Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi At His Very Best.
Old enough to have seen him on his very first Top Of The Pops appearance, on The Lulu Show and live at Bournemouth Winter Gardens both on The Walker Brothers and The Pink Floyd/Move tour, in my opinon, which you can take or leave as you wish, this is Jimi Hendrix at his very best.
His first gig back in America after ripping the whole scene apart with his genius here...
Published on 23 Oct 2007 by Alan Burridge

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ou sont les vinyls d' antan ....
I will be brief ..
I didn't buy this vinyl from amazon. I got it from another seller ... this is not important.
The graphics are great, it has an inside sheet of cardboard with photos on one side and an essay by Mitch Mitchell on the other side. There is a sticker on the disc cover where it states that "all analogue mastering by Bernie Grundman, pressed on...
Published 1 month ago by Savin N. Cristian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi At His Very Best., 23 Oct 2007
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
Old enough to have seen him on his very first Top Of The Pops appearance, on The Lulu Show and live at Bournemouth Winter Gardens both on The Walker Brothers and The Pink Floyd/Move tour, in my opinon, which you can take or leave as you wish, this is Jimi Hendrix at his very best.
His first gig back in America after ripping the whole scene apart with his genius here in the UK, Jimi and The Who didn't want to follow one another on the bill, so he and Pete Townshend flipped a coin, and Jimi lost; hence, after The Who destroying their equipment, Jimi had to go one better, setting fire to his guitar AND destroying it. But even with that aside, it is, for me, his best era; with him still 'on his way up' and a little naieve, yet a superb performance and jaw-dropping guitar playing.
A definite 'must have' for the aspiring guitarist or rock fanatic's collection, every track a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 7 Nov 2007
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
A truly historic concert when Hendrix 'pulled all the stops' for his first US show after making it in the UK and Europe. Despite sometimes embarrassing stage patter and Wild Thing, which doesn't wear well, the other tracks on this CD show Jimi and the band at their early best. Like a Rolling Stone, even with a forgotten verse, is a highlight of Jimi's career and the rest of the songs aren't too far off.

The under-rated Mitchell and Redding provide excellent support and Mitch's arms must have been ready to fall off after his efforts in this show.

While this CD has exactly the same content as the previous Alan Douglas produced release (long out of print), it has far better sound than the older CD.

The Douglas sound was rather harsh and the bass a bit thin, but this remix by Eddie Kramer has real warmth and presence.

If you're a Hendrix fan, buy the DVD and the CD, but if you're not a fanatic, I'd suggest buying the DVD. Much of this show's appeal is visual, not just the guitar-burning, but the sense of fun and triumph that you see in Jimi's face when he knows he's won over the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive live Jimi, 13 April 2008
By 
jbezzo "jbezzo" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
Of all his live concert performances, Jimi at Monterey should be an essential part of any Hendrix fans collection. Woodstock? Moments of brilliance in an overlong and under rehearsed set. Isle of Wight? Not perhaps as horrible as they say but still, Hendrix at a physical and creative low ebb. Monterey captures Jimi at an ascendant point in his career. He'd left America a few months earlier, as Jimmy James, an unknown struggling musician, and now he was coming back as the cause celebre of London's music scene, having been embraced by everyone from the Beatles and the Stones, to Eric Clapton and the Who.

This was Jimi's chance to make a name for himself in the land of his birth and he took it with the same sense of purpose of a wannabe taking the stage at talent night at the Apollo. His set was short (compared to Woodstock, which clocked in at over two hours) yet he pulled out all the stops, kicking of with a blistering "Killing Floor" (the song with which he had slain Eric Clapton the previous year) and included his three hit UK singles, "Hey Joe", "Purple Haze" and a tender "Wind Cries Mary". His obvious debt to Bob Dylan was marked by a majestic version of "Like A Rolling Stone" and the set built towards an fiery climax as Jimi's strat surrendered to the flames at the end of "Wild Thing"

Sure, Hendrix would reach greater creative peaks over the course of the coming years, but as a single snapshot of legend being born, this is the CD to rescue if the house is burning down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Hendrix!!!, 11 Jun 2009
By 
Martyn - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
I'm a huge Hendrix fan, owning pretty much every release and DVD.

Even if you have everything else already and are wondering if it's really worth getting another JH live effort, you HAVE to get this.

Having heard other Hendrix live albums, they are of course always excellent, but always have that 'big venue' sound - this, despite being at Monterey, has the immediate sound of being played in a small club. The whole thing sounds like the Experience are actually playing in your living room, and added to the sheer vitality and brilliant musicianship, this is, despite my familiarity with the band and the material, one of the most exciting records i've ever heard.

The mixture of covers and original material is superb - the cover of 'Like a Rollin' Stone' is worth the price of this album in itself, as is just about every other track here.

This really is a fantastic gig, of superb sound quality, capturing a pivotal moment in the career of one of the greatest musicians of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmontery, 5 Oct 2007
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
At Last the Mothership has landed!!! This isn't where it all began. But it is where the Legend was born!!! An essential purchase for anyone with ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "top draw,Jimmy on fire!", 15 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. A. T. Clarke "welsh dragon" (Wattsville,south wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
This has to be one of Hendrix best "live " shows,A fresh sound this album has too.Its 1967, Jimmy Hendrix is on top of his game,I was spoiled for music growing up as a teenager around this time,But Jimmy changed it all for me,yet I always come back to this concert and album with a fond memory,his rendition of Bob Dylans "like a rolling stone"is something else,Bob was a big influence on Jimmy whom he watched play years before.Theres a good variety on offer on this album too,considering theres only 9 songs on it,running time 43mins aprox,..covers like "killing floor" and "rock me baby" are done Jimmys way."hey joe" one of the better "live" versions,then you got that mixed in with "can you see me".."foxy Lady"."purple haze"..the wind cries mary" and that old "Reg Presley" classic "wild thing.well packaged from amazon,and a quick service ,at a good price,you cant go wrong with this album in your collection.jimmy,Mitch and noel may be gone..but the music lives on..and a good live recording it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have never listened to Hendrix before...check this out!, 29 Oct 2007
By 
Conolly Gage Esq "The Dude" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
Ok first let me start by saying that despite being a major lover of music and massive SRV fan I have never really got on that well with Hendrix, that was until now! This album is brilliant and sadly short, but captures what was a career changing performance from arguably one of the greatest guitarist ever. Re mixed by Eddie Kramer who was Hendrix's original engineer and just the man for the job, and boy the result is...well the sound just leaps out of the speakers at you, and has a new freshness to it that one might not expect from an original recording of this age.

I could go through and tell you how great each song is but to be honest that would not paint the whole picture, because it's about the whole performance, and the vibe they were on. You can feel this, and its no surprise to me that Hendrix fans are so excited by this release...now I get it, and my advice to you is if you haven't got it (Hendrix that is), get this album. Simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live At Monterey, 27 Dec 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
'Live At Monterey' brings us the concert that unleashed Jimi on America. Up until this point he had been a hit in the UK but overlooked in America and then he hit the stage at Monterey and everything changed. In a highly charged performance Jimi showed why he was so respected and what he could do with a guitar. Still sounding fresh and raw in this concert he managed to pull off power and energy in songs like 'Like A Rolling Stone' and 'Purple Haze' whilst giving nuanced playing and a gentle touch in 'Wind Cries Mary', topped off with the infamous 'Wild Thing' where he sacrificed his guitar in love for the audience (and a healthy dose of showmanship!). This CD comes with the obligatory essay booklet with superb photos that the Experience Hendrix releases always offer and this makes for insightful and fascinating reading. As far as live Hendrix performances go this one really cannot be missed or surpassed, he may have played longer and better elsewhere, but this concert has a fire in it's belly and a strong piece of music history all in one place. Highly recommended indeed.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ou sont les vinyls d' antan ...., 12 Jun 2014
By 
Savin N. Cristian (Lugoj, Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Monterey [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I will be brief ..
I didn't buy this vinyl from amazon. I got it from another seller ... this is not important.
The graphics are great, it has an inside sheet of cardboard with photos on one side and an essay by Mitch Mitchell on the other side. There is a sticker on the disc cover where it states that "all analogue mastering by Bernie Grundman, pressed on 180 gram audiophile grade vinyl". Nice, very nice. Indeed this is a good pressing, no noise surface, very quiet.
The music of course deserve 10 stars from 5 :-). No need to tell you anymore.
But ... I had the (bad) curiosity to compare this pressing with another one from the eighties ...an ordinary one, no special analogue mastering, no 180 gram .... And this last one sounded better ... not a great deal better, but clearly better. A little bit louder, a little bit with more space, dynamics, stereophony and ....more LIFE.
Very odd, the Bernie Grundman mastered vinyl, sounded more like a mono recording, all the sounds were kinda cramped in the middle and down, just a bit over the floor level ... The ordinary 80-ties pressing had height and width ...
From this point of view this vinyl pressing is somewhat disappointing ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 17 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Live At Monterey (Audio CD)
This is a piece of history, also buy the DVD of the concert to see an amazing performance. However, be aware that 2 copies of the region 0 (region free copy) did not work on my DVD player so I had to buy it elsewhere. This is Jimi's debut performance since making it big in the UK and returning to the US. All his previous career in the US was in a backing band for the likes of Little Richard, Ike Turner etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Monterey
Live At Monterey by Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews