Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite childhood film
this is a heartwarming film about an orphan girl and a dog charlie who is sent back from heaven to do a good deed.
now when i was young and living in a world where it was perfectly normal for little girls to talk to dogs that run bars this was the only film i would watch repeatedly and even now at the age of 16 this film can do no wrong.
This is one of those...
Published on 18 Aug 2003 by kirsty

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a misfire but not half as good as it should have been
Breaking out of the City Pound, roguish German Shepherd Charlie B. Barkin finds himself double-crossed by his shady partner Carface Malone and knocking at the Pearly Gates without a good deed to his name. Demanding a second chance, he steals his heavenly watch and returns to earth where he soon discovers the secret of Carface's gambling success - a little girl who can...
Published on 16 Jun 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars top film and top service, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
what can you say about this film.....my kids who are now in the late teen range have fond memories of this classic film. Good voices and with a strong story and excellent animation means that with the voices of Burt Reynalds and co this really is as good today as it was 20 + years ago...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
Classic film about a badbdog going to heaven and being sent back to right his wrongs. great for kids and parents to enjoy together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely DVD, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my daughter and she loves this movie, its such a nice story, enjoyed by all the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 5 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a christmas present for my niece so I haven't watched it yet. Packaging was excellent and arrived in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heavenly dags, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
got this dvd today i just know i am going to love watching it with the kids i loved it when i was younger and i know the kids will love i too. the delivery was within it's time no hassle a all. Would recommand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a misfire but not half as good as it should have been, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
Breaking out of the City Pound, roguish German Shepherd Charlie B. Barkin finds himself double-crossed by his shady partner Carface Malone and knocking at the Pearly Gates without a good deed to his name. Demanding a second chance, he steals his heavenly watch and returns to earth where he soon discovers the secret of Carface's gambling success - a little girl who can talk to animals and get race results direct from the horse's mouth! Smelling a fast buck, Charlie 'rescues' her only to find his hitherto unsuspected good nature getting the better of him, with a series of fiendish schemes, close scrapes and unexpected adventures leading him to a life and death decision...

"When you have plot, good characters and actors, and fine animators, all these things are the makings of real magic," claimed Don Bluth at the time of the film's release. Well, not quite. As an animator, with his fluid, classic style and shimmering use of light at a time when Disney animation was stuck firmly in the doldrums, Don Bluth had no peers, but, the honorable exception of The Secret of NIMH aside, as a storyteller he was still back in the stone age. All Dogs has a premise - a very promising, if predictable one - but the plotting is all over the place. Veering off in all directions, seemingly for no better reason than self-indulgence, without a strongly developed storyline his undoubted visual talent quickly loses impact and cohesion.

Sequences like an ill-judged laser gun shoot-out are abrupt and fragmented and completely out of keeping with the mood of the piece, as if straying in from another, lesser film. The musical numbers are for the most part irrelevant, neither advancing the plot or enlightening the audience, and just as chaotic, not only because of Burt Reynolds and Dom De Luise's lack of vocal range (they seem to give up half-way). They seem badly mistimed and suffer from Bluth's occasional tendency to swamp the borders of the frame with gaudy colour. Crucial scenes, such as Charley's escape from Heaven, are similarly rushed out of much of their significance or value. Bluth really needs to hold back and take his time, but seems to lack the confidence to do so.

The character design is the film's only real unqualified triumph. Charlie is probably the best cartoon canine since Tramp, while Ann-Marie is one of the few successfully animated human characters in memory; and King Gator, the Esther Williams fixated ruler of the sewers who supplies the film with its most successful musical number ('Let's Make Music Together') is an absurd enough scene-stealer to make you overlook the fact that there's actually no good reason for him to be in the film at all.

With the exception of much of An American Tail, Bluth's animation was far superior to the work Disney were doing at the time. Yet with their understanding of classic narrative structure, even the more disappointing Disney animated features of the day worked much more effectively. Here is direction is often adventurous and anarchic - note how his chase scenes move from right-to-left, rather than the standard left-to-right - but lacks the discipline that the magical Secret of NIMH showed him capable of.

Yet despite everything, All Dogs is often fun, and the finale is genuinely touching. If you can overlook what this should have been and accept what it is - beautifully animated, warm-hearted family entertainment with a story that's all over the place - you won't be too disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will have you crying and laghing at the same time!, 13 Jun 2008
By 
Oscar Jordan Batista "crazy oskie" (PÍra, Algarve, PORTUGAL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
This film is just great. I loved it ever since I was little, and I still watch it like it was going out of fashion. The film combines a comedy story and a sad heart-warming story at the same time. When a child first watches it an adult should be there seeing as show such topics as death, but after the first viewing it will be ok. To all adults who buy this film, you better get a jumbo pack of tissues(you will need them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 6 July 2008
By 
Tea Tango (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
From the people who brought you An American Tail and The Land Before Time. ALL DOGS GO TO HEAVEN is the story of Charlie (Burt Reynolds), a German Sheppard, who escapes from the dog pound and is murdered by his gangster (Carface) friend. but instead of going to heaven he jumps ship and returns to earth to take revenge. On his return he frees a young orphan girl, Anne-Marie, who Carface was holding captive because of her ability to talk to and understand animals. Who soon grows on Charlie, making him change his ways and helps him get back into heaven.
There is a sequel but the cast has been completely changed, as Judith Barsi the girl who played Anne-Marie was murdered by her father during production.
Its a wonderful story and uses old school animation (which was state of the art back then!). The songs were nothing short of heart warming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ABP 9006, 6 Dec 2005
By 
This review is from: All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] (DVD)
This 2005 edition is cheap for a reason: it is a single track, bare bones version.
I am tracking down code 4119 issued in 2002, which has extras.
This one plays fine, but watching without the ability to stop / pick up again at a specific track is a pain in the neck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***brillent for all the family***, 8 Mar 2002
By A Customer
I saw this as a kid and the memories have satyed with me, the story line remains breath takeing and retains high moral value. The songs are rememberal and have that join-along, toe-tapping quality. True the animation is not remarkable but its simplplicaty works in its favour. One for all the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD]
All Dogs Go To Heaven [DVD] by Dan Kuenster (DVD - 2008)
£4.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews