Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to be seen by
There are two types of front light. Ones to be seen by, and ones to see by, The Polaris 5 LED is the former, in fact one of the better ones. Its not so hot to see by on unlit roads, but is excellent to bring you to the attention of oncomming vehicles.

The light is easily detachable, and is small and light. Useful as a small torch too.
Published on 2 Sep 2007 by Lorian

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Light, bad designing
***.

I agree totally that the actual light is brilliant, even along country paths.

The bracket on the other hand, isnt as good. I would have thought with such a good light that the bracket would be just as good, but no. After 2 weeks of using it daily (not taking the actual bracket off) the bracket adjuster snapped off, I didnt have it too tight or...
Published on 20 Feb 2008 by M. J. WRIGHT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Light, bad designing, 20 Feb 2008
By 
M. J. WRIGHT "Merv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
***.

I agree totally that the actual light is brilliant, even along country paths.

The bracket on the other hand, isnt as good. I would have thought with such a good light that the bracket would be just as good, but no. After 2 weeks of using it daily (not taking the actual bracket off) the bracket adjuster snapped off, I didnt have it too tight or anything like that, It started coming loose so i went to adjust it. The actual bit where the light clips on to is just as good as the light, just the adjuster is a product of bad design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to be seen by, 2 Sep 2007
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
There are two types of front light. Ones to be seen by, and ones to see by, The Polaris 5 LED is the former, in fact one of the better ones. Its not so hot to see by on unlit roads, but is excellent to bring you to the attention of oncomming vehicles.

The light is easily detachable, and is small and light. Useful as a small torch too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great light - rubbish bracket, 27 Feb 2008
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
The light is bright and lasts for a long long time on rechargeable AA batteries, one of the best I've had, but after not too long the bracket snapped. (not the light clip which is strong, nor the tightening mechanism which is good, but the weak ratchet clip that the tongue feeds into). The local cycle shops don't stock it any more. now I just have a spare torch. Whoever makes these, get a website! and start selling spare clips! (with next day delivery)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great portable light, 30 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
I've had this light for a long while now and so far haven't had any problems with the bracket as mentioned by some other reviewers.

The light is powerful and lasts a long time on the batteries although it is better being seen by than for seeing with due partly to the slightly odd pattern of the light it emits.

It detaches from the bracket easily and is great as a handy torch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice light, shame about the bracket., 16 May 2009
By 
mark13 (sheffield,uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
This light emits a bright beam and runs for a decent time off two AA batteries. Sadly its let down by a poor bracket design which just doesn't hold the light securely enough, coming loose over bumps in the road. Tried all sorts of adjustments but gave up in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bike light, 7 Aug 2009
By 
C. E. Holme "Cherry" (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
Excellent beam strength, flashing mode reflects cleary for long distance, easy to operate, just press top rubber button once or twice. Struggled a bit with 'easy fastenineg' but once on, light is excellent. One thing have noticed though, because it is quite a large light, it is a little top heavy and therefore bounces a bit when going over bumpy ground and the straight beam shakes a little due to this. perhaps I need to change the angle on the handlebars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Light, 16 Jan 2008
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
This is the best 'to be seen by' light on the market. Very bright with little to no difference in light output between a full charged battery and a 1/4 full one. Light off road is do-able but not preferred. At night on the Thames tow path it was enough to get me home but was none the less quite a hairy experience! Ultimately though stop looking and buy. You won't find better in this price bracket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now., 5 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
This is a superb light ( I have bought 3, I own 2 bikes ), the unit is solid and light. It has 2 modes ( flash and steady )both can be seen from some distance. I have even used it ( x 2 ) for some gentle off road riding . Battery life is also superb, dont hesitiate in buying , it wont let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Polaris Needs to Sell Spares, 10 Dec 2013
By 
A. Hallatt (Lyttelton, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
My light has failed after a couple of years. The bulb is flickering dimly and I would like to replace it, but the unilt seems to be sealed. I looked for Polaris online, but there is no website and no way of getting replacement parts. That basically turns what could still be a great light into disposable trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Polaris 5 LED Front Light, 14 May 2010
By 
Alexander Hauer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light (Misc.)
Initially wrong item was sent. Returned the item and the 2nd class postage was refunded and the correct item was shipped 2nd class.

Would have liked if the replacement was sent first class post as I already waited some time for the item to arrive, but understand that due to the low prices they quote this did not happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smart Polaris 5 Function LED Front Light
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews