Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars141
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2012
These are the words of drummer Brian Downey re: Visconti's allegations of overdubbing.

"I have not seen Tony since he started with that nonsense talk.

I do not know why he says such things. Has he become senile? How can he say that Live and Dangerous consists of 75 percent overdubs! It is just not true! Is he trying to take all the credit or what"?

"I know what you hear on the album! Listen, here is some common sense when it comes to live recordings.
How many microphones do you have around a drum kit?
At least fifteen microphones. Understand the leakage into them when you have Phil's bass stack next to them, and me on the other side.
You know how loud I play! Then you have Scott's equipment on top of that. How will you be able to overdub all that? You cannot separate it out of the drum channels!
You can do that now, with computers, but then, in 1978, not a chance"!

The best LIVE rock album ever. End of!
55 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2006
I went to see Thin Lizzy at Manchester Apollo in 1978, it was my first live gig and this album still seems as fresh now as it always did. Lizzy were a phenomenal band live and this captures them at their very best. From the crashing start of Jailbreak, through the mellow laid back Southbound, the hard rocking Rosalie, the emotion laden Still in Love with You, (possibly the best love song ever written), The Cowboy Song....I might as well list every track, it really is that good!
This album totally rocks and if you don't have it, buy it, if you haven't any money, steal it. It is a seminal album and should be in everybody's collection.
Phil Lynott was the driving force behind Thin Lizzy and not only has a brilliantly distinctive voice but his bass lines are superb, in Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson Lizzy had two of the best rock guitarists ever to strap on a guitar and Brian Downey on drums was tasteful and and tight.
For those of you that were there and may have forgotten, they really were as good as you remember them and for those of you that are too young to have been there, buy this, listen to it, and for possibly the only time in your life, wish you were older!
66 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
not much to say on this one. at last a good quality dvd of the live and dangerous era lizzy.

good track listing with songs from jailbreak, bad rep, johnny the fox etc in nice packaging.

bonus features are also great especially the concert from the thunder and lightning tour, live in derby cd (later released as a live album in its own right) and the top of the pops appearances.

dont know why some people may rate this negatively. this is great. for lizzy fans, im sure you have all seen the crap dvds over the years such as live at rockpolast and live in dublin etc.

if you are going to by any thin lizzy dvd, make it this one.

great stuff.

enjoy.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2002
If you're new to Thin Lizzy and don't know much about them, forget any "Best ofs" as this showcases their real greatness.
I've got hundreds of live albums by some wonderful bands but none quite as special as "Live And Dangerous".
Downey was a great drummer and ranks along with Moon, Bonham and Paice. Scot Gorham is a class guitarist as is Brain Robertson.
But Phil Lynott is the man, was Thin Lizzy and quite possibly the ultimate bass player.
The only way to play this album is full volume, in the car stereo as you go of to work, or at home after a stressful day on the hi-fi. Don't worry if you get nicked for disturbing the peace, get a good solicitor who should be able to convince the court that loud classic rock like this is perfectly acceptable.
22 comments|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2003
My brother bought this amazing album back in 1977 & instantly disliked it & thoughtfully gave it to his 12 yr old brother(me).To this day it remains the only decent thing he has given me.
The moment you hear the crowd shouting the Bands name & the first chord of Jailbreak you are hooked.Have not stopped playing it since & remains the only album that I have also bought on CD.
Saw the band 4 times back in the 80's but never got to see the classic quartet of Lynott,Downey,Gorham & Robertson.
Have bought practically everything that the Band produced,however nothing can compare to this.Not many Bands can claim that their live material is better than the studio recordings,but here we have possibly the ultimate live performance.BUY IT.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
This has the Live and Dangerous show that was previously only available on VHS. The couldn't find the original masters or whatnot, as it says on the detailed little fold out booklet that comes with it, but the sound is good none the less. The picture is restored and looks great. The bonus material on this disc is EXCELLENT! It has the 83 show that was filmed for the BBC, and the quality is fantastic. Also there are an abundance of Top of The Pop performances. There's also a little bonus disc for the UK Tour 75 disc that would be later released. It has 7 tracks, and I thought it was a nice addition. Fantastic package for the price. Buy it!
44 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2010
Am going to start off by saying I am totally biased in favour of Thin Lizzy, best live group I ever saw, and I swear to this day that you can hear me in the background (I would say that, wouldn't I) given that I fortunate to be at one of the concerts recorded for this album.

Thin Lizzy live were phenomenal, had to be seen to be believed, with Phil Lynott moving across the stage like a giant spider - had to have the longest legs I've ever seen on anyone. "Live and Dangerous" just captures the sheer lust for life, the fabulous music and the glory that was Thin Lizzy. Was playing this the other day in the car and "Baby Drives Me Crazy" just always hits the spot. I was there, I was lucky, tickets in 1976 / 1977 didn't involve getting another mortgage in order to buy them and the Lizzy delivered, simple as that. Fans of rock music, this is a classic album - a glorious reminder of Mr Lynott, missed to this day.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
I already had the original single disc version of the album and these extra tracks compliment them well.
The album must rank with the best live albums like Deep Purples Made in Japan,the original Wishbone Ash's
Live Dates,Uriah Heep Live and The Allman Brothers Band At Filmore East.Lizzy are captured at their loudest
and raucus best and brings back many happy memories as i saw the band many times in their heyday.
The album really deserves 10 stars.Oh and i found the cheap download price just right .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Awesome, I've always liked Thin Lizzy but didn't actually own anything by them, very remiss of me, but now I have Live and Dangerous - "Is there anyone in the audience with a bit of Irish in them? Are there any girls in the audience who would like a bit more Irish in them?" only Phil Lynott RIP could have got away with asking that. It blasts out the known Lizzy tracks, plus there is the beautiful "Still in love with you" as well - Never too old to Rock
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2012
brilliant I had this on vhs and was pleasantly surprised to find it on dvd clearer than vhs but still retains the old school feeling ! where did the time go?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)