Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL
Glenn Gould gets some people in a very big way. I'm one of them - until now I had only his Bach piano pieces. When I became aware of his statement that Orlando Gibbons was his favorite composer, I had to have this set. Obviously they were not written for the piano, but Gould makes each piece sound fresh and wonderful. Some will almost break your heart. Gould's incredible...
Published on 15 Sep 2010 by John Woodman

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More than enough
Individually the pieces on this disc are memorable for their fastidious articulation and separated melodic lines: Gould has claimed that Byrd was his favourite composer and his sleeve note argues for the historical and developmental significance of the music here.

As with many current discs of Gould's recordings this one gathers material from several sessions...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by Galtee More


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 15 Sep 2010
By 
John Woodman (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Consort of Musicke Bye William Byrde and Orlando Gibbons (Audio CD)
Glenn Gould gets some people in a very big way. I'm one of them - until now I had only his Bach piano pieces. When I became aware of his statement that Orlando Gibbons was his favorite composer, I had to have this set. Obviously they were not written for the piano, but Gould makes each piece sound fresh and wonderful. Some will almost break your heart. Gould's incredible ability to make the notes hang in mid-air is particularly well-suited to this repertoire. If you have enjoyed anything else by him, you owe it to yourself to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite GG Recording, 16 Nov 2008
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Consort of Musicke Bye William Byrde and Orlando Gibbons (Audio CD)
Glenn Gould's exquisite tonal control is no more evident than in these wonderfully inspired performances of William Byrd and Gibbon's keyboard music. This is one of my favourite CD among entire GG discography.

Another fine example of his amazingly sensitive pianism is his Wagner transciptions (Wagner: Siegfried-Idyll; Gould: Transcriptions from Wagner's 'Die Meistersinger' & 'Götterdämmerung').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glen Gould at his best., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Consort of Musicke Bye William Byrde and Orlando Gibbons (Audio CD)
Listen to this and compare with other versions to show the brilliance of Glen Gould in giving a totally new perspective to the music of Byrd and Gibbons. A good listening experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect clarity, lovely playing, certainly recommended., 31 Aug 2013
By 
B. R. Smith "BRENT" (WEST YORKSHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Consort of Musicke Bye William Byrde and Orlando Gibbons (Audio CD)
This was generally excellent, but a little lacking in variety in the choice of pieces. However, for the purpose (something calming to listen to while writing), it is pleasant without being demanding.
At this price no-one should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More than enough, 9 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Consort of Musicke Bye William Byrde and Orlando Gibbons (Audio CD)
Individually the pieces on this disc are memorable for their fastidious articulation and separated melodic lines: Gould has claimed that Byrd was his favourite composer and his sleeve note argues for the historical and developmental significance of the music here.

As with many current discs of Gould's recordings this one gathers material from several sessions some separated by years. Despite his predilection for a close, dry sound in all his solo piano recordings the sessions do sound different, one seems rather muffled by comparison with the rest.

But when a disc running to less than 43 minutes offers eight shortish pieces from similar schools, several of them sets of variations, it's not to be listened to straight through. Candidly, I felt as if I would get lost if I didn't keep the CD sleeve list to hand and the track display switched on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magesterial, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Consort of Musicke Bye William Byrde and Orlando Gibbons (Audio CD)
Gould brings a crisp elegance to this music
Unfortunately the balance on this recording is wildly flexible from one track to the next
Don't understand why this wasn't smoothed out in the mixing studio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab56f594)

This product

Only search this product's reviews