Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Visibility - Clear View of Butterflies
My Preschool have been ordering caterpillar kits (Painted Ladies) from Insectlore for many, many years. The first kit we ordered was the cardboard box version - not too bad, but it's only good for a year really. You may be lucky to use it for a second year, but the sugar solution you feed the butterflies makes it sticky and the cardboard is useless then. We used cardboard...
Published 19 months ago by Susanne

versus
51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Comparison between world alive and insect lore
I tried the butterfly kits from both companies. As for the cage, I prefer the cube from World Alive since it has two sides in plastic which is easier to look through. The two cages are of equal size and can both be packed for storage and reused. But as for the caterpillars, I was really dissapointed with World Alive, since they weren't included in the prize and didn't...
Published on 24 Sept. 2009 by M. Larsen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Visibility - Clear View of Butterflies, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
My Preschool have been ordering caterpillar kits (Painted Ladies) from Insectlore for many, many years. The first kit we ordered was the cardboard box version - not too bad, but it's only good for a year really. You may be lucky to use it for a second year, but the sugar solution you feed the butterflies makes it sticky and the cardboard is useless then. We used cardboard for the first few years, but it was expensive.

We then decided to order a net tube and have used that for a number of years. It is durable (we still have it) but only the top is clear, too high for children to see through (we normally put it on a table so it is not disturbed too much)but the net obscures the view and they cannot see as much as when we had the cardboard box.

Also the top clear circle pane only unzips halfway. Every year we have a struggle opening it enough to sellotape the lid of the caterpillar food/transporting pot. When the caterpillars get to a certain size ready for the pupa stage they make their way up to the lid and hang from it. They must remain in this position in their new home - box or net tube. Try keeping the caterpillars (which are hanging on a delicate 'thread') intact whilst trying to open up the semi-circle opening and sellotaping the lid in such a small space.

When I saw this World Alive 'temporary Butterfly home' on Amazon it looked as if they had combined the clearer view of the cardboard box with the durability of the net tube without (hopefully)the problems.

We've now received it and it does appear to do the above without the problems. The zip around the top of the box opens virtually all the way around -hopefully making it easier to sellotape the container lid: the box has three clear vision panels, one on top and two side panels, the other two side panels are net for air.
The caterpillars are arriving very soon, so after we've homed and released the butterflies, I'll update this with our findings.

Another thing we found benefical was to buy a plastic sugar solution holder (from Insectlore) it's in the shape of a leaf with red felt 'flowers'. It has a tiny butterfly on it that you lift, pour your sugar solution in and the red felt flowers soak it all up, the butterflies feed from them and there is no spillage or stickiness in the Butterfly environment for that first day or two they have to live there.

Unlike some buyers, I'm not interested in the tweezers etc or buying cabbage white caterpillars (perhaps that is expensive and a bad deal), but I've been looking and waiting for something like this to come onto the market to house the catepillars/butterflies and for all the children to have a good view of everything.

UPDATE August 2013

Our pot of caterpillars arrived and when the time came to transport them (on the lid) to the new Butterfly home, it was so much easier. Children spent longer watching them(now they could see better)and we were lucky enough to see 4 out of the 5 emerging (one emerged during the night). They had their food in place and we also put in fresh pineapple and banana pieces in which they appeared to enjoy more than the sugar solution on the 'flower' feeder. When we released them, it was fortunate for children (and the butterflies) that it was warm and sunny. We placed the housing box on the grass, opened the lid (to keep it open we taped it) and managed to watch them for quite some time before they ventured off. We'd released one a couple of days earlier and four together - when they had all had sufficient time to dry and feed (we never keep them more than a day and half)before releasing them to the wild asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Comparison between world alive and insect lore, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
M. Larsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
I tried the butterfly kits from both companies. As for the cage, I prefer the cube from World Alive since it has two sides in plastic which is easier to look through. The two cages are of equal size and can both be packed for storage and reused. But as for the caterpillars, I was really dissapointed with World Alive, since they weren't included in the prize and didn't survive very long. They never formed cocoons. Maybe I was just unlucky, or it was too late in the season (september), but compared to the Insect Lore ones, the ones from World Alive came in a much smaller container, with much less food. Since the caterpillars were not included in the prize, a good idea would be to buy the cage from World Alive and then order the caterpillars through Insect Lores webpage, which you can do without buying their cage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Butterfly kit, 1 Jun. 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
This is just for the pen/cage ? for the butterflies - you than have to send £6.50 (beware the bank than charged me an extra £1.50 on top of the £6.50 for this transaction) - as the company converted the money in to euros - does not warn you of this. Than you have to wait 3 weeks for the catapillars to arrive.
You also have to feed them only on organic cabbage (around 1.50) so its a bit costly, guite intersting - I think its suitable for 6+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful experience for young and old, 6 May 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
We have just released our first 7 butterflys and we still have more cocoons to hatch.

You do need quite a lot of patience as it has taken approx 1 month to go from tiny eggs to butterflys.

The caterpillars did get quite big and the kids loved setting up assault courses for them to play on.

The only down side is that caterpillars surprisingly poo quite a lot for their size so they do need cleaning out weekly but all in all a wonderful experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
Does the job nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful product, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
Great idea but was disappointed that I had to pay separately for the caterpillars and send off for them. Not what I expected but fabulous once they were here. Kids loved them, exceptional ro watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
We were recommended this and it made a very good gift for a young person and their parents who are interested in wild life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars World Alive Butterfly Kit, 2 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
Didn't read description properly. Prefer to have one with extra zip for access. Arrived safely and is a very nice product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Butterfly house, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
A bit flimsy and out of shape, we ordered the caterpillars separately using the information inside and she is enjoying looking after them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase this item it is overpriced, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Alive Butterfly Kit (Toy)
Because the product was damaged or should I say stained and to order the live produce was way over priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Alive Butterfly Kit
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews