Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up to a brilliant debut
Alter Bridge caught my attention after I heard about Creed's split, a band who I had never really valued, but recognised that there was a lot of potential in the sound they were making.

Alter Bridge's first album was a perfectly crafted, pure rock n roll gem, and this follow-up delivers more of the same soaring vocals, chugging riffs and widdly guitar work that...
Published on 20 April 2008 by Master J. M. Heyes

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars new or used ?
Usually when I buy new I expect packaging to show it's been sealed and not used. This came with none of this. This was for a gift
Published 24 days ago by Victoria T.


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up to a brilliant debut, 20 April 2008
By 
Master J. M. Heyes "Armstrong" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Alter Bridge caught my attention after I heard about Creed's split, a band who I had never really valued, but recognised that there was a lot of potential in the sound they were making.

Alter Bridge's first album was a perfectly crafted, pure rock n roll gem, and this follow-up delivers more of the same soaring vocals, chugging riffs and widdly guitar work that I so love.

Blackbird see's Kennedy pick up the guitar for the first time, and crikey can he play! A few video's on youtube proved to me that he is just as accomplished as Tremonti, if not in a slightly different style. Also lyrically this album is darker, almost bleak in places - "One by One" is an example of this. The riffs are much more "metal" than "One day remains" which, in my opinion, suits Alter Bridge far better.

However there are still the uplifting, singalong anthems such as "Before tomorrow comes" and "Rise Today", Alter Bridge's trademark. However, the real highlight of this album for me is "Watch over you", a down-tempo, goose-bumps rock ballad that is moving and exciting in equal parts - a different Alter Bridge, but one that I very much approve of.

Unfortunately, Alter Bridge set such high standards with their best songs that certain tracks on this album become highly skippable - "Wayward One" and "We don't care at all" are still good songs in themselves but seem unnecessary.

Still, this is overwhelmingly another brilliant musical work from the american rockers, delivering more of the same incredibly powerful and melodic yet brutal rock tunes.

Best Moment: Guitar solo on "Blackbird"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this much nowadays!, 25 April 2008
By 
J. Groom (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
In an age where mainstream 'hard rock' is dominated by uninspired bands like Nickelback and.... well Nickelback, and with Audioslave never living up to their potential, and seemingly a new bunch of emo kids crying through their eyeliner every month on MTV - this is a breath of fresh air!
I was maybe a little harsh before but bands like Nickelback are just so unexciting that to hear an album like this makes me glad I've still got long hair and like hearing someone playing his damn guitar like he means it!
Its basically unashamed heavy guitar rock with anthemic choruses, incendiary solos, crunching riffs, thunderous drums and a great set of Chris Cornell-esque vocals. Its energetic, sing-along music - great for driving or working-out.
Only four (I would say 4 and a half!)stars because it is a little one-dimensional and at 14 tracks is maybe a little too long without some more different sounding tracks. The first 8 or 9 or so are solid gold though! Highly recommended for fans of Audioslave, Soundgarden, early Queens of the Stone Age, Led Zep, Black Sabbath, Metallica, Corrosion of Conformity, the Sword etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful follow-up, 4 Nov 2007
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
The world of proper music is not necessarily a strong one at the moment, the market is flooded with mediocre sub-par acts that stick around for a week or so before disappearing into obscurity (but not before releasing two or three autobiographies and making numerous television appearances). This is a dark time for music out of which rises the wonderful new effort by these guys, i was a fan of creed but with one day remains alter bridge truely blew me away, with blackbird they have done the same combining tremonti's stunning guitar-work with kennedy's stunning vocal range and ability creating a second suburb album. Marshall and Phillips give solid performances as usual and overall the album is very good form beginning to end. I think this aalbum is much more solid than one day remains in that it has quality throughout, for me one day remains had a few blow-away tracks but also had a few dodgy ones, blackbird however is hard to criticise in any way. I was hooked from the first listen and having only listened through a few times through clear favourites beginning to emerge are 'brand new start', 'before tomorrow comes' and 'rise today'. Fantastic album, it's just a shame that in this country it wont get the recognition it truely deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock in its finest form, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Nathan Reese (Seattle, Wa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to come across Alter Bridges cd a few days prior to its release on October 9th. Let me quickly say that it is a tour de force. Their first cd One Day Remains was an outstanding album. The 3 former members of Creed(Mark Tremonti, Scott Phillips, Brian Marshall) picked up singer Miles Kennedy(of the Mayfield Four) and proceeded to create an album that reminded the world how rock should be played. Their second album is no disappointment.

