Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen box set
This box set of BBC dramas has Pride and Predudice, Sense and Sensibility, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion. All are great dramas to the high BBC standard. There is one area to be aware and that is that each drama was presented as a series. Hence, Disc 1 may hold 3 episodes and each episode ends with the theme ending. The next episode starts with...
Published on 27 July 2010 by RayB

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love with Mr. Darcy or is it Colin Firth?
Perhaps I'm just getting fed up to my neck in Jane Austen. Some of her work is less than great or maybe the book is better than the movie. Loved PRIDE AND PREDJUDICE, great sets and directon plus Mr. Firth. PERSUASION was presented quite well and we enjoyed it. The gothic NORTHANGER ABBEY was beyond the pale. I have seen a better presentation of SENSE AND SENSIBILITY...
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by Loaghaire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen box set, 27 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This box set of BBC dramas has Pride and Predudice, Sense and Sensibility, Mansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion. All are great dramas to the high BBC standard. There is one area to be aware and that is that each drama was presented as a series. Hence, Disc 1 may hold 3 episodes and each episode ends with the theme ending. The next episode starts with the same theme introduction which gave me the impression that the disc had gone to the start and was about to show me the same episode again. It took a little while to work out that it was my understanding at fault and to watch episode 2 I had to just let it continue to play.
In addition, I did have one faulty disc but a quick contact to the Amazon help desk had the box set in its entirety changed within a few days. I thought that was extremely good customer service. This box set is very good value and comes out when we want some 'culture' or just a good play to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi-Austen, 28 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Really good to have all these BBC classics in one package. All good drama, particularly Pride and Prejudice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasing, 8 Jan 2010
By 
marianne (cork, ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The chief episode in this collection is Pride and Prejudice which provides excellent viewing - top marks for costume, casting and mood. However, some of the rest of the cd collection, especially Northanger Abbey come across as a bit dated, especially colour wise with actors giving a 'wooden' performance and obviously not such lavish productions - overall pleasing viewing for Austen fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love with Mr. Darcy or is it Colin Firth?, 4 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps I'm just getting fed up to my neck in Jane Austen. Some of her work is less than great or maybe the book is better than the movie. Loved PRIDE AND PREDJUDICE, great sets and directon plus Mr. Firth. PERSUASION was presented quite well and we enjoyed it. The gothic NORTHANGER ABBEY was beyond the pale. I have seen a better presentation of SENSE AND SENSIBILITY. MANSFIELD PARK was spooky. Anna Massey looked like she was in a silent screen production with the facial expressions and wide eyes. I forget who played the mother of the brood, but she appeared to be an opium user. I have always thought that EMMA was too silly for words and should be burned. If you are a Jane Austen fan do some research and buy single dvds. These productions,with the exception of PRIDE AND PREDJUDICE, for the most part, are not the best. This, of course, is just one opinion. There are some people who love Jane Austen however it is done. Shame on you BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a wandwefull collection, 26 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
i love jane austen -who doesn't?- so i watched this movies as soon as they arrived, and even if the films are not all the same level i'm really happy: pride and prejudice is absolutety brilliant and the best of them all. my family -even my little 6 years old girl love watch these with me- enjoyed all the movies, even if the olders have a really different testure for the low quality of the sound and picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough info, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this product, but I was expecting a different version of some of the novels, BBC has more than one series for example on Ema, and I was very difficult to get info on which one this box set had, unfortunately, it wasn't the one I wanted to offer.
So please if you saw something in BBC channel and are thinking on buying this dvd box set, please make sure these are the versions you are expecting.
I was really disappointed not to get the right Ema version, but I guess I should have written instead of buying at once.
Best regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars English only!, 4 May 2010
By 
Marisa Forsaa (Surnadal, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
There is some variation concerning how interesting the stories (and their characters) are, so maybe you would like to buy them separately, even though this collection comes in a nice and practical case. Both the audio and subtitles in this case were in English only, despite the info., which also says Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD], 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Loved, loved, absolutely loved Pride and Pregiudice! How can you avoid to fall in love with Colin Firht's Mr. Darcy? Still need to watch others DVD in the package, hard job, after having watched this one first, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastci collection of Jane Austen films, including Colin Firth in Pride and Predjudice. I highly recommend this set to any Austen fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good and excellent collection of Jane Austen's stories which well written by the appropriate screen writers especially Pride and Prejudice by Andrew Davies. The only comment I would make in this respect is if only the original cast were used i.e. Elizabeth Garvie and David Rintoul - in my mind these actors are the epitome of Elizabeth Bennett and Mr Darcy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD]
The Jane Austen BBC Collection Box Set [DVD] by Rupert Penry-Jones (DVD - 2007)
25.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews