Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it... Buy it now... NOW!, 8 Nov. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
If you're here you obviously have a taste for impassioned, emotive rock. Music with depth, feeling and quality. The kind of music that stays with you past the first listen, past even the 20th listen. The kind of music that becomes an indespensible part of your life.

This is Puressence.

Only Snow Patrol and Radiohead at their best come close. And it's a crime of the greatest magnitude that this band's name doesn't trip off the tongue as readily as "OK Computer" "Run" or (God help us...) "Coldplay" when those "best of..." lists come round.

This, their fourth album, eschews some of the open and melancholic soundtracks of previous releases and ups the ampage to produce a superb, almost wall-of-sound effect. It washes over you with James's voice a shining diamond in the barrage. It's a unique voice, to be sure, but utterly spellbinding.

Please, if you're even a little tempted, just take five minutes and look at the reviews and stars for Puressence's previous three albums.

They are:
Puressence
Only Forever
Planet Helpless

This is not advertising or sloganeering, this band have been the BEST band in the country for almost ten years. Be warned though, if you buy one you will buy all four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic!, 9 Oct. 2007
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
While bands like The Stone Roses are hailed for producing one great album, Puressence produce classic album after classic album and remain virtually unknown. Whether this will change with the release of this album is anyone's guess, but it's clear from the first crash of windswept opener 'Moonbeam' that this is another classic. Puressence excell at epic despair and widescreen emotion and make bands like Coldplay suddennly seem...well, a bit silly. Buy this, let it grow, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure essence of WOW!, 11 Jan. 2009
By 
J. de Leeuw (Borneo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
Eh, I do have the previous albums from these guys but to be honest I forgot a bit about them and assumed they had split up years ago, in view of lack of success. So I was pleasantly surprised to read a few weeks ago they had released a 4th album last year. This week I received it and since then: I'm in love. This must be their most balanced work so far, with 40 minutes of passion in rock. A wall of sound, James' beautiful voice, magical guitar, great production; this album has it all. Epic indie rock in best practice mode. So forget about The Killers, Coldplay etc. and give this one a try. You will end up with the WOW-feeling, definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget to remember....well, quite, 18 May 2008
By 
P. able (West Mids, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
Whether the album title is an impassioned plea to bands fans, or a lover, i don't know. But, of course it equally applies to both...
This, their fourth album, is for me their finest to date. Jimmy's vocals definitely improve with age, especially on the slow-burning 'Brainwaves'.
Also, particular highlights include the gorgeous 'don't know any better' and 'sold unseen'
No, there isn't a weak track on here, and as mentioned below,the band remain virtually unknown while inferior rockers soar up the charts..
Maybe lead singer James should hook up with a movie star girlfriend, to get the coverage they desperatly need!
Well, it works for the increasingly irrelevant Coldplay.
But, for all the wonderful songs the boys have recorded over four albums, they still haven't released that instant killer single to propel them into the top 40.
Nevermind, keep up the good work, and let's not have to wait five years for the fifth album eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Barrage - Simply Amazing, 30 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
Having come to the band late (early 2007), I was stunned and disappointed I'd not been introduced to them before - they are truly a massive band in waiting, and please don't anyone mention them in same breath as Coldplay or Radiohead, they are so much more interesting, exciting and engaging than those artists (who bore the pants off me) - if I would compare them to anyone it would be the brilliant Secret Machines. This album demands to be replayed the second it finishes and anyone of a certain age will grin like an idiot at the keyboard refrain in Palisades - I'll say no more, suffice to say you'll be thinking of a childhood character in a yellow tartan scarf.
For that alone I'll forgive James for leaping off stage in Brighton last year and whacking me in the stomach for heckling him - when it was some guy behind me, mistaken identity!
Please buy this album, you'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best 'Unknown' Band Ever, 26 Sept. 2007
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
Five years on from their last offering, Failsworth's finest return with another set of blistering tunes, anthemic choruses and songs that are just instantly memorable. From the commerciality of singles Pallisades & Drop Down, to the harmonic beauty of Sold Unseen & Brainwaves, through to the power-laden Bitter Pill and Life Comes Down Hard, this album should be on everybody's indie hitlist for 2007. If you like this album, then the band's back catalogue is essential listening. Once heard, James Mudriczki's quite beautiful voice will haunt you forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 20 Aug. 2008
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
I bought this when it first came out months ago but have just got round to reviewing it now. This, the fourth Puressence album, is compelling evidence that the band just gets better and better. To witness them live in concert is an amazing and moving experience. This is music which could move mountains, a wall of sound that stirs the soul and reinvigorates the senses. It's criminal that Puressence appear little- known outside their native Manchester (although they are massive in Greece). I first caught seem supporting The Chameleons at Summer in the City in 2001. Since then the four album releases have never been far from my CD player. Buy this, then go buy the back catalogue! You really will thank me for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 23 Feb. 2009
By 
Colin Pearce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
well I never expected Puressence to produce an album that could match or surpass Only forever but Dont forget to remember certainly achieves that,This is a wonderful piece of work and just gets better every time I listen which is often may I add, From the title track to my personel favourites drop down to earth, Palisades and burns inside, It remains very much in typical Puressence style but still sounds unique and James vocals seem to get better and better, Buy this now you wont regret it as Puressence deserve to be up there with the muses and coldplays and snow patrols of this world....STUNNING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PureMagic!!, 2 Jan. 2012
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
I'd heard good things about these guys but never realized just how good they are. This album is the pinnacle of their career so far, as they leave behind the harder-edged sound of their previous offerings and move into gentler more melodic alternative rock, very reminiscent of R.E.M. at their most beautiful. Almost every song here is pure genius, although special mention has to go to the title track and the best song in the album, 'brainwaves'. This is one purchase you definitely will not regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PURESSENCE / DON'T FORGET TO REMEMBER' (Audio CD)
I am a fan of Puressence, but this album takes it up a knotch in my book :) a colleague at work once described another album by them as SCORCHING. This album takes things a tad more relaxed at times, just a tad, holding back on the big production values and letting instruments sail along at times with an assurance and sensitivity before letting rip again. Great stuff, may more and more people get to hear about them. We love them, and more people should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews