Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


178 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite probably your best buy of the year!!!
I already had the original two albums, but for a tenner I could not resist this 3-disc set with 4 bonus tracks and a decent amount of original music videos.

Everybody positively shines throughout; Dylan's hilarious Dirty World and Tweeter and The Monkey Man; Harrison's sublime Handle With Care, Heading For The Light and the fantastic Maxine (the latter...
Published on 2 July 2007 by street-legal

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WilburtysCollection
First CD is great. Second CD is as if they just put any old thing on it. DVD is interesting but at least could have shown more complete songs. Disappointed.
Published 5 months ago by Webby


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

178 of 180 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite probably your best buy of the year!!!, 2 July 2007
By 
street-legal (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
I already had the original two albums, but for a tenner I could not resist this 3-disc set with 4 bonus tracks and a decent amount of original music videos.

Everybody positively shines throughout; Dylan's hilarious Dirty World and Tweeter and The Monkey Man; Harrison's sublime Handle With Care, Heading For The Light and the fantastic Maxine (the latter originally left off!). Roy Orbison is spine tingling on the last song of his life, Not Alone Anymore. Tom Petty sings the catchy Last Night and offers a notable Orbison tribute in You Took My Breath Away, and Jeff Lynne brings these disparate elements together with his trademark slick production.

Volume One is the perfect 'feel-good' album. Even if you don't dance, you will certainly feel the urge to, and will soon know entire songs of by heart. Volume Three is slightly less upbeat and has a more rock and roll/rootsy feel, and Orbison is missed, but its still a damned good listen. On top of this, there is also a dvd containing all of the music videos (5 in total), plus a half hour documentary which gives some insight into the fun everbody was having.

For the money, it is an absolute gem of a buy and I would recommend it whole-heartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilburys, 29 July 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably one of the most fun albums you'll ever own, period. The music is light and toe tapping and the lyrics are sung with tongue firmly in cheek. The blend of voices and styles are spot on and you'll find yourself beaming everytime you put on this CD. The DVD has some great footage of the albums being recorded, as well as some music videos. The extra tracks aren't too great, but are good for those who want more from the band. I can not recommend this album highly enough, I grew up on it and I love it just as much now. After years of being a deleted title I recommend you snap this up before it gets lost again!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Finally Gets a Re-release, 9 July 2007
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If ever there was one, it's this album, available now at last for the first time in what seems like an age.

As a rule, "supergroups" tend to be rather sterile, ego-driven and self-indulgent affairs. This is the exception: two albums full of great tunes made by a group of friends who were clearly having a blast together. There are even some who might say that this is probably the most musically fulfilled George Harrison got to be after the Beatles, as good as some of his solo material was, because he simply enjoyed being in a band. I think they have a point.

Volume 1 is the best of the three discs, containing a slew of wonderful songs. My particular favourites are 'Rattled', a romping good 50's skiffly-rock n roll number, 'Heading for The Light', 'End Of The Line' and 'Not Alone Any More', which has a spine-tingling Roy Orbison lead. There isn't a clunker among them, without exception each song has something wonderful and warm to give. Evidence of this is provided by the first bonus track 'Maxine', which wasn't judged good enough to make the original album, which is a lovely rather flamenco-flavoured acoustic George Harrison number. In fact, the weakest song on this disc is the second bonus, 'Like A Ship', but even this is worth a listen.

After the perfection of Vol 1, the only way to go is down. While Vol 3 is not quite as stellar or immediate as its antecedant, it is still full of rollocking good tunes and still doesn't have any real dogs on it. How can you dislike an album that has a (somewhat tongue-in-cheek) rocking sitar solo! (The Devil's Been Busy), including a riff swiped wholesale from I Believe in Father Christmas by Greg Lake. Other highlights include 'Poor House', 'Inside Out' with its layered Beatlesque harmonies, the shambling 'Where Were You Last Night?' and, of course, the wonderfully dumb but fun 'Wilbury Twist'

The second disc is a collection of documentary materials and videos, all of which are certainly worth having and watching. The documentary about the making of the first album is a particular joy, full of smiling happy faces and the pure joy of making great music together.

As a package, you can't really fault it, bringing both these fabulous albums together in a single place for such a low price. As a deal, you'd be hard-pushed to find a better buy anywhere. Quite simply this is a MUST BUY for anyone who has any kind of serious interest in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supberb, Fantastic, 7 Oct 2007
It's rare these days for me to have one CD that is played over and over again - let alone a double album but this compilation has achieved that feat - probably the first release ever to have done that for me.

I first hankered after the Wilburys whilst re-discovering George Harrison's solo work but found that the CD releases were commanding vast sums as collectors items. Thankfully this three disc (two audio, one DVD) set filled the void.

As I've already said it was the Harrison involvement that hooked me but the contributions of the other Wilburys are equally important. Essentially this album works because it was a bunch of guys having fun and the songs are simple (all quickly written and recorded) and memorable. Of course it's not that simple - when the bunch of guys comprises Harrison, Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, Roy Orbison and Jeff Lynne then it's difficult to imagine it being anything but superb but it could so easily have gone wrong. Thankfully it didn't - just because they were all in it to have fun. The listener does too. Buy with confidence - you'll have no trouble selling it if you don't enjoy it but you won't need to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant! You Wil not bury these!!, 18 Jun 2007
By 
Denise Swanson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The only copies I have of these two albums are on cassette tape so I haven't heard them for years. Just bought this today, put the first disc in the cd player and within minutes I could not keep still or concentrate on what I had been doing. My foot kept tapping, my fingers drummed on the table... Just stop whatever you are doing and listen to these albums - the sheer musicianship, songcrafting and playing is superb and the remastering really helps to separate the instruments so you can really tell the individual styles. There are not that many artists of this calibre that demand you stop and listen to them - the Wilburys most certainly are

I do wish it had been released as an SACD however as I am sure that would have been even better. However, I am delighted to hear 'George and the boys' again and sounding as good as ever. A well-deserved UK number one album - long may it remain so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friendship, 21 Jun 2009
The DVD that comes with this set is inspirational - I'm not kidding myself that we're seeing the creative process in "real-time" but nevertheless we gain a bit of an insight into the creativity, friendship and fun that went into the Wilburys. Thank God for George Harrison, and for his ability to make and keep friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music - Terrible Price, 10 Nov 2007
By 
C. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Travelling Wilburys Collection - Vinyl Box Set [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I can't fault the music, but this is waaaaayyy too expensive for a vinyl release.
Shop around. You'll get it a LOT cheaper!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe Wilburys, 2 Sep 2007
By 
R. E. Noller "fabsman" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fans of the Wilburys need no introduction to the music or, indeed, lengthy reviews of it. Suffice to say the re-masters sound great. The bonus tracks are fab. The DVD bought tears to my eyes (being a HUGE Harrison fan, I couldn't help feeling the loss more seeing him here). Sadly the DVD was over far too soon, and not as complete a documentary of the band as might have been. The 12" mixes could have all been included in the package too. Before we all feel too disappointed though, we must remember that when we had vinyl we never had the opportunity to enjoy the videos so readily. However, these discs have been unavailable for a woefully long time, and deserve the re-release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a DVD a real insight into the works of these geniuses of music., 7 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A trully remarkable compilation of these giants of music.Sadly the stunning Dvd was over so quickly but it gave great insight into the genius of both Bob Dylan and Roy Orbison whose musical talents were poles apart.
Orbison had what was regarded by many in the music industry the most accomplished voice in music and he died suddenly during the making of Wilbyries no1 at the early age of only 52 in 1988.

Bob Dylan on the other hand is an incredible lyricist and the other members of the group comment on his remarkable ease in connecting lyrics to Tweeter and the Monkeyman.The group provide the music and harmony and Dylan in his quiet unassuming way comes up with these amazing lyrics in just a few hours.

Bob Dylan is notorious for not giving interviews,a shy man and unfortunately he was not prepared to voice his opinions on his colaboration with the other band members.

A real shame as the mans amazing skill as a musicain is clearly evident on the dvd.As Harrison said " It was amazing that he bothered to pick up that phone in the first place.If Dylan had provided imput then this dvd would have been approaching perfection but alas no.

Jeff Lynn almost appears in awe of Orbison throughout the sessions and freely addmits it was a dream of his to sing and compose music with the man.
The only members that seem mysterious are Tom Petty and George Harrison,was it not for Harrisons explanation that it was prabably a full moon or something that brought all the members together and the fact that Dylan answered his phone there may never have been a group of this stature atall.

The Dvd although less than twenty five minutes long is worth the money alone and on Orbisons death the rest of the members who all looked up to the man as somebody really unique and special,one feels that even Bob Dylan was honoured to have composed music with the man.

A very sensitive moment is when the group play Handle with Care,we see Orbisons guitar being rocked slowly in a rockingchair whilst the group sing but with him in their thoughts.

The Dvd includes several videos the group made and on listening to their music the skill of both composition and lyrics shine through.

On listening to the majority of these foot tapping melodies especially from Wilburys 1 you are amazed at their simplicity.The lyrics and melodies are clearly composed by musicians having no end of a time,coming up with on the spur of the moment ideas,but thats the true gunius of these men.
These melodies may appear simple in composition but they are far from it.
The easy listening tracks that you almost feel you could have composed yourself are some of the most difficult to compose.Each band member threw ideas together,we see that mostly clearly in that incredible dvd where they are burning the midnight oil in the kitchen.

The dvd is more remarkable in the fact that these giants of the music industry popped over for a cup of coffee and a chat.There are very few men around able to ask Bob Dylan to pop around on the offchance of writing music.He is simply not that kind of man,deeply private and has given very few interviews during his long career,and to cap it all asking Orbison one of the greatest singers there was to bring his gear with him.

Take Handle with Care as a suberb example.All the lads especially Jeff Lynn and Harrison had vital imput in making this track really special and Roy Orbisons stunning voice is the iceing on the cake.

Its without doubt my favorite of many of the tracks and the accompanying video is one of the highlites of this remarkable compilation.

This is one cd-dvd collection i am very proud to own but that dvd is quite magic and has an addictive presence where you want to experience it again and again.

I read the other reviewers praise about this set and speak volumes of their words- THIS IS ONE AMAZING SET and its easy to see why it went Platingum in its first week of release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traveling Wilburys - fun and entertaining, 23 Jun 2007
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I think 'fun' is the key word when mentioning the Traveling Wilburys. Every member was a musical force in his own right yet when these artists came together there was a distinct lack of egos. I think the key is they were recording the music they loved without having any real artistic expectations which could in similar circumstances have caused friction. The music found here is mainly the sounds these stars would have grown up listening to in their formative years - rock 'n' roll, rockabilly, a sprinkling of folk and a few 50s style ballads. The fact that they pulled it off so magnificently is a credit to them personally as much as it is their skills as songwriters, musicians and singers.

The first album (Volume 1) in the collection is their debut and it's a finely balanced selection of songs where each artist takes a turn of having some time in the spotlight. It's uniformly strong yet it's perhaps Bob Dylan and Roy Orbison who creates the biggest impression. Roy Orbison's 'Not Alone Any More' is arguably (almost) up with his classic songs of the 60's. However, if there is a drawback it's that the album is a little too slickly produced at times. Many of the old rock 'n' roll era records from which the Wilburys take their inspiration are wonderfully primitive sounding which is part of their appeal - Volume 1 would have benefitted immensely from a few rough edges.

The second album (Volume 3) was recorded following Orbison's death and perhaps to the casual listener it sounds a lot less of a group effort. It's much more a collaboration between Bob Dylan and Tom Petty where George Harrison and Jeff Lynne chip in on occasions with the odd line. The songs on a first impression perhaps don't seem as striking as Volume 1 but this album for me is much more of a grower than the first. It seems a little less produced and has a little more warmth and although initially the songs may seem to drag on a little more because they lack the variety in tempos of the first album there's still a strong sense of freshness and spontaneity. George Harrison and Jeff Lynne fans may be disappointed, though.

The DVD extra is also very interesting - it's an engaging insight into the Wilburys getting together to record their first album. It's a home movie camcorder recording but it's nevertheless fascinating.

There are also a few outakes 'Maxine' and 'Like A Ship' and a single (a cover of) Nobody's Child/ Runaway.

It's all highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews