Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.04+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2008
This is an album to put on and LISTEN to. Do not use it as background music or you'll miss a lot of the music and ambience. I first heard this on vinyl when it came out and it has remained ingrained on me ever since. This Japanese CD re-issue is superb. The packaging reflects both releases of the album as it includes a booklet similar to the gatefold sleeve that I remember as a youth. Sound quality is stunning retaining all the dynamics that figure so heavily in Tomitas renderings. It is only within the last few months that I've sought out the orchestral versions of some of the Prokofiev and Sibelius selections and was even more impressed with the Tomita versions as a result. It's an experience.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2010
Whats there to say about Isao Tomitas masterpiece "Bermuda Triangle" well as with so many of his early works from the 1970's he takes classical music tracks and gives their arrangments his own unique twist using his wall full of analogue synthersizers...

Now I like to think that Mr Tomita San does something with his music that no-one else can, the only way I can descripe it is that he gives music "Texture" that is to make it almost tangeble enough that you can touch it and taste it add to that the imagery that that is created in your head when you listen to his music is so vivid you can always picture the events depicted in the music and none more so than track 10 "Dazzling Cylinder that Crashed in Tunguska, Syberia" after 03:15 this track ACTUALLY sound like a UFO crash Landing its Awesome especiallyt when played on Headphones REALLY LOUDY, Mr Tomita also did some experimenting with this album, at a couple of points there is computer code inserted into the tracks, also he inveted his "Pyramid Sound" system using this album which used 4 speakers on the ground (one in each corner of a square) forming the pyramid base, and a fith speaker up above making the apex of the pyramid, this he did way back in 1978 and Tomita had invented Dolby 5.1 way before it was even throught of...

Now after all that there is one problem I have with this CD rendition, and thats the cover... the Original LP had a wonder fantasy artistic scene with the a trangle shaped whole in the ocean with ships sailing over the edge and US warplanes diving into its heart while the image of a demons head is portraid watching over from above formed by the moon, its reflection in the water and two shooting stars for its horns, the inside of the album was also as spectacular, a US airman dances with a mirmaid at the bottom of the triangle while ailen like imps skip around them, its fantasic :) however the cover on this CD is a massive dissapointment, it has a series of random geometric shapes with a lurid skyscene and a wire frame pyramid computer image, its not a patch on the artwork of the original LP....

But you don't buy a CD to look at the case sleve do you, the quality of the CD audio is top notch especially when that old 12" LP you have in the cupboard is all full of scratches and hissing, also this is one of the cheaper Tomita CDs to get, some go for really silly money :S
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Tomita's Bermuda triangle is one of Tomita's best albums - as is evidenced by the other reviews - and well worth the 32 pounds it costs for the hard copy. However Amazon.co.uk claims it's available as an MP3 for only 5.99. It's not - this albumis a hard rock various artist album. If it was Tomita I'd buy it like a shot, but it's not. Amazon need to change the links to this page and the reviews
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This has to rate as one of the most beguiling and unique pieces of music ever. Quite how someone goes about creating this is beyond my comprehension. I first heard this in the late 70`s, when i visited a friend`s house and his dad was playing it. I immediately went out and purchased a vinyl copy which i played to death, and i have just replaced it with a CD version. The only disappointment is that the have changed the artwork, the original was Blue with pictures pertaining to the album contents. If you have not heard anything by this guy before you are in for a rare treat, you should also check-out his re-workings of the old classics by Mussorgsky, Ravel, Holst etc, their ALL masterpieces in their own right....ENJOY!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 June 2015
One of music's biggest mysteries is why Isao Tomita is not more well-known and hailed as the genuis of electronic music that he is. His RCA recordings in the 1970s are seminal works that took the synthesiser and electronic music technology of the day to new heights, and The Bermuda Triangle is perhaps the culmination of that skill and artistry. Tomita tells a story with sound like never before - combining classical music themes and film scores (Close Encounters) with other-wordly soundscapes to portray science fiction and fantasy themes that takes a few listens to really embrace, but is ultimately one of the most rewarding listens you can have in this genre.

The only real omission in this CD version is a more faithful copy of the original gatefold LP sleeve artwork. It features in a small photo on the jewel case behind the CD, but it would have been nice to see the booklet reproduce this in more detail. Butl, it's the sound that matters at the end of the day. I first encountered The Bermuda Triangle in 1979 - and it is brilliant to have it on CD at last. Finally, with very reasonable shipping costs from Japanese suppliers, it's good to be able to track down these superb recordings from a master of electronic music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
Bermuda Triangle is a little rare and I recommend it as good as Kosmos, another Tomita recording.
The title gives away the musical content with other worldly sounds which can be imagined in this part of Atlantic ocean.
It is defintely not background music, it's much better than that, sit back and take it in.
Tomita is a genius.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Tomita has been one of my favourite electronic music artists since I can remember, Bermuda Triangle is one of his best works, not the original cover picture as on the original vinyl recording, but its the music, in this instance that counts, on CD it just sounds superb. I personally consider Grand Canyon to be his best ever recording. His back catalogue is difficult to source, some is available from specialist vinyl sellers, compilations are available too, but if you are a fan of his unique sound and expression through synthesis , buy this CD now, if you haven't already!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2009
I first heard this in 1979 at University and was delighted to see it still on sale.
Yes.. he rips off close encounters etc but it sounds great to me
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
Fantastic album, my record was very scratched so very pleased to have it on CD worth the extra cost. But why is this not available in UK?
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Came in time for Birthday, reliable sender, a good package, love the music, easy to open. What more can i say. It was perfect thank you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£30.64

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)