Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up to a brilliant debut
Alter Bridge caught my attention after I heard about Creed's split, a band who I had never really valued, but recognised that there was a lot of potential in the sound they were making.

Alter Bridge's first album was a perfectly crafted, pure rock n roll gem, and this follow-up delivers more of the same soaring vocals, chugging riffs and widdly guitar work that...
Published on 20 April 2008 by Master J. M. Heyes

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars new or used ?
Usually when I buy new I expect packaging to show it's been sealed and not used. This came with none of this. This was for a gift
Published 5 months ago by Victoria T.


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up to a brilliant debut, 20 April 2008
By 
Master J. M. Heyes "Armstrong" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Alter Bridge caught my attention after I heard about Creed's split, a band who I had never really valued, but recognised that there was a lot of potential in the sound they were making.

Alter Bridge's first album was a perfectly crafted, pure rock n roll gem, and this follow-up delivers more of the same soaring vocals, chugging riffs and widdly guitar work that I so love.

Blackbird see's Kennedy pick up the guitar for the first time, and crikey can he play! A few video's on youtube proved to me that he is just as accomplished as Tremonti, if not in a slightly different style. Also lyrically this album is darker, almost bleak in places - "One by One" is an example of this. The riffs are much more "metal" than "One day remains" which, in my opinion, suits Alter Bridge far better.

However there are still the uplifting, singalong anthems such as "Before tomorrow comes" and "Rise Today", Alter Bridge's trademark. However, the real highlight of this album for me is "Watch over you", a down-tempo, goose-bumps rock ballad that is moving and exciting in equal parts - a different Alter Bridge, but one that I very much approve of.

Unfortunately, Alter Bridge set such high standards with their best songs that certain tracks on this album become highly skippable - "Wayward One" and "We don't care at all" are still good songs in themselves but seem unnecessary.

Still, this is overwhelmingly another brilliant musical work from the american rockers, delivering more of the same incredibly powerful and melodic yet brutal rock tunes.

Best Moment: Guitar solo on "Blackbird"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this much nowadays!, 25 April 2008
By 
J. Groom (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
In an age where mainstream 'hard rock' is dominated by uninspired bands like Nickelback and.... well Nickelback, and with Audioslave never living up to their potential, and seemingly a new bunch of emo kids crying through their eyeliner every month on MTV - this is a breath of fresh air!
I was maybe a little harsh before but bands like Nickelback are just so unexciting that to hear an album like this makes me glad I've still got long hair and like hearing someone playing his damn guitar like he means it!
Its basically unashamed heavy guitar rock with anthemic choruses, incendiary solos, crunching riffs, thunderous drums and a great set of Chris Cornell-esque vocals. Its energetic, sing-along music - great for driving or working-out.
Only four (I would say 4 and a half!)stars because it is a little one-dimensional and at 14 tracks is maybe a little too long without some more different sounding tracks. The first 8 or 9 or so are solid gold though! Highly recommended for fans of Audioslave, Soundgarden, early Queens of the Stone Age, Led Zep, Black Sabbath, Metallica, Corrosion of Conformity, the Sword etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful follow-up, 4 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
The world of proper music is not necessarily a strong one at the moment, the market is flooded with mediocre sub-par acts that stick around for a week or so before disappearing into obscurity (but not before releasing two or three autobiographies and making numerous television appearances). This is a dark time for music out of which rises the wonderful new effort by these guys, i was a fan of creed but with one day remains alter bridge truely blew me away, with blackbird they have done the same combining tremonti's stunning guitar-work with kennedy's stunning vocal range and ability creating a second suburb album. Marshall and Phillips give solid performances as usual and overall the album is very good form beginning to end. I think this aalbum is much more solid than one day remains in that it has quality throughout, for me one day remains had a few blow-away tracks but also had a few dodgy ones, blackbird however is hard to criticise in any way. I was hooked from the first listen and having only listened through a few times through clear favourites beginning to emerge are 'brand new start', 'before tomorrow comes' and 'rise today'. Fantastic album, it's just a shame that in this country it wont get the recognition it truely deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock in its finest form, 5 Oct. 2007
By 
Nathan Reese (Seattle, Wa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to come across Alter Bridges cd a few days prior to its release on October 9th. Let me quickly say that it is a tour de force. Their first cd One Day Remains was an outstanding album. The 3 former members of Creed(Mark Tremonti, Scott Phillips, Brian Marshall) picked up singer Miles Kennedy(of the Mayfield Four) and proceeded to create an album that reminded the world how rock should be played. Their second album is no disappointment.

Blackbird is one of those albums that inspires one not to just listen to the music, but to pick up an instrument yourself. A bit heavier than the first and full of outstanding guitar work by Tremonti Blackbird simply outshines their previous effort(which in no way diminishes the that album). Lyrically, vocally and musically this album stands as a beacon in the rock world. The guitar solo still lives and what a glorious thing it is.

Blackbird is one of those albums that rarely comes along. Its like Metallica's Black Album or U2's The Joshua Tree. It may never have that amount of success, but if the world was fair it would find its place among the greats. There have been good albums released this year. All pale in comparsion to this one.

Say what you will about the cookie cutter rock music found on every radio station and adored by 15 year old girls Fall Out Boy is just not the same. In an era where it is more important for labels to make a buck and so they throw the world copy after copy, Alter Bridge has come to stand firm above the rest. They may never reach the mainstream success of(their previous band)Creed, Nickelback, or Pearl Jam but their music far surpasses anything produced by the afore mentioned bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressive Album!, 9 Oct. 2007
By 
Dustin Gray "Dustin" (Chattanooga, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
I have always liked Creed, so when they split up I was pretty much devistated. Luckily for me Alter Bridge came along. The first CD was really awesome, I loved how it was much heavier and allowed the always great Mark Tremonti as well as his band mates Scott and Brian to play the way they were supposed to. The debut album was a good album, but I wasn't as into it as I would have hoped to be. The only thing was that I didn't have the respect for Myles yet. Don't get me wrong, I loved it, but with some albums you just get this really nice feeling when it's COMPLETELY awesome. When Alter Bridge went on tour I saw them in Chattanooga. I gained a new respect for every one of them. This CD reflects THEM more I think. The guitar riffs are INSANE, I love Mark's style. The drum beats are really awesome, Phillips is a great drummer.Brian Marshall really did a great job in this album too. I am really glad they got Myles as a singer, his voice is great, I actually like his better than Scott Stapp's. I could tell they really loved playing this music. This CD is really great, I think anyone could enjoy this if they enjoy good music. Some songs I really like is "Ties That Bind," "Come To Life," "Rise Today," "White Knuckles," "Blackbird," "Watch Over You"(which is a really sweet song, kind of has the feeling of "In Loving Memory"). Buy this CD, if you liked the first CD you will NOT regret it. This CD is a MUST buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Album, 12 Oct. 2007
By 
M. Tarboton "Matt" (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
I loved creed, was sad when they broke up... I love alter bridge even more.... There 1st album was awesome. This album is amazing....and the song blackbird is a work of art... it's like the mona lisa of music... This album is one of the best albums i've heard in years.... The last time i heard an album of this quality was origin of symmetry by muse...

The guitar solos are wow.....this album gives me shivers when i listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harder, Louder, it's Alter Bridge, 22 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Blackbird, Alter Bridge's second studio album and the follow up to One Day Remains, is another quality collection of Hard Rock, slightly harder than it's predecessor but musically stronger.
Lyrically, Myles Kennedy contributes more on this album, after all One Day Remains was written mostly before he joined.
The result is an accomplished rock album bursting with distorted guitar riffs, elegant choruses and brilliant solos, Alter Bridge have delivered a truly unique album.
It's a shame it appears to have sold less well then One Day Remains, that's tough on Alter Bridge because overall this is a much better album.
It's a less mainstream rock sound, but no-one can deny Alter Bridge have delivered a hard rock classic right here, no arguments.
Track Picks: "Watch Over You" and "Ties That Bind"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, highly recommend!, 31 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
When I first heard blackbird for the first time I was quite blown away with the tracks that were recorded onto the album including songs like "come to life" which had a heavy melodic style to it whilst also giving a grungy feel at the same time. Other heavy songs with a very good structure in them included "White Knuckles" and "Ties that bind" which were heavy but unique in there own way, "White Knuckles" was quite a fast track which had good drum and guitar patterns through the song. "Ties that bind" opened with a good guitar riff with a good build up to the chorus of the song.

Whilst blackbird had many fast and heavy tracks there were also quite slow melodic tracks like "Wayward One" which starts off slow and builds itself up to quite a loud powerful chorus then takes its way back to a nice slow verse with a nice smooth drum pattern, and good guitar riff, the vocals go well with song, it makes the song have more feeling and emotion. Another similar song to "Wayward One" is "Brand New Start". It has the similar drum pattern and vocals but it is very different in its own way. It also has the similar build up to the chorus with powerful vocals and very dynamic instruments. The band in my opinion have succeeded really well with recording this album because it shows how they can create such a different sound from there last album, also it also lets you feel how they can play such amazing solos and perform rock like ballads like "Blackbird".

I think alter bridge has brought out a very well written album, with some songs that leave you amazed and some songs you just want to listen to over and over, with the unique vocals of Myles Kennedy and the fantastic dynamics and sound of the instruments, this bands album is no question of a doubt one of the finest and unique sounding albums to hit shop shelves and if they continue to create wonderful sounding music like this they will continue to sell millions of copies around the world, if you have not listened to the album i highly recommend that you do so because it is a beautifully made album that needs to gain more and more reputation from around the globe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many days remain!, 4 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Again I'm late in reviewing this album even though I bought it when it was first released. And what an album it is! Heavier and darker than One Day Remains but no less enjoyable. Tremonti remains as kinetic and brilliant as always but is now augmented by Kennedy on rhythm and occasionally co-lead (the outro lead on the title track is Kennedy in an ode to a dead friend).
The riff work has a much harder edge to it this time, if it weren't for their commitment to keeping melody the driving force some people would no doubt call this metal. What it is though is heavy rock of the highest order; it may not be the happiest of lyrics, but the hooks and rhythms more than make up for that.
After a rumbling bass line and crunching riff open Ties That Bind things settle down into a, as previously mentioned, darker and heavier cadence than ODR until the utterly sublime Before Tomorrow Comes drags you straight into a melodic overload that would have held its own on the previous record and from there on in the whole album kicks it up a gear. The guys demonstrate a fantastic ability to write, both lyrically and musically, songs that seemingly plumb the depths of despair before rising on a crescendo of optimistic melody to leave you amazed, Rise Today being a stunning example. This being a winning formula, it's one they show no apology for reusing, nor should they. Finishing with the rebellious We Don't Care At All, a fantastic showcase for what they can do when having fun this is an album that will reward with multiple plays, stunning work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare breed, 27 Oct. 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
This builds on their worthy debut, adding a little more flavour and excitement as well as heavier riffs and more emphasis on tunes. To this end it starts far better than One Day Remains (don't get me wrong, 'Find The Real' was good but it could have been better) and 'Ties That Bind' stuns you straight out of the starting blocks. Cur-lassic. 'Come to life' is not as good but still holds its own and heavily goes about its business. 'Brand New Start' is equally as good but there is a trend to these tracks that whiffs of middling (if that makes any sense at all?!). This continues with 'Buried Alive'. These 3 tracks are actually all 3-4 star songs but are the least interesting on the album. From 'Coming Home' onwards their game is upped considerably. It's a little predictable but has a great chorus. 'Before Tomorrow Comes' is one of those power-ballad cheese monsters that you shouldn't really like but is just so catchy that you simply cannot help yourself. 'Rise Today' is less interesting but still is a very catchy track. The title track is an almost prog-rock behemoth. It is basically a ballad but it soars and lulls and has the most sublime, pre-climactic rhythm solo towards the end. 'One by One' is equally as stunning. As is 'Watch Over You' - they just can't stop making interesting ballads!

The last few before the tremendous ending are not as good, barely 3 star efforts if I'm truthful. It's not to say they are bad (there isn't a badly written or performed track here) but just not as stunning as many of the others. 'Wayward One' is as 'End is Here' was. Epic and with a thundering, gloomy chorus.

There are about 3 or 4 tracks that could have been shaved to make this into a classic, but as it stands it is merely very very good, which aint bad. Much better than their debut, which was in itself very good. The good thing is that they've forged their own identity apart from Creed and now feel like a proper band that could take on the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackbird
Blackbird by Alter Bridge (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews