Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Think Before You Buy
Having a quick glance at some of the other reviews for this three disc CD there are some rather scathing ones. If you are thinking of getting this then please look at the fifty tracks listed in the product information further up this page.

You will notice that certain songs that you are looking for are not there, and although others are the versions on this CD...
Published 20 days ago by M. Dowden

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meksykanin
rather poor quality, hmm like cassette 22 kHz, no like today standards 44 kHz for CD. Of course you can find well-known songs on this cd but hmm with different titles.
If you are looking for first BoB cd go and buy "Legend [Extra tracks] [Original recording remastered]".
Published on 24 Oct 2009 by WS Kulesz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meksykanin, 24 Oct 2009
By 
WS Kulesz "Polaco" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
rather poor quality, hmm like cassette 22 kHz, no like today standards 44 kHz for CD. Of course you can find well-known songs on this cd but hmm with different titles.
If you are looking for first BoB cd go and buy "Legend [Extra tracks] [Original recording remastered]".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Background music, 8 Sep 2009
By 
A. M. Greenwood "A Greenwood" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
These are all the lesser know tracks and is OK for some background music with a reggae feel but is not what I'd call "Classics"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Info for new Bob fans and punters, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Greg A. (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
As I haven't bought this album; I'm not sure of the quality of the product, however do not believe Meksykanin as he is obviously not a fan. These are early pre-Tuff Gong tracks that bob and the wailers recorded; some have different names to the later releases, but he often recorded and rerecorded. This is one of several hundred releases of the same selection of music; so do not be fooled by the title 'A LEGEND' If you want his best known songs then buy 'LEGEND' rather than this release, but, if you wish to move on and buy some of his earlier, less known songs then be careful. As i have not bought this particular album, I recommend 'Trenchtown Rock'

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Trenchtown-Rock-Anthology-1969-78-2CD/dp/B00005UD07/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1344087424&sr=1-1

which is possibly the best quality set available. Also, for his even earlier work with rocksteady, buy 'Wail'n Soul'm Singles Selecta'

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wailn-Singles-Selecta-Marley-Wailers/dp/B000AA5X20/ref=pd_sim_m_h__1

which has a nice little selection for very little money. My main point is that there are literally thousands of sets of the great man's pre-tuff gong music, so don't be fooled by this set and always check the reviews.

Whew!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Think Before You Buy, 9 Oct 2014
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
Having a quick glance at some of the other reviews for this three disc CD there are some rather scathing ones. If you are thinking of getting this then please look at the fifty tracks listed in the product information further up this page.

You will notice that certain songs that you are looking for are not there, and although others are the versions on this CD collection are older, and over the years certain changes were made to them, as indeed changes were made in the line up of The Wailers themselves. Alas people call themselves Bob Marley fans, but what they mean is that they love the best known hits, and haven’t really listened to anything else. If you are a real fan then chances are you will already have all these recordings, but for those who are just getting into Bob Marley then this is ideal as an accompaniment to the album Legend. If you are just really a general member of the public who loves listening to the best known tracks of Marley, then please think, you may not particularly be pleased with this album.

So please think before buying this, is this what you really want, or would you be better off with just buying the album Legend? If you do decide to get this though it is good to listen to how some songs have since been developed, and also listen to the older songs of Bob Marley. In all this is good to get laid back with and dance if you so desire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Indifferent collection of early Marly, repackaged yet again with poor sound, 8 May 2012
By 
David Pearlman "sound fanatic" (Arlington, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
Not Now Music, (in)famous for their "out of copyright" 50 year old reissues that cut the artists and labels out and amount to legalized bootlegs, now does their magic for Bob Marley. These recordings are not 50 years old, so presumably a payment was made to someone somewhere. However, this is the pre-Island Marley, and these are the same tracks that have been issued and reissued endlessly over the years. This isn't bad stuff, but it's mostly missing the magic of Marley's deservedly much more famous Island output.

A serious Bob Marley fan will assuredly want this material, but it has been available many times previously, with better presentation and better sound. There's really no reason to buy this box.

Oh, and extra demerits for creating a cover that is suggestive of the famous "Legend" hits collection covering his Island years and even placing the title "Legend" (as in A Legend) on the cover to dupe the unknowning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley, 18 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
Brought back memories of a holiday in Jamaica many years ago with my now deceased husband. We thought the music in the hotel was brilliant. I am an oap heading for 80 and its nice to have good memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total con!!, 7 Aug 2013
By 
D. Passon (Surrey England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
Wish I'd read the reviews before I bought this. I wanted to replace my 'Legend' cassette tape with a CD so I ordered this and was really angry when it arrived. The name & picture is designed to mislead people into thinking it's Legend when it's not. No wonder the tracks were not listed on selling info so people don't realise it's not the real thing. Total waste of money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
Would love to get all his music on CD, If you have them please let me know. Many thanks. !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not good!, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics (Audio CD)
I did not like this CD, I bought it for one track. It turned out it wasn't even on there. It was listed but the track was totally different. Sent it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics
A Legend - 50 Reggae Classics by Bob Marley (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews