Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Two heads are better than one
Lets face facts, A pump this size isn't going to preform like a full size one and people that think that should go a design the pump of there dreams and then sell it to me. However, that said this pump does a good job.The pump fixing is like many in this price range rubbish but as most pumps are put in bags its very rarely a problem. This pump is really good if you have...
Published 18 months ago by S. Shuster

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Build quality not quite good enough...
Bought this early last year. Worked ok for first few usages, not the fastest pump in the world due to small barrel size (it takes alot of arm work to pump a tyre from flat!) but i figured it was fine as a portable pump to take on long rides incase of emergency. The handy bracket for fixing to your bike is easy to fit and very useful.

However, after only 3 or 4...
Published on 17 Jan. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Build quality not quite good enough..., 17 Jan. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
Bought this early last year. Worked ok for first few usages, not the fastest pump in the world due to small barrel size (it takes alot of arm work to pump a tyre from flat!) but i figured it was fine as a portable pump to take on long rides incase of emergency. The handy bracket for fixing to your bike is easy to fit and very useful.

However, after only 3 or 4 uses, the pump shaft began to feel loose in its attachement to the gauge housing. the screwswere slowly coming loose, and eventually the whole handle and shaft came free of the rest of the pump. I screwed it back in to no avail. It now lies dormant while i scour amazon for a better quality alternative....Shame as it seemed to work so well for the first couple months, and I cannot say i really put it though its paces!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Snapped in two!, 5 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
My girlfriend got this pump for me as a little gift as i was having trouble with my old pump.

I had used it a few times which I found quite hard to use as the pump is so tiny and hard to hold with big hands, I kept trapping my skin in the pump as i was pumping the tyres up.

It's gauge is fantastic but sadly i cannot seem to pump over 80PSI even though my tires have a max of 120 and the gauge shows the pump does as well. now perhaps I lack the physical strength to accomplish this i do not know

Now my biggest disappointment with the pump would be on my way home a few days ago I had a flat so I swapped out my tyre for a new innertube and started pumping and as I was get close to my seemingly limit of 80psi the pump snapped in two whilst snapping off my valve on the new innertube as my hands flew into the air..

I then had to walk home for 4 miles with bike....

Poor design in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to pump, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
It's very hard to pump more than 3 bar, because you need a lot of force to pull the grip back. That difficult with this small pump, which you can't grip well. The shaft was loose after only 3 uses. The gauge isn't working properly. There are much better pumps available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
I bought this pump for a future roadside emergency but now Ive got it im sure i will never use it, and here's why... there are 2 valve openings on the pump that you connect directly to your Tyre valve, but without a Bike Pump Adapter its almost impossible to keep it connected to the wheel and pump it at the same time, i tried connecting my Bike Pump Adapter but even that was a nightmare, it just kept falling off, there should be something proper to screw a Bike Pump Adapter to but there just isn't, also the gauge does not work at all, so all in all it's pretty useless really, looks nice on the bike though, but i would NOT recommend this product to anyone.

I ended up investing in some Slime inner tubes instead, there only a few quid more than normal inner tubes and well worth every penny, if a nail or anything sharp goes through the Tyre and in to the inner tube, you simply pull it out and away you go, the inner tubes seal themselves automatically so no need for a pump, i bought Halfords own make for about £7 each, there amazing, just wish i had bought them before i bought this thing, which is now sitting in the cupboard gathering dust BTW!

Shame on Amazon for allowing this tat on the site, absolutly terrible :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good enough pump but..., 29 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
Nice looking pump but would be better if it performed as well as it looks, the gauge on it doesnt work (to be fair i didnt return it because its not that important but would of been nice if it had, i even had a go at re-assembling the gauge unit but still didnt work)
The pump itself worked good enough for a mini pump, it connects directly to the tyre adapter and has both adapter sockets for mountain and racing bikes.
The bracket is ok but as its designed to go underneath a bottle holder it does poke out at the side and can be kicked off. Good for touring but not so good for off road when your most of your attention span isnt on 'is the pump still there?' but rather 'hold on! steep hill dont fall off!'
Overall;
Pros: nice little pump, works with little effort and connects to tyre adapter nicely.
Cons: Dodgy pressure gauge, holding bracket should come with other connecting adapters not just one for behind the bottle bracket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two heads are better than one, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
S. Shuster (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
Lets face facts, A pump this size isn't going to preform like a full size one and people that think that should go a design the pump of there dreams and then sell it to me. However, that said this pump does a good job.The pump fixing is like many in this price range rubbish but as most pumps are put in bags its very rarely a problem. This pump is really good if you have just found out that the inner tube you have bought has a different head to the other one. This is likely to be at a moment when you are on the side of the road on a country lane in winter so don't want to be fiddling with your pump to get the right valve on and working. This will be very true for mountain bike and hybrid owners. Easily fits on valve, pumps easily. All you could want really, well apart from the fixing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nice design, flawed construction, 5 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
I have to agree with some of the other reviewers. The pump looks nice and is very compact and actually pumps a lot of air for its size.

However, after just a few uses, the head snaps off its thread while pumping at pressure (even as low at 30 PSI), making it unusable. You can screw it back on and try to hold it firm in your hand, but it usually comes off again within a couple of uses.

The other flaw is that the head is just to small to fit an adult had. This means that it's easy to pinch your hand while pumping.

Needless to say, am looking for a replacement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Totally useless, 20 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
Simply put this is a terrible piece of equipment. No good for road bikes at all, it won't pump even close to the required pressures, doesn't attach sufficiently as the pump literally gets blown off when the pressure gets above 70. Even more frustrating is that when you get to a useable pressure and attaches to the valve (around 75psi) the release does not release the valve until its let out a substantial jet of air. I got this to deal with punctures on the road, thinking about it, it's probably easier to go home on flat tyres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for children's bicycle, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
Bought this for my 5 year old daughter's bike, and it's fine. A little fiddly getting on the valve due to small wheel size, but pumps up from flat in no time (~30 secs). Not sure that the gauge is accurate at these low pressures, it was saying only ~23psi when the tyres were very hard. Don't know how good this would be for adult bikes as I haven't tried, but it's certainly a big improvement on the old fashioned cheap plastic pump we used to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little but does the job, 20 May 2011
By 
Tim Melville (Chepstow, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic (Sports)
I have to confess whern I opened this pump I thought this is really small so can't possibly do the job. However i was wrong. The connector to various valve sizes fits excellently with out letting air out. The gauge is not so useful as you really need to feel the tyre to see if it is the right pressure. Being small is a real asset so it takes up little room on the bike and you don't get tangled up in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beto Double Head Pump - Metallic
£9.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews