine and toys with the idea of ending it all. But annoyingly he's not alone. A six-foot high stick-insect blond in a tight black party dress with a pearl necklace sporting legs that stretch six miles into the ground is also on the wrong side of the ornate railings about to do the same. With her tear-stained makeup - she jumps - Andre follows - pulls her to the embankment - and for saving her from the clutches of despair - she 'gives' herself and her services to him for the whole of Sunday. But first she needs a cigarette...

The similarity between "Angel-A" and "It's A Wonderful Life" with its message of intervention to show us the errors of our ways will not escape many - Besson has just updated the story to modern day living. His principal character Andre is a self-loathing loser who still has some good left inside him somewhere. He just desperately needs to learn to "breathe" and "live in the moment" - and who better to teach him than a 300-year old chain-smoking angel falling from the sky that looks like a high-class hooker. But as Andre watches Angela pimp herself out in a nightclub for 1000 Euro per sweaty leering client - he begins to see the consequences of his greed - and worse - how he is his own worst enemy (sharks he repays with her ill-gotten gains tap into his gullible nature again by flattery because they know it works).

Cleverly resisting flashy celestial scenes - special effects are kept to a minimum allowing story and character to be all. But as Andre's eventful Sunday progresses - slowly Angela wakes him up (dialogue above) and after an ashtray reveal in a café - money worries don't matter anymore because love is also in the air.

First up is the look of "Angel-A". Shot in black and white in old-world Paris - the locations and city pulse are beautifully rendered on BLU RAY. Defaulted to 2.35:1 aspect - there are bars on the top and bottom - but even stretched to full screen - the picture is never anything less than cinematically fab (note: if you do extend the aspect - the English subtitles will go off-screen).

There's an entertaining "Making Of" featurette that has interviews with Director, Producer JEROME LATEUR and the Cast, a "Making Of The Music For Angel-A" featuring composer ANJA GARBAREK and her musicians and a Theatrical Trailer. English is the Subtitle for this French-language film.

"Angel-A" isn't your typical box-office fare - but it is masterfully done - and will get to you more than you think. Flap your credit card's wings for this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite films ever, 22 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel-A [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Such a brilliant interpretation of a traditional 'guardian angel' conceit. Luc Besson is a genius who constantly surprises. One of my top 10 all time films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angel A - fab film, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel-A [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A 6 ft angel who's a hooker and a holistic approach to life's problems. A delight of a film. Some stunning shots - catch your breath stuff. OK it's in black and white and there's sub-titles because it's french, which normally I hate but this fresh and funny film is worth watching in spite of that. The heroine is a real star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep watching it gets better, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel-A [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A subtitled French film. Centred around two characters we are taken to the seedy areas of Paris where angela is trying to keep our loser out of trouble and maybe set him on the straight and narrow. Her methods are unconventional but seem effective.
Although the film starts ok about half an hour in we both thought about giving up on it. however we carried on watching (well we had paid for it) and the plot and story improved immeasurably. By the end we had definately had our moneys worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars socrates, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel-A [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A good film that challenges our perception of right and wrong, good and evil. My only cricitism would be the ending which goes against, in my opinion, the concept of the film which is change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good moments, but predictable, 10 Sep 2011
By 
J. Wang (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel-a [2005] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is beautifully shot and has some funny and touching moments, but the second half and the conclusion is predictable and rather cringe-worthy. The idea of 'learning to love yourself' is ultimately presented too bluntly, so that it loses much of its resonance.

I enjoyed watching this movie once but I didn't find it sufficiently engaging to want to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel-A [DVD] [2005] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
47.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews