Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tiny bit cheesy, but nowhere near as bad as other reviews suggest
After reading numerous reviews on Amazon claiming that this film was dire, I was expecting something truly ghastly. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I actually watched it.
Apart from a little bit of cheesy acting, some slightly shallow characters, and a few predictable lines, this film wasn't that bad at all.
Agreed, it isn't a hollywood blockbuster, nor...
Published on 18 Jan. 2008 by Rickvanman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Film
I purchased this file from Amazon some time ago after seeing it advertised in various places; I am generally a lover of disaster movies, especially if they have a realistic vein running through them.
However, I am watching this film on TV this evening (4/5/08) and there is a lot more detail in the movie showing tonight than there is in the video I purchased - so much...
Published on 4 May 2008 by Sam


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tiny bit cheesy, but nowhere near as bad as other reviews suggest, 18 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Flood [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
After reading numerous reviews on Amazon claiming that this film was dire, I was expecting something truly ghastly. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I actually watched it.
Apart from a little bit of cheesy acting, some slightly shallow characters, and a few predictable lines, this film wasn't that bad at all.
Agreed, it isn't a hollywood blockbuster, nor did it have a Hollywood budget. Agreed, the CGI effects did not compare to the big budget movies like the day after tomorrow, but on the whole, this movie still retained my interest throughout, and its' entertainment value remains high. I would compare its' quality and feel to that of a high-budget mini TV series. Definately worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but . . ., 18 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Flood [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
. . . not a patch on the book. But then it couldn't be: the book is long and has a large number of sub-plots that could not possibly be covered in a two-hour film. If the book were to be dramatised it would probably have worked best as a mini-series. The film works quite well if you have have no expectations from the book or if you can put any such expectations aside, and the blurb on the back warned me that that was what I should do. So I did, and quite enjoyed the film for what it is: an old-fashioned disaster-movie. The effects are the real star here: no-one ever went to a disaster-movie for the acting, and to moan about the film's thespian short-comings is a bit like whinging about the lack of character development in Tom & Jerry. Take out your brain, put it in a bucket of iced gin-and-tonic and enjoy . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLOOD the truth., 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flood [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
a lot has been written here about, how much shorter it is, than the version shown, originally on ITV. i just got the blu-ray and it has the original movie, at 112 minutes and the made for ITV version, at 196 minutes. i have ordered the 2 disc extended version, on dvd, so i will be able to comment on it's runtime, when i get it. i hope that this helps anyone else that, like me, loved it, when it was shown on ITV and wants to see it again, minus the adverts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't usually enjoy disaster movies., 15 Oct. 2009
By 
K. A. Newton (North West England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two of my favourite actors were in this - Robert Carlyle and David Suchet.

I saw only the first half on tv as I was working the night the second half was broadcast.

I bought the dvd for the above reason and have watched it so many times since it is a wonder the discs have not worn out.

I remember the first time I saw the Thames Barrier raised on tv news and wondered at the amount it had cost to build. Now we know why.

I think a parent would have to watch this first to gauge the reactions of their children. Some children might find the prospect of their town or city flooding quite worrying and others would not be worried taking an "It's only a film" attitude.

Despite not liking disaster movies I enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Film, 4 May 2008
By 
Sam "SJL(iii)" (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flood [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this file from Amazon some time ago after seeing it advertised in various places; I am generally a lover of disaster movies, especially if they have a realistic vein running through them.
However, I am watching this film on TV this evening (4/5/08) and there is a lot more detail in the movie showing tonight than there is in the video I purchased - so much so that the film runs more smothly from one scene to the next and explains so much that is missing from the DVD version.
Is there anyone out there who can tell me where and how I can get the full film on DVD please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inane enough to even give Irwin Allen pause, 14 Sept. 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Although a heavily cut version played one screen in London for a week and is released on a single-disc DVD, you need to see British disaster mini-series (or is that disastrous miniseries?) Flood in all its two-disc three hour glory to get the full horror of this engagingly awful damp squib (bear in mind Amazon have unhelpfully bundled reviews for both versions together, so check you're ordering the right one). It's unrelentingly awful but strangely compulsively so in its wildly overambitious tale of a thousand year storm surge flooding London and threatening various cardboard cutouts played by actors who've all seen much better days and look like they'd rather be somewhere else long before the Thames Flood Barrier is overrun. Indeed, the cast is like a graveyard for careers in trouble: Robert Carlyle, clearly wondering where it all went wrong after Trainspotting and The Full Monty as the heroic marine engineer, Tom Courtney doubtless remembering the days when he could afford to turn shows like this down as the scientist no-one would listen to, David Suchet wondering if this is the only job he can get that doesn't require a moustache and a Belgian accent (he doesn't even get to play the Prime Minister, he gets to play the Deputy Prime Minister!), Joanne Whalley wondering why her career is doing even worse than Val Kilmer's since the divorce, Ralph Brown fighting a losing battle with bad dialogue, ex-Bond villain Gottfried John getting two brief scenes az der head ov ze US Federal Reserve so the show can qualify for German tax breaks and Tom Hardy turning in the best performance as a slow London Underground maintenance worker. Poor Moira Lister, in her last screen role, only has a couple of lines before being killed off before the title sequence. Luckily for most of them the screen credits are printed in tiny type and gone too fast to read them: you rather suspect that was contractual to spare their blushes.

Coming off speculative one-hour dramadocs like Supervolcano and the impending equally soggy Atlantis, director Tony Mitchell is hopelessly out of his depth, throwing in sped-up ominous establishing shots, MTV-style rapid-cut montages of stock footage, the odd bit of shakeycam and overcast aerial shots of buildings with plenty of scenes of people standing in front of computer map projections of impending doom on an exponential scale to unintentionally hilarious effect. When one of The Young Ones (Nigel Planer) is in charge of the Met Office, you know disaster isn't far off, and you know things are bad because every time David Suchet gets angry, the frame freezes, goes into high-contrast black and white and the time appears and starts sliding down or across the screen. Indeed, were you to make a drinking game out of every time the frame freezes and the time appears, you'd be drunk as a skunk by the second commercial break.

No cliché is left unturned - estranged families are a particular speciality, with Carlyle not only separated from his wife but having shunned his father for years - and its attempts to look hi-tech are laughable long before the highly variable flood effects kick in. It's the kind of show where the Thames Barrier (run by token Canadian, Jessalyn Gilsig, to help get a tax-break friendly Canadian co-production deal) has a state of the art retina-scan ID system rather than a bored security guard who asks you to sign in with a dodgy biro and where every government body has a video-walled bunker that looks like NORAD (though rather more convincingly they can't find the proper plugs). The special effects team aren't quite so well-equipped: the first part boasts easily the worst special effect with a toy helicopter landing in decades - you just know that there's someone holding it just off camera. This isn't just the kind of show that watching in a high definition format does the effects no favors whatever, it's the kind where you really need to see it on the smallest TV screen with lousy reception for most of them to pass muster. The effects do improve, as does the show in general in the second half when everyone gets to play Poseidon Adventure as they get trapped in sewers, car parks or underground stations as the water rises and the lower-billed supporting cast meet watery ends to the accompaniment of Hayley Westenra wailing on the soundtrack, but the silliness doesn't evaporate: the finale involves a suicide mission to lower the Thames Barrier before a panicking Prime Minister can blow it up with our heroes inside it. Oh, the humanity! Inane enough to even give Irwin Allen pause, but it does have a definite train wreck fascination.

Extras on the two-disc version are limited to copious cast and crew interviews and trailers for The Spirit, Earth, The Lives of Others and The US Vs John Lennon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the long version, 5 May 2008
By 
M. Birkby (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flood [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Be warned - this is NOT the four hour (and far superior) version ITV showed - this is the shorter version of the same programme, with 3 hours cut, for cinema release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware the edited version, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flood [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the first half of this on TV but missed the second half. I then purchased the DVD not realising there were two versions! I ended up with the short film version which was disappointing to say the least. Wotta mistaka to maka!

Several of the story lines which were well covered in the TV version did not exist on the edited version. Also the editing was poorly done, resulting in some characters making a brief appearance that merely interrupted the continuity rather than adding to the storyline.

The 'love' angle is rather cosmetic and unconvincing. And a bit more realism would help. For example, when dealing with the hero/ heroine swimming in icy water for long periods with no ill effect. It's the sort of thing you see so often in American films. All is does is reduce the credibility to the detriment of the film.

I'd strongly recommend the extended version. The short 'film' version was a poor imitation of the luke warm Hollywood disaster movies. British Drama is far better than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very watchable, 25 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Flood [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Despite some very wooden acting in places Flood manages to be a good, solid disaster film. The main thing is that the premise it is based on is believable and gets you thinking this could really happen. Ignore the critics, make your own mind up on this. Either you will hate it for the below par acting or enjoy the rapid pace of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars impressive, 8 Dec. 2007
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flood [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't a half bad movie. British movies don't tend to go all out with special effects etc unless it's something like James Bond/ Harry Potter! I never once felt that everything happening was impossible or not actually happening.
A good plot, especially with all the problems with flooding this year which means it is possible. The cast does a good job of portraying the various emotions and events that would surround a catastrophe of that scale; emergency services being overrun, tough decisions to leave people behind and even mistakes.

Unfortunately, it falls to a 4 star movie because towards the end it moves towards soppy, feel good type stuff which meant it became a little silly and riled me uo a bit after all the drama. If I'd wanted soppiness I'd have gotten a RomCom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flood [2007] [DVD]
Flood [2007] [DVD] by Tony Mitchell (DVD - 2007)
£3.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews