Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 7 Jun 2003
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
In short.. This. Album. Rules. Yes, most people would probably see death metal as a load of noise in which you just slam a guitar about, place in a few blastbeats and some gutteral vocals. It may be the sound Decapitated produce on first listen but listen closer and you will see how amazingly talented these young lads are.
Decapitated put bands of much older generations to shame with some of the amazing riffing and drummer Vitek's skills behind the kit are just as amazing seeing as how he was just 16 when the band recorded this album.
The main standouts on 'Winds of Creation' are 'The First Damned', 'Humans Dust' and 'Blessed' yet there is no song greater than 'Eye of Horus' the mastery of this song has to be heard to be believed.
I suggest you buy this CLASSIC death metal album. NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars death metal at its finest, 11 Jan 2001
By 
cyazkan@hotmail.com (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
There must be something in the water in Poland. I don't know how else to explain the emergence of so many talented death metal bands from that country. The new blood on the scene is also the youngest. Decapitated was formed in 1996, the youngest member at the time being a mere twelve years old! Listening to 'Winds of Creation', you would never guess that these guys have only been playing together for four years! Decapitated play as if they've been in the scene for a decade or more. Decapitated play a style of death metal which brings to mind a more brutal version of Vader especially where the vocals are concerned. The Vader influence is obvious, but Decapitated inject their own ideas into their music which keeps them from being labeled as just another Vader clone. Decapitated's sound is absolutely crushing! These guys can play at a skin-peeling pace, throw in some tempo changes, and then they just grind your bones to dust for good measure! They even cover 'Mandatory Suicide' by Slayer! Production on 'Winds of Creation' is handled by none other than Peter of Vader. He does an absolutely flawess job with the material. Decapitated's sound hits you in the chest like a jack-hammer! I simply can't get over how well these youngsters play this style of music. Each member of Decapitated could hold his own against some of the better known musicians in the scene. Decapitated are impressive in every sense of the word! Check out 'Winds of Creation' immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winds of Creation, 24 Aug 2005
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
Before venturing into further detail on this awe inspiring slab of brutal Polish Death Metal, I must first of all establish the fact that this is without a doubt, (though Decapitateds debut album) still their best so far in terms of technicality and overall Crushing brutality. Winds of Creation may stand proud alongside few other classics in this thriving genre we know as Death Metal!
It can safely be said that this extremley talented polish 4 piece are tuly a force to be reckoned with in todays scene and the only band i can see challenging them who still remain are that of the legendary Vomitory! Winds of Creation refuses to allow time for breathing from start to finish and is no less than head-crushing Death Metal all the way!! From the explosive opening title track Winds of Creation to to the ending of the mind blowing Nine Steps, by the time this audio attack has finished, your brains will no longer remain in a solid state!
If its technical, Brutal in every sense of the word Death Metal you have been searching for then look no further, because Winds of Creation is here!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technical and brutal, 20 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
I like Decapitated. I think that for their age (on release), this album is mind blowing. It shows that a good musical education can pay off big time.
I like Winds Of Creation too. But I do have a small problem with its sound. The vocals are almost monotone (I don't know if this is the production or the singer or what?) to the point of one long quiet growl. The second thing I noticed about it is that, even though its far superior technically, it does sound a lot like Vader. Tune wise, the guitars are used to repeat riffs again and again, and it reminded me strongly of Vader's The Ultimate Incantation album on first playing. Don't think I'm shouting this album down. I'm not. I just cant listen to it and not be reminded of Vader (The sleeve notes say one of Vader had a hand in producing or mixing it or something). Maybe its the Polish sound? I don't know.
What I love about this album is the drums! They are just amazing. The blast beats, the double bass thumping. The timing of some of the blast beats catch you off guard and its always nice to be pleasently surprised when a song that is chugging along suddenley changes gear and sprints off into extremity for 30 seconds or so. Decapitated do this regularly on this album and it just works so well.
Obviously an album isn't just about drums, and the guitar playing is also brilliant, in the true sense of the word.
I did chuckle when I played the cover of Mandatory Suicide. I think its a very good cover, with a natural progression for a song that upgrades perfectly to death metal. What made me laugh was the line "Rake-ed by machine gun fire". Just me then?!
An unbeleivable debut,even with the niggles I think it has, that went on to spawn two even greater albums. The Negation being my personal favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 25 Dec 2003
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
Any album that can be mention in the same breath as such Metal Classics as Obituary's Cause of Death or Morbid Angel's Altars of Madness deserves attention and this album really does fall under that category.
Words can't do it justice, except to say that for a band to be as technical and simultaneously brutal is quite rare and really does warrant a purchase.
Also, if you ever get the chance to see Decapitated live, you must. I've seen bands like Slayer, Metallica, Opeth, Deicide and Nile and yet Decapitated beat them all. Truly fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
Awesome album, great price, bought this as a gift along with the others and it arrived in perfect condition, would reccomend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars decapitated - winds of creation, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
decapitated's latest cd release blows the rest away with devastating riffs and beats , the vocals are deeper than on other cd's , giving a variant sound that adds to decapitated's skill at producing excellent death metal . recommended . 'mandatory suicide' is one of the grooviest songs I have heard in a while and apart from 'dance macarbe' the rest of the album sounds like what you would expect from one of the best death metal bands around .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for death metal fans, 18 Mar 2012
By 
Matthew D. Phillips "zax93" (Outer Limits) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
I love all kinds of music but have only heard a handful of death metal albums that I really like - this one has it all - it has the energy of youth - it feels a bit more thrashy than a lot of death metal i've heard - I like the low vocals - the songs have real structure and melody - production is great - not as brutal or compressed as say the negation just solid and powerful - Eye of Horus is an incredible track that blows me away every time I hear it. A limited edition vinyl run has just been made of this album by earache for those who are interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Decapitated's Classic Debut, 24 Dec 2007
By 
Rob (London U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
Well for those of you who don't know this band they are one of Poland's premiere Death Metal bands and happen to be one of my favourites. This album is straight up brutal Death Metal ladened with catchy/technical riffs, relentless drumming & ultra low demonic vocals. There is also a good instrumental at around half time which slows things down a bit and adds a darkish atmoshere. The Slayer cover Mandatory Suicide is also very good adding alot more brutality than the original but I still prefer Slayer's version. I am giving this top marks because it's one of those albums where you can listen from start to finish without getting bored, no filler material here! The musicians just amaze me how talented they are for such young ages, the youngest being Vitek who was 16 at the time. I just love the double bass intro to Winds of Creation it sets the mood(BRUTALITY)for the rest of the album. My other favourite tracks are Blessed, Way to Salvation and Eye of Horus although the rest of the tracks are also very good! This is my favourite Decapitated album, Nihilty coming in at a close second. This album comes highly recommended. R.I.P. VITEK you are a Legend \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music, shame about the vocals, 19 Mar 2006
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Winds of Creation (Audio CD)
What surprised most people when Decapitated’s debut album was released was how a band so young (average age 16) could sound so musically tight. Winds of Creation is pure straight-ahead death metal in the Vader style (and appropriately enough produced by Vader’s guitarist/vocalist Peter), and these teenage Poles whip through some brutal riffs with great style. If you like good solid death metal than musically this album is as good as it gets, but there is one thing stopping this review from getting full marks, and that’s the vocals which, while not actually awful, as so muddy and lacking in diction or clarity that they get buried in the mix: even with the help of the lyric sheet you will find it difficult to make out a word the vocalist utters. Still, for the jaw-dropping musicianship alone this is a fantastic death metal debut by anyone’s standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winds Of Creation
Winds Of Creation by Decapitated (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 7 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews