Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A far better film than some reviews would have you to believe
I have to say I was a bit apprehensive after reading some highly negative reviews - to say it is the worst animated film ever is absurd! Our five year old daughter loves it and wants to watch it over and over again. For a kids film that ticks all the boxes in my book. A good film and a bargain at the current price
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Wonkey Donkey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My kids enjoyed it but haven't asked to watch it again.
The plot wasn't great. The animation wasn't great. But the kids enjoyed it while they watched it. However they weren't interested in watching it again.
Published 13 months ago by Linda


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for Kids Then Adults, 4 May 2007
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Our story takes place in Fairytale Land, a kingdom populated by every fairytale character you've ever met. The balance between good and evil is maintained by a wizard (George Carlin) who makes sure that every story follows the book.

The time has come for Cinderella (Sarah Michelle Gellar) to have her fairytale ending. The Prince (named Humperdink. A nod to Princess Bride? Either way, he's voiced by Patrick Warburton) is hosting a ball on his twenty-first birthday. Cinderella is set to go and fall in love, just as the story dictates.

This doesn't sit well with Rick (Freddie Prinze, Jr.). He's a servant in the castle and has fallen for the beautiful Cinderella. Fighting a bad case of prince envy, he wonders why he never gets a happy ending.

While all this is happening, the wizard decides to go on vacation and he turns things over to his two assistants, Munk and Mambo (Wallace Shawn and Andy Dick). Mambo wants to add a bit of variety to the stories while the wizard is away, and the two start fighting.

Overhearing their fight is Frieda (Sigourney Weaver). She's Cinderella's evil step mother. She seizes the golden opportunity to take over the kingdom and tip the scales toward evil. Now it's up to Cinderella and a very reluctant Rick to return happy endings to Fairytale Land.

I'm always up for a good fractured fairytale, a genre that has become popular since the success of Shrek. I was looking forward to this one, but it failed to live up to expectations.

The biggest problem with the movie is the lack of development. Everything felt rushed, like it knew what it had to do and wanted to get it over with as quickly as possible. The characters were also shallow, and I never felt like I got to know them, which made it hard to root for them.

There were a few funny lines in the movie, but most of it was played surprisingly straight. The Prince was the one exception, with a great running joke about consulting his book before everything.

This isn't the detailed animation we are used to. It's stylized with lots of weird angels. It works, but considering what most studios are putting out, it is a bit surprising.

The voice cast does great, with one exception. There was something about Sigourney Weaver's voice that bothered me. It almost felt like she reading the script with. She showed hardly any personality.

Unlike many films that adults and kids can enjoy together, this one is strictly for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GD!, 29 Jun 2007
Oh just buy or rent it!

Have a laugh.

Some of my fave actresses were in it

a very goo funny film, try it, give

it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shrek it aint., 10 Oct 2011
By 
Puzzle crazy - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Happily N'Ever After [DVD] (DVD)
This film must have passed me by when it came out at the cinema, because I had never really heard of it before.unlike the big animated features such as Ice Age and Shrek, this one kind of appeared unnoticed, without fanfare. I suppose the trouble is, that unlike times past, when an animated film took ages to produce because it was hand drawn, these days CGI kids films are being churned out by the bucketload, cheaply and efficiently. A bit soul destroying, really.

Happily N'ever after is a bog standard kids film. It is in the "new fairy tale" style of films like Shrek, where the original fairy tale gets a makeover and gets turned on its head, with a few added jokes for the moms and dads thrown in.

Given this tried and tested formula (!) and the fact that the film does have a few star names on the cast list, including Sarah Michelle Gellar, I am surprised that this film didn't get much press when it came out.

The movie is the story of Cinderella, reworked. All of the fairy tales are controlled by a wizard, who has the scales of good and evilin perfect balance at the top of his castle. He goes on holiday, leaving his two incompetent assistants in charge. Cinderellas' evil stepmother infiltrates the castle, tipping the scales to evil and changing the outcome of the fairy tales: Sleeping beauty never wakes up, Rumplestiltskin gets the baby, Red riding hood is eaten by the wolf, and Cinderella never marries the prince. It is up to humble kitchen sevant Rick, who is in love with Cinderella, to save the day, but can he win the girl when she is destined to marry the prince....?

The animation is OK and the songs instantly forgettable.I guess it has all been done before. My son laughed all the way through and really enjoyed it, but I can't see this film being at the top of any "best animated films of all time" lists.

The film is available pretty cheap from Amazon, and with the school holidays on the way, is an OK way to spend and afternoon entertaining the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy ever after, 30 Mar 2011
By 
T. Queely (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happily N'Ever After [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is based on the similar principle as Cinderella, so there is a damsel and a rather vain prince. The film is funny and is different to cheesy movies where the prince rescues the princess and lives happily ever after, a lot of the humor will appeal to adults. As the name suggests the kingdom will live Happily never after if the wicked stepmother gets her way. Voiced by an all star cast this is one for the collection. I would say that this is more for girls,although boys will find it endearing, but a watch it once attitude will prevail. Get the second in this series my children both enjoy it as do I, I can say with conviction that you will enjoy enjoy this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Happily Never Watch this Movie, 23 Mar 2008
This review is from: Happily N'Ever After [DVD] (DVD)
Even fans of Shrek and Hoodwinked will find this movie insulting at the most. It has a weak and unoriginal plot; the Cinderella story has been played with in a far more creative way than this. The script and soundtrack was just too contemporary for me to put up with, and distracted you from the story. The movie would have worked better as an animated short, as the story was dragged out with characters constantly returning to their problems like the audience needed reminding of them.

The graphics left me feeling a bit queezy. You're expecting graphics that should compete with the likes of the Shrek movies and Hoodwinked but instead you are left with a stiff, shiny scenery with the characters looking more like plastic atomatons than fantasy characters.

Unlike Shrek, this movie has no moral, it was ripping apart a fairy tale that has had enough mocking already, but this movie not only mocked the fairy tale but it also insulted the intellegence of the audience which not even a five year old would sit through. Do yourself a favour, do not watch this movie or put your children through the torture of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the characters of Mambo,Munk, and the Evil Stepmother slightly elevate the movie, 4 Mar 2010
This review is from: Happily N'Ever After [DVD] (DVD)
i wasn't exactly impressed with this
animated film,although the idea was interesting.however,it falls apart
somewhere in the execution.i came dangerously close to being
bored.there were only three reasons i didn't fall asleep.the voice
talents of Andy Dick as Mambo,Wallace Shawn as Munk,and especially
Sigourney Weaver as the Evil Stepmother.there were a few amusing
moments with Mambo and Munk,and Weaver was perfectly cast.otherwise,the
movie was pretty tedious.for me,Happily N'Ever After is a 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars soundtrack, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happily N'Ever After [DVD] (DVD)
good pics on the dvd but the kids cant hear the story as it sounds like the director is speaking all the way through telling you how people were doing the voices etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Happily N'Ever Purchase, 23 Jun 2007
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Coming after the first Shrek and other fairytale-warping movies like Hoodwinked, this one is a dreary bore, with horrible animation, a bad storyline, and an unforgivable lack of imagination. It's about Cinderella and her stepmother, and the handsome prince and the royal dishwasher, but overall, it's a washout.

(To the tune of Déjà vu by Dionne Warwick)

This is inane

All they did was steal some shows

Without shame

Seeing this one's

Like others you've seen before

Not long ago

How can this be?

We just did Shrek one more time

Didn't we?

Feels like a clone

With a plot you've come to know

Long ago

Déjà vu

Could this be the worst thing that you'll view?

Might be true

Déjà vu

Could this be the one that really blew?

Say adieu

They keep remembering scenes

They keep dismembering scenes

Déjà vu

This is unkind

They have wasted all my time

And my rhyme

Looking at this

Time seemed more than what they showed

What a load!

Close this page now

You don't have to buy this one

Bad, and how

Somewhere before

You've seen ones that didn't bore

Or make you snore

Deja vu

Could this be the worst thing that you'll view?

Might be true

Déjà vu

Would this be the one that really blew?

Yes, it do!!!

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happily N'Ever After [DVD]
Happily N'Ever After [DVD] by Paul Buckley (DVD - 2007)
4.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews