Customer Reviews

109
4.8 out of 5 stars
Blackbird
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.49+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 7 September 2007
altough the album is not due for release until 8th Octover 07, I have heard from various websites 5 of the new tracks which sound absolutely awesome!!!!!!!
One Day Remains is undoubtably one of the best ever rock albums. Blackbird promises to be even better! On the Tracks I've heard (which are Rise Today, Ties That Bind, Brand New Start, Before Tomorrow Comes and Watch over You), Myles Kennedy is on outstanding form and Tremonti's guitars just get better.
The opening track will be Ties That Bind and what a track to start with!! the guitar intro is great, it starts of fairly mild but before you know it, it's in full swing.
Of the songs I've heard so far, Before Tomorrow Comes is my personal fav, which is more of ballad (a bit like broken wings).

Goes with saying that I cannot wait until 8/10/07. (and the tour in January)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 October 2011
This album is just amazing, at first some of the songs seem alien to you, you haven't heard them before and since the songs aren't advertised why should you? but believe me when i say it but they are catchy best way to describe what this ablum does to you is the music video for party rock anthem, but honestly for 5 quid no-one should complain don;t get me wrong a relatively unknown band here in the UK but in the states they are big business i'm not saying no-one has heard of them just small amount of people know who they are just like bands like dream theatre or puddle of mudd etc. All in all though a great album by a great artist and only a fiver no moans no gripes can;t lose, nuff' said
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on 10 October 2007
Following the success of Alter Bridges debut Album "One day remains" was never going to be easy. Such was the critical acclaim of the aforementioned album that it had fans packing themselves into modest arenas. And although their first tour of the UK was a modicum of success, it was the second tour of the UK where the band gained such a high reputation for providing a thrilling live experience. So with the first effort being so well received could Blackbird re-produce that same quality and excitement or even better it.

Well appetites have been whet with the single "Rise today", a rock song that is typical of Alter Bridge as it epitomizes their trademark melodies and sing-along choruses. And there is still enough of the classic Alter Bridge sound that fans have accustomed to on Blackbird to keep them happy. Songs such as the previously mentioned "Rise today", "Brand new start" and "Before tomorrow comes" proving this. However the band has clearly taken a new aggressive approach in some of their writing. This has incorporated itself in a greater use of riffs and an altogether heavier sound.

The album starts off in a similar fashion to One day remains, with two hard rocking tracks that will have heads bobbing and arms thrusting in arenas with no trouble at all. Then, again like the first album, opts to slow down the momentum and what we're left with is "Brand new start" an up-lifting ballad, in the same vain that "Broken Wings" was.

One of the differences between the two albums is that the first, One day remains, was written largely before Tremonti and Co. appointed lead singer Myles Kennedy. Therefore this time round Alter Bridge have made full use in what has turned out to be a indispensable weapon in their song-writing approach. With Kennedy integrated as second guitarist it also adds much more harmony as it is utilized to good effect in riffs as well as providing backing for Tremonti's solos or visa versa. And Kennedy's influence is duly noted on tracks such as "Before tomorrow comes" and the beautifully melancholic "Watch over you", both of which are reminiscent of the Mayfield Four.

The song writing and the structures of the songs have improved no end and given the quality of the first album that is indeed a statement to take note of. The songs contain more riffs each one as, if not, more aggressive and sinister sounding than the last such can be found in "Come to life" and "White knuckles", two very brutal riffs if there ever was. And there are much more intricate melodic lines to keep the listener hooked with Tremonti paying homage to his blues influences and his rock influences, the likes of Eddie Van Halen and Zakk Wylde can be picked out especially on "Buried Alive" where Tremonti produces some Van Halen style whamming bar fills and on the album title track "Blackbird" where Tremonti ushers out some Wylde style solos but in every solo evident on the album Tremonti's own style of shred has a prominent role.

It is fair to say that Alter Bridge have kept with the sound that has served them so well and still play to their strong card of sing-along choruses and rock ballads "One by One" being the particular favourite, but not one fan should complain about any of the individual songs. However it would seem they have clearly subdued the urge to over use the clichéd soft - heavy song pattern that was so prominent during the first effort. Yet they still allow each song and the listener to have a breather and keep it interesting until it kicks off again.

Each individual member is also given their moment to shine and show how much they have improved over the years, most notable Mark Tremonti making full use of his shredding ability. However, it would be harsh not to mention the good work done by Scott Philips on drums as his patterns and ideas really do give each song a little extra in quality especially on "Coming home".

While the individuals have clearly been practising, one can also hear that as a group they are gelling more and more as each song contains at least one section of brilliant band dynamics, one might even go as far to say there are some prog influenced sections in various songs for example "Blackbird".

Perhaps inevitably though the latter part of the album does lack the same excitement, which was evident in the first half. With the latter songs sounding trite in sound and lacking the cutting edge ideas that was previously displayed to great effect.

All in all this is a very progressive album and certainly lives up to the standard set by One day remains. The band has clearly taken their writing to the next level and has produced some truly remarkable songs. All the while balancing their typical sound and integrating a developing heavier and aggressive one, which makes the album sound as if it is split between the old Alter Bridge and the new heavier Alter Bridge. Such a remark seems bizarre after two albums but given the significantly aggressive nature of some tracks it seems a fair point.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 September 2009
Having lived through Creed with some of the masterful tunes they produced Alterbridge took it a step further with "One Day Remains" and topped it off with "Blackbird". This is a musically clever album, a cut above the mediocrity that resides in the music industry at the moment. Having seen them live 3 times I can not understand why they rae not more widely recognised for their talent. Heartfelt songs, with a message and no swearing (Linkin Park please note...do you think they'll read these reviews?). Having bought this album 2 years ago I have never stopped playing it! In my books the track Blackbird is up with classics such as Stargazer, Freebird and Stairway!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 March 2008
Having enjoyed the "One Day Remains" album I bought their latest offering "Blackbird",and boy,am I glad I did!!!
This collection of 14 songs is simply outstanding and it's almost impossible to pick a favourite-they're all brilliant.
Miles Kennedy delivers soaring vocals,combined with Mark Tremonti churning out a blistering sonic attack on lead guitar-with plenty of Zakk Wylde style riffs and solos thrown into the mix-watch out Zakk-these guys are real good.
Any true rock fan will adore this album,and hopefully i'll get to see AB play live in concert sometime soon.
Excellence of this calibre is rare.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
For some reason, I'm reviewing Blackbird 4 years after having bought it and One Day Remains, and after having reviewed their brilliant third album Ab 3.5. There is good reason for reviewing it though - it is by some distance my favourite album ever. As you have no doubt been told a hundred times, Myles Kennedy has one of the greatest voices in the world, and Mark Tremonti is one of the greatest guitarists I have ever seen. It is rare, particularly nowadays, that every song on an album is impeccable - but Alter Bridge have achieved it three times, and when that happens you know you are listening to a great band. My personal favourite song on the album is Before Tomorrow Comes, and I know many people also love Watch Over You because it is such an emotional song. However, the title track is one of the best songs ever - it is seriously up there with the likes of Stairway to Heaven and Bohemian Rhapsody, and it is also worth noting that the guitar solo was recently voted the greatest ever by Guitarist magazine - it is a beautifully crafted song. Such is the greatness of this album that you would be hard pressed to find a song that is worthy of a rating below 9/10.
PS: check out Live from Amsterdam (Deluxe Edition With Bonus DVD) and Alter Bridge - Live at Wembley European Tour 2011 [Blu-ray & CD]. I have had the pleasure of seeing them live twice (including at the Wembley gig) and they are something to behold.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 17 November 2008
The second album from Alter Bridge had a very, very hard task... follow up 'One Day Remains'. How many bands falter and fail to even match their debut offering? These guys don't. Simple as that.

This may be more gritty than ODR but that don't mean they compromise the melody or quality of song. I'll admit it took 2 or 3 plays to appreciate some tracks, but that's because these guys have progressed.

Where as 'ODR' is instantly etched into your mind with its catchy choruses and odd meaty riff, this album grabs you by the throat with tracks 'Come To Life' and 'White Knuckles'; comforts you with 'Brand New Start' and 'Before Tomorrow Comes'; melts you with 'Watch Over You' and just simply catches your breath with 'Blackbird'.

Myles Kennedy's vocals are stunning. Make no mistake, Chris Cornell has a serious contender for that top spot, if he hasn't already been knocked off it! As for Mark Tremonti; he is playing out of his skin, and is developing into a legend!

I had the good fortune to watch them on this tour and they delivered in style. These guys are the real deal and surely the 'outside' world is going to catch on and deserved recognition is just a Led Zep tour away!!!!!

I honestly can't praise this band enough. In a day and age when good music, nay, great music is few and far between, we need bands like Alter Bridge.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 September 2008
This album along with their first I just can't stop listening to. Vocals, guitar riffs top notch. Composition of all the songs great - even the slower tracks are listenable to.
"Ties That Bind" is stunning.
"Blackbird" takes me back to the earlier days of heavy rock.
I could go on waxing lyrical on the greatness of this album but the easiest thing is to say if you like heavy rock with imaginative well composed tracks with incredible vocals and guitar work - go out, buy it and treasure it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 April 2010
Only just listened to this album after buying on a whim off the back of an Amazon recommendation.

Wow, all I can say is that this has gone right to the top of my list of the best albums of the century so far.

This album is awesome. So good in fact that it was actually a disappointment to go back and listen to One Day Remains; which should be judged on its own merits.

Alter Bridge go to the top of the class edging Black Stone Cherry.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 12 October 2007
This is an absolute stormer of an album by Alter Bridge....it has everything that 'One Day Remains' had (well, almost)....but it has more of a raw feel, it's more brash, purposeful and aggressive. This album proves for one thing that AB are no one-hit-wonders, even if one could possibly suggest that this might be a Mark Tremonti album for the most part, but the band work excellently together.

The opener, 'Ties That Bind' is an aggressive start and one noticeable difference is Mark Tremonti's guitar playing. He seems to be more involved in this album, and his riffs are heavier and reminiscent maybe of Zakk Wylde. The track starts slowly enough, but you just know something is bubbling beneath the surface. This is an all-out Metal track. Myles Kennedy is brilliant as usual. 10/10.

Track two, 'Come To Life' is also Metal, raw and unblemished, with Tremonti's piercing pinch-harmonics on his guitar playing, under obvious influence of Wylde and the late 'Dimebag' Darrell Abbott of Pantera. What AB manage to do is provide an aggressive riff and build a catchy chorus around it. Tremonti's soaring solo is brilliant. The twin guitaring between Tremonti and Kennedy work excellently. 10/10.

Track three, 'Brand New Start' starts softly enough, Kennedy crooning over drifting, dark (ish) guitars in the verses. The chorus is the pinnacle here, and is reminiscent somewhat of 'Open Your Eyes' off their 'One Day Remains' album. It's a very accomplished track. Tremonti's solo is excellent again, in the vein more of Slash (ex-Guns N' Roses/ Velvet Revolver) here. 9/10.

Track four, 'Buried Alive' starts off with Tremonti's wailing guitar as a super intro, before Kennedy comes in as Tremonti finds his Metal tone again with his pinch-harmonics. It's probably one of the weaker tracks on offer here, but the real treat of this outstanding album is found a little later on. 8/10.

Track five, 'Coming Home' is also a transition part on this album, as it isn't the strongest part of the album....however AB make up for this later on. This song is as low as this album gets really, but it's still quite good. 7.5/10.

The next track is a soaring anthem, and this is AB back to their best. The song is called 'Before Tomorrow Comes', and it's a future classic. It's a song that pushed them onto their pedestal as one of the most exciting hard rock/metal bands out there at the moment. The chorus is classic AB and Kennedy and Tremonti are the two standout musicians here...even if the other half of the band don't get the credit they probably deserve. 10/10.

Track seven is 'Rise Today', and AB's first release off 'Blackbird'. It's decent enough, but not as brilliant as the standard set at the beginning of the album itself. It's good and it's understandable why they released it. It's very good, at least on normal standards, but for AB's standards I feel there is better on this album in all honesty. 8/10.

Track eight is the album's centerpiece. The title track off the album, 'Blackbird', and it is a soaring anthem. No, excuse me. It is a soaring anthem and a half...unlike anything they have ever done in the past. It's eight minutes long, and Myles Kennedy is phenomenal on vocals, and Mark Tremonti is insane on lead guitar. The closest you will ever find to perfection in a hard rock track. It's almost like a heavier song that Skynyrd forgot, or even Led Zeppelin. It's Alter Bridge's 'Stairway to Heaven' as such, it is a true masterpiece, and already one of my favourite tracks....immense. Perfect. 10/10.

Track nine, 'One By One', sees Tremonti return to his Metal avenue, and AB are a Metal band here, at least. The chorus is simply stunning, it blows the rest of the song out of the water.....what can I say about this album that I haven't already....you really need it, especially if you are a fan of their debut. 9.5/10.

Track ten, 'Watch Over You' is a beautiful ballad. This sees AB become Led Zeppelin, with their tender ballad and soft guitaring. The words are heartfelt, and Kennedy sings them to perfection. This is a different AB, and it's a truly beautiful song. 10/10.

Track eleven, 'Break Me Down', begins and AB return to the more aggressive sound. Again, you don't have to be a psychic when I tell you that the chorus is the pinnacle of the song. Nothing out of the ordinary here, just simply great music and super vocals. 9/10.

Track twelve, 'White Knuckles' is probably AB at their heaviest throughout this album. It's a good sound, and Tremonti excels on the lead here. It's a singalong chorus here, as Kennedy sings 'hold on for your life'- because you're likely to be blown away from the sheer power of the album....as well as the collective brilliance of it. 10/10.

Track thirteen, the penultimate track, isn't all that heavy. Well, not in comparison with the rest of the stuff that's preceded it. It's called 'Wayward One'. It's good, but doesn't particularly stand out in all honesty. It has the feeling of a final track. However, there is one thing that makes it brilliant. Mark Tremonti- his guitar solo at the end is mindblowing. 9/10.

Track fourteen is heavy. Very heavy. I think it was meant as a bonus track, and it's called 'We Don't Care At All'. It's AB Metal as the crunching riffs are played both by Kennedy and Tremonti. It's not a particularly brilliant track, but it's still good stuff. 8/10.

Overall, it's a brilliant second album, and collectively doesn't have the originality of ODR ('One Day Remains'), but makes up for it with exploring heavier venues, its increased aggression, and Mark Tremonti's influence collectively. There is no 'second album syndrome' here- Alter Bridge pick up where they left off, and that can't be a bad thing. Probably the best album of 2007 so far. 9.5/10.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Fortress
Fortress by Alter Bridge (Audio CD - 2013)

AB 3.5
AB 3.5 by Alter Bridge (Audio CD - 2011)

Between The Devil & The Deep Blue Sea
Between The Devil & The Deep Blue Sea by Black Stone Cherry (Audio CD - 2011)
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.