Blackbird is one of those albums that inspires one not to just listen to the music, but to pick up an instrument yourself. A bit heavier than the first and full of outstanding guitar work by Tremonti Blackbird simply outshines their previous effort(which in no way diminishes the that album). Lyrically, vocally and musically this album stands as a beacon in the rock world. The guitar solo still lives and what a glorious thing it is.

Blackbird is one of those albums that rarely comes along. Its like Metallica's Black Album or U2's The Joshua Tree. It may never have that amount of success, but if the world was fair it would find its place among the greats. There have been good albums released this year. All pale in comparsion to this one.

Say what you will about the cookie cutter rock music found on every radio station and adored by 15 year old girls Fall Out Boy is just not the same. In an era where it is more important for labels to make a buck and so they throw the world copy after copy, Alter Bridge has come to stand firm above the rest. They may never reach the mainstream success of(their previous band)Creed, Nickelback, or Pearl Jam but their music far surpasses anything produced by the afore mentioned bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressive Album!, 9 Oct 2007
By 
Dustin Gray "Dustin" (Chattanooga, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
I have always liked Creed, so when they split up I was pretty much devistated. Luckily for me Alter Bridge came along. The first CD was really awesome, I loved how it was much heavier and allowed the always great Mark Tremonti as well as his band mates Scott and Brian to play the way they were supposed to. The debut album was a good album, but I wasn't as into it as I would have hoped to be. The only thing was that I didn't have the respect for Myles yet. Don't get me wrong, I loved it, but with some albums you just get this really nice feeling when it's COMPLETELY awesome. When Alter Bridge went on tour I saw them in Chattanooga. I gained a new respect for every one of them. This CD reflects THEM more I think. The guitar riffs are INSANE, I love Mark's style. The drum beats are really awesome, Phillips is a great drummer.Brian Marshall really did a great job in this album too. I am really glad they got Myles as a singer, his voice is great, I actually like his better than Scott Stapp's. I could tell they really loved playing this music. This CD is really great, I think anyone could enjoy this if they enjoy good music. Some songs I really like is "Ties That Bind," "Come To Life," "Rise Today," "White Knuckles," "Blackbird," "Watch Over You"(which is a really sweet song, kind of has the feeling of "In Loving Memory"). Buy this CD, if you liked the first CD you will NOT regret it. This CD is a MUST buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Album, 12 Oct 2007
By 
M. Tarboton "Matt" (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
I loved creed, was sad when they broke up... I love alter bridge even more.... There 1st album was awesome. This album is amazing....and the song blackbird is a work of art... it's like the mona lisa of music... This album is one of the best albums i've heard in years.... The last time i heard an album of this quality was origin of symmetry by muse...

The guitar solos are wow.....this album gives me shivers when i listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, just as good as One Day Remains, 12 Oct 2007
By 
G. McFarlane "gav_mcf" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Firstly I'd like to say that One Day Remains is probably my favourite album ever. I didn't think this one could quite live up to it, guess what - it does! This album had me hooked from start to finish and is truly amazing music.

The guitar playing couldn't be better and Tremonti surely fixes his place as one of the best after this. Myles Kennedy as well is a brilliant vocalist.

It's hard to review the songs because they're all so good, I can't praise them enough. Although if I had to chose I'd say my favourite songs are "Ties That Bind", "Before Tomorrow Comes", "Break Me Down" and the outstanding "Blackbird", amazing stuff. "Rise Today" is also really good and is probably the most commercial song on the album. All the others are great too.

If you don't know much about Alter Bridge I strongly recommend to try out their albums, you won't regret it. Forget rubbish like The Kooks, Kaiser Chiefs, Paulo Nutini and The Fratellis, they all sound the same! This is real music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have this album!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 Sep 2007
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
altough the album is not due for release until 8th Octover 07, I have heard from various websites 5 of the new tracks which sound absolutely awesome!!!!!!!
One Day Remains is undoubtably one of the best ever rock albums. Blackbird promises to be even better! On the Tracks I've heard (which are Rise Today, Ties That Bind, Brand New Start, Before Tomorrow Comes and Watch over You), Myles Kennedy is on outstanding form and Tremonti's guitars just get better.
The opening track will be Ties That Bind and what a track to start with!! the guitar intro is great, it starts of fairly mild but before you know it, it's in full swing.
Of the songs I've heard so far, Before Tomorrow Comes is my personal fav, which is more of ballad (a bit like broken wings).

Goes with saying that I cannot wait until 8/10/07. (and the tour in January)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harder, Louder, it's Alter Bridge, 22 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Blackbird, Alter Bridge's second studio album and the follow up to One Day Remains, is another quality collection of Hard Rock, slightly harder than it's predecessor but musically stronger.
Lyrically, Myles Kennedy contributes more on this album, after all One Day Remains was written mostly before he joined.
The result is an accomplished rock album bursting with distorted guitar riffs, elegant choruses and brilliant solos, Alter Bridge have delivered a truly unique album.
It's a shame it appears to have sold less well then One Day Remains, that's tough on Alter Bridge because overall this is a much better album.
It's a less mainstream rock sound, but no-one can deny Alter Bridge have delivered a hard rock classic right here, no arguments.
Track Picks: "Watch Over You" and "Ties That Bind"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album...here's a longish and formal review for it!, 10 Oct 2007
By 
D. Thorpe "Dave Lee" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blackbird (Audio CD)
Following the success of Alter Bridges debut Album "One day remains" was never going to be easy. Such was the critical acclaim of the aforementioned album that it had fans packing themselves into modest arenas. And although their first tour of the UK was a modicum of success, it was the second tour of the UK where the band gained such a high reputation for providing a thrilling live experience. So with the first effort being so well received could Blackbird re-produce that same quality and excitement or even better it.

Well appetites have been whet with the single "Rise today", a rock song that is typical of Alter Bridge as it epitomizes their trademark melodies and sing-along choruses. And there is still enough of the classic Alter Bridge sound that fans have accustomed to on Blackbird to keep them happy. Songs such as the previously mentioned "Rise today", "Brand new start" and "Before tomorrow comes" proving this. However the band has clearly taken a new aggressive approach in some of their writing. This has incorporated itself in a greater use of riffs and an altogether heavier sound.

The album starts off in a similar fashion to One day remains, with two hard rocking tracks that will have heads bobbing and arms thrusting in arenas with no trouble at all. Then, again like the first album, opts to slow down the momentum and what we're left with is "Brand new start" an up-lifting ballad, in the same vain that "Broken Wings" was.

One of the differences between the two albums is that the first, One day remains, was written largely before Tremonti and Co. appointed lead singer Myles Kennedy. Therefore this time round Alter Bridge have made full use in what has turned out to be a indispensable weapon in their song-writing approach. With Kennedy integrated as second guitarist it also adds much more harmony as it is utilized to good effect in riffs as well as providing backing for Tremonti's solos or visa versa. And Kennedy's influence is duly noted on tracks such as "Before tomorrow comes" and the beautifully melancholic "Watch over you", both of which are reminiscent of the Mayfield Four.

The song writing and the structures of the songs have improved no end and given the quality of the first album that is indeed a statement to take note of. The songs contain more riffs each one as, if not, more aggressive and sinister sounding than the last such can be found in "Come to life" and "White knuckles", two very brutal riffs if there ever was. And there are much more intricate melodic lines to keep the listener hooked with Tremonti paying homage to his blues influences and his rock influences, the likes of Eddie Van Halen and Zakk Wylde can be picked out especially on "Buried Alive" where Tremonti produces some Van Halen style whamming bar fills and on the album title track "Blackbird" where Tremonti ushers out some Wylde style solos but in every solo evident on the album Tremonti's own style of shred has a prominent role.

It is fair to say that Alter Bridge have kept with the sound that has served them so well and still play to their strong card of sing-along choruses and rock ballads "One by One" being the particular favourite, but not one fan should complain about any of the individual songs. However it would seem they have clearly subdued the urge to over use the clichéd soft - heavy song pattern that was so prominent during the first effort. Yet they still allow each song and the listener to have a breather and keep it interesting until it kicks off again.

Each individual member is also given their moment to shine and show how much they have improved over the years, most notable Mark Tremonti making full use of his shredding ability. However, it would be harsh not to mention the good work done by Scott Philips on drums as his patterns and ideas really do give each song a little extra in quality especially on "Coming home".

While the individuals have clearly been practising, one can also hear that as a group they are gelling more and more as each song contains at least one section of brilliant band dynamics, one might even go as far to say there are some prog influenced sections in various songs for example "Blackbird".

Perhaps inevitably though the latter part of the album does lack the same excitement, which was evident in the first half. With the latter songs sounding trite in sound and lacking the cutting edge ideas that was previously displayed to great effect.

All in all this is a very progressive album and certainly lives up to the standard set by One day remains. The band has clearly taken their writing to the next level and has produced some truly remarkable songs. All the while balancing their typical sound and integrating a developing heavier and aggressive one, which makes the album sound as if it is split between the old Alter Bridge and the new heavier Alter Bridge. Such a remark seems bizarre after two albums but given the significantly aggressive nature of some tracks it seems a fair point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackbird
Blackbird by Alter Bridge (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews