Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT A LOT
Now that's more like it. It's the late '60s and Elvis gets hip.

I loved this film. Totally entertaining with a trendy Elvis as a professional photographer hilariously trying to run two jobs at once as he gets entangled with a 'confused' girl.

Now as you would expect from an Elvis movie, there are plenty of girls, a few songs, and a couple of...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by tommyboo

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Most boring film ever.
The most boring film ever made. You must have to he a really ardent Elvis fan to like this. Nearly fell asleep half way through.
Published 5 months ago by checkout girl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT A LOT, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now that's more like it. It's the late '60s and Elvis gets hip.

I loved this film. Totally entertaining with a trendy Elvis as a professional photographer hilariously trying to run two jobs at once as he gets entangled with a 'confused' girl.

Now as you would expect from an Elvis movie, there are plenty of girls, a few songs, and a couple of fights. But that's where the similarities with his other movies end. It is a comedy but with mature undertones for once. He is also enjoying the script for a change and this is very evident throughout the film. Naturally, this results in a better movie and I guarantee you've not seen Elvis like this before. In a few scenes he even looks like James Bond, especially in the segment where he sings A LITTLE LESS CONVERSATION.

Did you know that:

- Elvis's father Vernon Presley plays a cameo role. See if you can spot him.
- Elvis talks about a computer, although they were a long way from becoming commonly available.
- Rudy Vallee and Dick Sargent, both popular figures at the time, also starr in this movie.
- Many of Elvis' actual bodyguard friends also have small roles. How many can you identify?
- Elvis performs a psychedelic scene for the first time to the pseudo-acid song EDGE OF REALITY.
- It is said that the dog featured in the movie was Elvis' actual dog, Brutus.
- Of all the 33 movies he made, this is the only one in which he somewhat shares a bed with a girl - a daring act for a Presley movie. Goodness, whatever next!

In summary, this is a brilliant movie, with an Elvis you've never seen before. The acting, singing, script and film setting, are great. Also, he really never looked better. And although it was commercially unsuccessful in 1968, this is a movie that will please all viewers and make you see Elvis in a different light. A much much better light.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arghh! It's the 60s!, 27 April 2009
This review is from: Live a Little, Love a Little (Dutch import) (DVD)
After too many lacklustre wimpy films, it seems Elvis suddenly realised that the sixties were swinging - and had nearly swung altogether as this film's from late in the decade. Nevertheless this is Elvis's attempt at Psych and kookiness, and is a brilliant failure. The songs are great, the plot...welll there isn't one really. Elvis is a David Bailey style photographer, trying to hold down two jobs at once, cue lots of comic dashing about. But he looks super cool and this time's he's in on the joke too. The film is one of Elvis's least known, but is certainly the most fun. A Little Less Conversation is the best known track but keep watching for The Edge of Reality and Almost in Love too - this was where Elvis started to get his groove back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live a Little, Love a Little (Dutch import) (DVD)
A good film, even though the script is not great (like most of his films). He looked as great as ever and seemed to enjoy making this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Most boring film ever., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live a Little, Love a Little (Dutch import) (DVD)
The most boring film ever made. You must have to he a really ardent Elvis fan to like this. Nearly fell asleep half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live a Little, Love a Little (Dutch import) (DVD)
Enjoyed every minute of it as a big Elvis fan myself, and a collector of all his films this was fab!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slghtly rare, but none-the-less well worthy addition to the Elvis movies library., 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live a Little, Love a Little (Dutch import) (DVD)
I found this product fully met my expectations. Bright, colourful, blemish free picture. Good good sound, albeit mono. Most satisfactory, thank you. And delivery was ahead of schedule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIVE A LITTLE LOVE A LITTLE, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Goods arrived promptly, unable to comment on the DVD itself though, as it was bought for someone else for Xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIVE A LITTLE LIKE A HELL OF ALOT, 30 Aug 2012
THIS IS PROBABLY ELVIS' LEAST KNOWN FILM AS IT HAD A LIMITED RELEASE AT THE TIME AND WASN'T EVEN RELEASED IN THE UK.THIS FILM SHOWS ELVIS TO BE A FINE COMIC ACTOR WITH PERFECT TIMING, AND A WIDE RANGE OF VERY AMUSING FACIAL EXPRESSIONS AS HE FINDS HIS WORLD TURNED UPSIDE DOWN BY THE VERY SEXY AND KINKY GIRL(MICHELLE CAREY).THIS FILM DOESN'T DRAG AT ALL BECAUSE EVERYONE IN IT PLAYS THEIR PARTS SO WELL.I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS FILM TO BUY AS IT HAS APPEAL TO PEOPLE WHO ARE NOT ELVIS FANS AND FOR SOMEONE LIKE ME WHO IS A FAN IT IS IN MY TOP 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live a Little, Love a Little, 6 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Live a Little, Love a Little (Dutch import) (DVD)
Live a Little, Love a Little [Region 2] [import] Getting close to completing my collection. Will have to test this DVD as it is classed as an import even though it says (Region 2). My main DVD player to television colour but no sound (rats), tried on my Desktop DVD no colour but sound (double rats), tried on the last usable item my blu-ray laptop DVD both colour and sound (hoorah), the only thing I can put this down to is that it is an Import. Decisions are being made for me. Delivery excellent as usual, price fantastic, reproduction great. Double checked this item to ensure it was not just a hiccup, same result, wanted to watch all night, but my laptop is loud and it was late at night in a bedroom, I only live in a semi-detached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Love Elvis but not this film .............., 16 Jun 2011
brought this film because of the raving reviews on Amazon - sadly disappointed, not an Elvis film I'd rewatch, which is saying something - because I'm such a fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live a Little, Love a Little (Dutch import)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews