Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storming Hitsville U,S.A ,Motown at its' very best, 2 Nov 2007
By 
Lynne Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
This CD should suit the real Motown fans and Northern Soul fans alike.
This is well researched and as some tracks on it that have been heard from time to time on the Soul scene and others that are completely fresh to our ears.
All the tracks are rare and unreleased , why it's hard to fathom perhaps to much competition at the recording studios and a hard quality control.
Forty years on and we reminded how excellent the early Motown sound was.
This is Must buy for every fan , Thanks to Paul Nixon and the Universal Team.
I cannot wait for Volume Four to come out, there are still more tracks to be found.
Mick Payne Northern Soul DJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More power to the Cellarfuls!, 1 Feb 2008
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
I recently heard Mark Lamarr (on his mind-blowing Alternative Sixties show) play four tracks in a row from this newest edition of A Cellarful Of Motown! and then comment that he thought there had been a massive drop in quality since the first two volumes. Just in case the compiler Paul Nixon was listening and felt disheartened enough to want to throw in the towel on the fourth volume he was preparing, I must hasten to disagree.

When A Cellarful Of Motown! first appeared in 2002 the general consensus was that it was astonishing that so many tracks of such amazing quality could have remained in the vaults for so many years. In the intervening years a great deal of archive Motown material has been unearthed and released for the first time, and the huge scale of what gems still await to be discovered has become apparent. Therefore, having raised the bar with the newly rescued releases so far, there is now a higher expectation that each fresh discovery will be of unsurpassable genius.

Amazingly, quite a few get fairly close to that. I spent another couple of hours replaying the set today, afraid that I had been listening through rose-tinted headphones, and only found I enjoyed all the tracks more than before, as they became more familiar.

A real effort has been made to cater for all kinds of Motown fans, be it particular producers and writers, Northern Soul, re-interpretations of Motown standards or girl group sounds, and although a preference for the period 1965-1966 is conceded, there are recordings from as early 1963 and as late as 1970, plus a one-off from 1984, the latter being a return to the label by the Four Tops, enjoying a pastiche of their sixties style as recreated by Deke Richards. The earliest track is by Marvin Gaye, recorded shortly before he cracked the charts with Pride And Joy and clear evidence of his vocal dexterity. Other big names get a look-in (The Temptations, The Miracles, Stevie Wonder), but it is those who were on lower rungs of the ladder and didn't get the promotional push that are most celebrated here: the fabulous Marvelettes (three wonderful tracks), Brenda Holloway, the Contours, Gladys Knight and the Pips, the Spinners, Chris Clark, Carolyn Crawford, Shorty Long and many others. How frustrating it must have been to have put their all into a performance on a song they believed in, only to have the results stashed away unheard on a tape shelf.

I should mention the very helpful booklet annotations which give all available details about recording dates and assignments to other artists of the same song or band track as well as personal comments from the compiler.

Everyone will find their own personal favourites on here. For Mark Lamarr it was the Contours, the Originals, Dennis Edwards and Yvonne Fair. For me it is Brenda Holloway, Junior Walker, Stevie Wonder and the Marvelettes. At least it is today; but next time I play the set, qualities hidden deep in the grooves of perhaps the Carolyn Crawford or Ivy Jo Hunter tunes may hold sway. They are all new to my ears, and that is their joy. More power to Cellarfuls of Motown!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CELLARFUL OF TREASURES, 11 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
To have a third double-CD set, at a bargain price, of some great previously unreleased Motown tracks, is something all Motown fans will celebrate. As before, the focus is on the sixties uptempo recordings (although there is a very late 4 Tops track which will knock your socks off). As an introduction to Motown's less famous artists, you could do no better than invest in this sensational set. A vast range of Motown talent is here, from blue-eyed soul gems, to stomping strings-led instrumentals. Why some of the singers never became household names is a matter for debate, but on the evidence of tracks by the Contours, the pre-Philly Spinners, Shorty Long and the unbeatable Yvonne Fair, EVERYONE at Motown was a star performer. Grab one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motown at it's best, 5 Aug 2008
By 
P. Ridley-thomas "paul ridley-thomas" (essex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
This CD is wonderful , if you have got as far as even looking at it you are probably hooked on this sound anyway,all these tracks that have lain in a vault for years, how many more can there be out there? How frustrating it must have been for the artists to know that they had sung whatever song, but for it to be left shelved for so long.
I think one of the best tracks on this collection is 'Little girls grow up' by the Marvelettes, perfect girl group song.
There are one or two horrors on this Cd but you will know them when you hear them, however the mass content is wonderful stomping Motown .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wasted, 1 May 2008
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
As the 60s moved on and TM moved to the West Coast and began issuing some total crap starting with the Jackson 5 and ending with the overblown and grossly overrated Diana Ross and abominations by Marvin Gaye they were miles away from how they'd begun.Which was in Uptown Soul.
Marvin Gaye is not to my taste-maybe he once made good stuff in the early 60s but to put out an album to pay for a divorce is sheer contempt
Meanwhile all this good stuff languished in the vaults yet much of it could have hit at the time without needing the excuse of Northern Soul to reinforce it.
After all Northern Soul is not an American kind of music but peculiar to the U K.and the name was coined in this country with the 70s becoming its sort of Golden Age but then it had developed from Mod origins into the delibrate courting of unknowns whose discs were bringing silly money while the original artist was working in the car wash! A kind of "black exploitation" in itself!!
A lot of careers were stillborn here because of this absurd policy of Quality Control which made T M as bad as any corporate
Debbie Dean for instance should have been the next Jackie de Shannon-in a previous incarnation she was Debbie Stevens who was a Hot Boppin' Girl.
Which is how you could describe Little Lisa who I believe was about 9 years old.
Motown were never known to be copying the British Invasion in spite of the Supremes album but they had a go signing up a group called the Underdogs and another by one Mike Varo called Watch your step-which is a different song to the one Bobby Parker did-but unfortunately for the artist he's no longer around to see the track now released.This could have been a new direction for T M who around this time seemed interested in signing Tom Jones
So in 6 CDs there's a mighty lot of unheard music which would take a week or two to digest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
I really can't add much to what has already been written.
The love of 'The Motown Sound' never leaves you, and this release just feeds it further! The quality is excellent, and I like like most others cannot understand for the life of me why these were not released before. I feel Motown could have doubled, trebled or quadrupled their number of hits if they had released some of these the first time around. It's unbelievable that Brenda Holloway, Chris Clark and Barbara McNair are not as well known as they should be. I love that some of Motown's songs were recorded by other artists on the label, Paul Petersen's softer version of 'Farewell is a lonely sound' is wonderful. Another superb release in what is a great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cellarful of Motown Vol 3, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
as you can no doubt see i throughly enjoy the music from motown and buy a considrable amount of there music from the very very best they had to offer why don you start to also its fantasic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
Great songs on this album , this is a must have for any Motown / Northern Soul fan. Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Cellarfull of Motown Vol. 3, 19 Oct 2013
By 
James "I'm a retired security guard. I enjoy ... (MARYPORT, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
Bought it to complete my collection of Cellarfull of Motown albums. Not as good as the other three releases in the series, hence the four stars, but still worth buying for another set of previously unreleased tracks from the Motown vaults. I'd recommend it to all those who, like me, bought the other collections in the series, if only for the sake of owning the complete series. If there are to be other releases in this series I hope they'll come up to the standard of volumes 1 : 2 and 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rare moments, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 (Audio CD)
this is a lovely inclusion into your music library and will give you the chance to listen to missed moments in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3
A Cellarful of Motown Vol.3 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews