Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glenn's Finest Recording?
I love Glenn Gould and have been collecting and enjoying his recordings for many years. There are many great, great performances: the Beethoven "Pastorale" Piano Sonata; Bach Goldberg Variations; Brahms Piano Concerto No.1 with Leonard Bernstein; the Brahms Ballades etc. However this may be the finest of them all! Freed from the absolute glare of the solo spotlight and...
Published on 28 Feb 2008 by Mark Ritchie

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ...
Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord; Rose/Gould

I should have known before I bought this, but I foolishly assumed that a disc titled "Sonatas for Viola de Gamba and Harpsichord" would actually contain recordings of sonatas played on the viola de gamba and harpsichord. Having had a previous recording of these pieces played on the authentic...
Published 13 months ago by G. M. Donaldson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glenn's Finest Recording?, 28 Feb 2008
By 
Mark Ritchie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
I love Glenn Gould and have been collecting and enjoying his recordings for many years. There are many great, great performances: the Beethoven "Pastorale" Piano Sonata; Bach Goldberg Variations; Brahms Piano Concerto No.1 with Leonard Bernstein; the Brahms Ballades etc. However this may be the finest of them all! Freed from the absolute glare of the solo spotlight and with a great and sensitive partner in Leonard Rose, Gould's intellect, humanity and pianistic genius find a perfect balance. This is a wonderful, life enhancing CD that you may want to listen to every day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Musical Partnership, 18 Nov 2008
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
These recordings are the product of finest musical partnership. Gould and Leonard Rose are totally dedicated to the music itself, nothing else matters. That's the impression you get every time you listen to their performance. One of my favourite CDs in entire GG discography. Check also another fine Bach chamber music with another great musician, Jaime Laredo (Bach: Sonatas for Violin & Harpsichord, BWV 1014-1019; Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord, BWV 1027-1029).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Y. Cooreman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
You're going to be hard pressed to find a more thought-out, personal and joyful version of these sonatas. It's a celebration of music and a celebration of the genius of Bach and it feels like it has been offered to us by these two great musicians as a personal musical gift. You can feel with every note that these two people were going to do nothing but perform this work with the utmost care, love and attention. The result is an extremely charismatic and original performance that will probably never be matched. A superb recording that I can't recommend enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musicians at play, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
I prefer to hear these sonatas on Viola da Gamba and Harpsichord but I was given these recordings as a present. I enjoy them for what they are. There is a transparent love of and joy in the music played together. It feels to me as if I am with Leonard Rose and his cello and Glenn Gould and his piano while they have a good time with J.S.Bach. There is expectation and happiness in their musicianship and the friendship that comes across. I hope you enjoy this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great purchase!, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Elmina (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
I bought this by mistake believing it to be viola and harsichord. When it arrived I was dissapointed to find that infact, it was cello and piano. On playing however I found this superb marriage by two enormously talented individuals; I couldn't stop listening..... Sheer beauty..... I usually ignore suggestions from Amazon but......Thank you Amazon for suggesting it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the piano and cello., 17 Feb 2014
By 
R. Harvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
OK, it's not 'authentic' - but it is top quality Gould, sympathetically well balanced with Rose's cello. It's just one of those discs you put on and it sings to you immediately, along with the 48 and Goldberg. If you don't like Gould, don't buy it and don't review it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JSBach - Sonatas for Viola da Gamba and Klavier, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
The above is probably the original title - written for Viola da Gamba and, at a guess, harpsichord. Which I have on vinyl. So it was very interesting to hear this music played on Cello and Piano - and by the famous Glenn Gould. It certainly gives these 3 compositions a different airing ! My only criticism is that you need a magnifying glass to read the CD notes. I am serious ! Otherwise - Excellent - and a speedy delivery by you as well. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Instrumental Combination, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Eddie Nguyen (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
Glenn Gould, Vol 53 - Bach - Viola da Gamba Sonatas
Yea Glenn! I just love to listen to Glenn Gould playing piano & organ. This is an especially beautiful combination of instruments. Anyone who likes Glenn Gould must have this cd in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bach triumphant, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
As with everything that Glenn Gould recorded this one is an absolute treat
Of course these works should be heard on period instruments
but
when you're dealing with a talent this large
don't look a gift-horse in the mouth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ensemble Gould, 8 Jan 2013
By 
J. Mincham (kings Langley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: The Three Sonatas for Viola da Gamba & Harpsichord (Audio CD)
Of course anything played by Gould is interesting even if you don't like the performances. Some of these tempi are a bit slow by today's standards and many would prefer these works played on more 'authentic' instruments. But these remain historically valuable performances of great integrity Julian Mincham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews