Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An Extraordinary Life!
This double DVD gives us an in depth review of Queen Elizabeth's life from birth until her Golden Jubilee as Queen. As a young woman, she vowed to spend her life for her country, and that is exactly what she has done - fulfilled every duty required of her, graciously and with subtle humour, as well as bringing up a family of four, and having to deal with shocks of their...
Published on 23 Feb. 2013 by S. M. Couper

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively packaged
Let it be said straight away, this double DVD's packaging is misleading. The photograph of the queen as an elderly woman and the 2007 production date on the cover, give the impression that the events of Elizabeth's reign will be chronicled at least up to 2006. The first DVD, with scenes from the reign of Victoria up to the ascension of Princess Elizabeth, is interesting...
Published on 28 Sept. 2011 by pilgrim0795


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively packaged, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Elizabeth II Special Edition Double DVD Box Set - Duty and Sacrifice - Learn the True Story Behind the Reign of One of Englands Greatest Ever Monarchs + From Princess To Queen - The True Story of Elizabeth II's Early Years (DVD)
Let it be said straight away, this double DVD's packaging is misleading. The photograph of the queen as an elderly woman and the 2007 production date on the cover, give the impression that the events of Elizabeth's reign will be chronicled at least up to 2006. The first DVD, with scenes from the reign of Victoria up to the ascension of Princess Elizabeth, is interesting and informative. The second and final DVD, however, with an eerily prophetic statement that 'Perhaps Diana will turn out to be the Queen's greatest mistake,' ends shortly after Prince William's birth.

I am not an ardent royalist and it would appear that in our 'toucy feely' age, the monarchy has had to 'adapt' in an attempt to be 'relevant' to a new generation. With signigicant events, divorce, the death of Diana etc, yet future, one is aware that in fact, the monarchy still had to face its greatest crisis and did not emerge unscathed. Yet,the documentary's agenda, (supported by gossipy, dogmatic assertions that viewers are supposed to swallow, about a number of royals and non royals,) of showing that the queen, due to her upbringing, was bewildered by life's changes and out of touch, gave it an uncomfortable bias.

While it may be true to say that people are shaped by their childhood, I found the documentary's conclusion negative and depressing; depicting the queen and her values of self sacrifice, integrity and devotion to duty as outdated.

I was left asking myself the question, 'If the monarchy (with all its faults) is moulded by rigid adherence to discipline, self control, self sacrifice and commitment to duty, while 'modern' society is defined by the values it eschews, which of the two is in greater need of change?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great contents, but poorly produced, 26 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Elizabeth II Special Edition Double DVD Box Set - Duty and Sacrifice - Learn the True Story Behind the Reign of One of Englands Greatest Ever Monarchs + From Princess To Queen - The True Story of Elizabeth II's Early Years (DVD)
As one of the reviews said, the background music is too loud to hear the narrative in the second disc, also the discs don't play in my computer: Mac OS X 10.6, however they works in DVD player. It's a pity that the discs were poorly produced though the contents are really worthy watching,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars queen elizabeth II Special Edition Double box set, 13 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Elizabeth II Special Edition Double DVD Box Set - Duty and Sacrifice - Learn the True Story Behind the Reign of One of Englands Greatest Ever Monarchs + From Princess To Queen - The True Story of Elizabeth II's Early Years (DVD)
dvd is very good except background music is far to loud, louder than narrator that it difficult to hear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Extraordinary Life!, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
S. M. Couper "magpie reader" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Elizabeth II Special Edition Double DVD Box Set - Duty and Sacrifice - Learn the True Story Behind the Reign of One of Englands Greatest Ever Monarchs + From Princess To Queen - The True Story of Elizabeth II's Early Years (DVD)
This double DVD gives us an in depth review of Queen Elizabeth's life from birth until her Golden Jubilee as Queen. As a young woman, she vowed to spend her life for her country, and that is exactly what she has done - fulfilled every duty required of her, graciously and with subtle humour, as well as bringing up a family of four, and having to deal with shocks of their disastrous marriages.
The Queen is an example to us all, in our own much smaller worlds. All I can say now is "Long live the Queen!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic footage HORRIBLE commentary and MUSIC, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Elizabeth II Special Edition Double DVD Box Set - Duty and Sacrifice - Learn the True Story Behind the Reign of One of Englands Greatest Ever Monarchs + From Princess To Queen - The True Story of Elizabeth II's Early Years (DVD)
These are perhaps the worst royal DVDs in circulation. The commentary is not only monotonic but repetitive and seems to be going around in circles.
However, the worst part of these DVDs is the load and annoying non-stop elevator background music that becomes so loud and overwhelming by the last episode of the 2nd DVD that I never actually managed to finish the films.
A shame, really because some of the footage is pretty rare and some of them I have never seen elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DEFECTIVE DVDs, 2 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Elizabeth II Special Edition Double DVD Box Set - Duty and Sacrifice - Learn the True Story Behind the Reign of One of Englands Greatest Ever Monarchs + From Princess To Queen - The True Story of Elizabeth II's Early Years (DVD)
I got my second pack, the DVDs I received are defective, I got the same message both times
"This video cannot played 800 29941".

It has to be something from encoding, but it is really frustrating, I waited for this second pack, and both DVDs did not work again ...

It was really frustrating ...

I tried it on my computer, same thing ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVDs, 18 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Elizabeth II Special Edition Double DVD Box Set - Duty and Sacrifice - Learn the True Story Behind the Reign of One of Englands Greatest Ever Monarchs + From Princess To Queen - The True Story of Elizabeth II's Early Years (DVD)
All the family enjoyed watching these DVDs. Some footage has been seen before, but there was lots of new stuff too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complete history of HER MAJESTYS life, 8 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. J. Fairley (yorkshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen Elizabeth II Special Edition Double DVD Box Set - Duty and Sacrifice - Learn the True Story Behind the Reign of One of Englands Greatest Ever Monarchs + From Princess To Queen - The True Story of Elizabeth II's Early Years (DVD)
no one could have a more complete coverage of HER MAJESTYS life and in great detail too and all in beautiful colour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews