Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This dead donkey doesn't stink!
This is definitely one of those shows that you 'get' - or you don't 'get'! As far as I am concerned, it is one of the finest ever produced.

The show exhibits intelligent - even brilliant - exaggeration of the day to day running of a modern Television Newsroom. Of course, the whole thing would have fallen horribly 'flat', if a most accomplished cast hadn't have...
Published on 7 April 2009 by Roy Anderson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a rather strange choice
It is not uncommon for writers to disagree with their public about what is their best work, and this seems to have been the case here. This "Writers' Choice" is not what I (and other fans I have spoken to) would have picked for what is essentially meant as a "best of" set. How could it be, when The Christmas Party and The Awards Ceremony - probably the two best episodes...
Published on 30 Mar 2006 by Iain S. Palin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This dead donkey doesn't stink!, 7 April 2009
By 
Roy Anderson "War Buff - and civilian combatt... (Mount Brydges, Ont. Canada.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drop the Dead Donkey - Series 4-6 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is definitely one of those shows that you 'get' - or you don't 'get'! As far as I am concerned, it is one of the finest ever produced.

The show exhibits intelligent - even brilliant - exaggeration of the day to day running of a modern Television Newsroom. Of course, the whole thing would have fallen horribly 'flat', if a most accomplished cast hadn't have been assembled. As it is, a splendid cast performs outstandingly witty scripts, with the utmost professionalism and ability.

The humour is 'broad based' and ranges from highly intelligent wit, through the wide stretches of traditional humour to occasionally being rather crude. The point is, the language and situations are integral to the script and, as the result, blend in smoothly and without jarring the senses.

This is truly, in my opinion, one of the most humorous of comedies ever done on TV. It might not be right for the 'traditional maiden aunt' - or for the clods who can't put two words together intelligently BUT, for the wide stratum of literate and half-way educated people of the population, this show is a must!

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop The Dead Donkey Series 4-6 - Three more series of comedy gold, 8 Sep 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drop the Dead Donkey - Series 4-6 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Back in 1990s this series was a real breath of fresh air. With a sharp script from the pens of Guy Jenkin and Andy Hamilton, it mixed great character comedy with sharp satire. The formula was a winner and comedy gold was struck.

Several things came together to make this a success from the off. A set of well formed characters were introduced in the first episode, each with their own neurosis and problems. There was just enough depth to the characters to stop them being mere caricatures, and due to the quality of the actors (most of whom are still well known faces on TV 20 years later) we really manage to believe in and become attached to the characters. The choice of setting, a TV newsroom, provided rich territory for the topical satire, and the gimmick of having topical jokes recorded and inserted just before transmission gave it a real edge.

Seeing this again so many years later, I am amazed and disturbed at how much of the topical humour is still relevant today. It has not dated at all. And the great characterisation never dates.

Series 6 was a bit of a change, it had less topical humour and concentrated on the characters. The series was to be the last, and the writers took great care to wrap up each character's story and give them the send off they deserve. The final episode is a masterpiece.

All 31 episodes from the last three series are presented here on five discs.. There is an introduction to each episode for series 4 and 5, giving a quick topical background for each episode. There is a standard size DVD case for each series, collected into a card slipcase. (essentially it is the individual series releases gathered together into a single box). It's an excellent package, and a very welcome release for this comedy great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless situations, 30 Aug 2009
By 
Jean Hornibrook (Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drop the Dead Donkey - Series 4-6 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
News stories that most of us can recollect plus a set of characters who are only just larger than life make for episodes that still raise a smile,and often make me laugh out loud.The script,which involves Andy Hamilton most of the time,is the star but Neil Pearson,Stephen Tomkinson,Robert Duncan and the rest of the cast bring the news office to life for each episode.
Sadly it all had to come to an end,but in a few months I'll be able to dip into the series again and find even more to it than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great production, 7 Oct 2010
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drop the Dead Donkey - Series 4-6 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
A comedy series about a British TV news broadcast station.

I remember watching this originally in the 90s and wondered if it would survive the test of time. It has. Great characters, sparkling humour and I've enjoyed it this time as much as when I first saw it.

Being so long after the event it obviously loses the impact of the quips relating to up to the minute happenings on the news, but this doesn't detract from the overall enjoyment. Every character of Globelink's cast is differentiated and the humour is both punchy and sharp.

I still chuckle at Gus's 'management speak' which started to infiltrate the corporate language of the 90s, revealing it for the pretentious nonsense it really was! Not a weak link in this 'globe link' series!

As a bonus I never saw the final series as I had left UK by then. So looked forward to it with anticipation, and was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too eclectic - let's have it all!, 2 Mar 2004
By 
Jonathan Oakey (Brussels Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Living abroad and without access to Channel 4, it was over 10 years since I had seen Drop the Dead Donkey but I had fond memories. They had not been tempered by time; it is indeed a very funny programme. The six episodes and numerous other clips on this DVD are thoroughly enjoyable (although the sound quality is not 100%). I hope that this issue is successful enough to warrant a full release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 15 Mar 2011
This review is from: Drop the Dead Donkey - Series 4-6 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I had forgotten how funny this was, and brings back memories of the news items at the time. Some parts are very very funny. Possibly not for anyone who is younger than the series though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop the Dead Donkey - Writers' Choice, 28 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All series of "Drop the Dead Donkey" are now available on DVD in a number of box sets. For some fans of the program, including myself, wanting more than just fond memories of the series buying them all is too much of a good thing.

This DVD provides the perfect answer. 6 complete editions of the program plus a vast number of clips of some of the best moments with comments from the writers as a bonus.

You scarcely see this DVD in the High Street shops nowadays and at the present price it is a good bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a rather strange choice, 30 Mar 2006
By 
Iain S. Palin (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
It is not uncommon for writers to disagree with their public about what is their best work, and this seems to have been the case here. This "Writers' Choice" is not what I (and other fans I have spoken to) would have picked for what is essentially meant as a "best of" set. How could it be, when The Christmas Party and The Awards Ceremony - probably the two best episodes ever - have been left out?
"Drop the Dead Donkey" was hysterically funny when first shown on TV although not all episodes have worn well with time. It was also a programme which - as is so often the case - came to life with the second season. That is where those coming to the series should start. They won't be disappointed; the probably will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 April 2003
By 
Andrew J. Codling "s_tarboy" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This really took me back to the nineties. It was a joy to be reunited with Alex, Dave and Henry. Although I still think that the ending for George was very mean.
Very good episodes, highly recommended. Thid drops a star, as it didnt have the paintball or Christmas party episodes.
My highlight, Henry, couldnt pick any particu;ar moment, just almost all of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also very funny, 12 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drop the Dead Donkey - Series 4-6 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The later series continue the hilarity. There are only 7 episodes in the final series but is was still very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drop the Dead Donkey - Series 4-6 Box Set [DVD]
£11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews