Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
63
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 October 2007
Down an unassuming little side street lies an unassuming little shop, called Temptations Ltd.
It is advisable upon entering this shop to be honest, and not to lie or cheat the proprietor no matter how much you may be tempted!
For if you do, something life threatening, or at least life changing will happen to you.
Shoplifting here carries a very high price indeed.
~~~~
With this interesting and highly original premise, I think what follows are some of the best Horror short stories ever committed to film.
"The Gate Crasher" - a rather blood thirsty tale, in the literal sense, with David Warner and involving an Antique Mirror.
One of his friends has the idea of holding a seance in the same room as the mirror, a very bad idea.
"FEED ME....BLOOD".
"An Act of Kindness" - a man with an unhappy married life tries to impress a down on his luck army veteran by stealing an important medal from Temptations Ltd.
A very bad move, which leads to severe family discord.
"The Elemental" - Ian Carmichael plays a fastidious and devious civil servant who cheats Cushing out of the full price of a snuff box by substituting a cheaper price tag for the real one.
As Cushing amusingly says as Carmichael's character leaves the shop. "I hope you enjoy snuffing it".
"The Door" - A young couple purchase a 16th century door, one night the young man opens the door and finds not the stationery cupboard that should be there but a mysterious blue room. And the room's owner isn't the kind of person you would like living next door to.
Interweaved between these stories are scenes of a dodgy looking character attempting to enter the shop, but hurrying away everytime a customer arrives on the scene, he ends up getting the Point!

The morality of this film is a simple one, honesty is always the best policy.
~~~~
If you like multi story British horror films, you may like these, I find them most satisfying and I hope you do.
Dr Terror's House of Horrors.(1964)
The House that Dripped Blood.(1970)
Asylum.(1972)
Tales From the Crypt.(1972)
Vault of Horror.(1973)
The Monster Club.(1980)
Happy Shivers. Now feed me......BLOOD!
1313 comments| 122 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2007
Sometimes older horror tales told through the scope of short vignettes can be dated and daft, but I really like this collection. Some of the tales are really rather spooky, not with shock-factor blood and guts but more in an eerie and unsettling way... like all the best horror classics, they get in your brain and leave you thinking about them in quite moments afterwards. I also liked the inclusion of morality behind the stories, and the camera work is really quite inventive and well-crafted considering these are not modern productions. Discerning film fans will enjoy this collection immensely... great production, great plots, great actors... great stuff!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
Bought this about 2 years ago and if I ever need frightening I will always put this on, this compilation has 4 stories all interwieved by the excellent Peter Cushing as the owner of an antique shop ,
The first story has David Warner buying a mirror and finding a ghost in the mirror from the past wanting dead bodies to eat a 5/5 story for me ,brilliant.
2nd story stars Donald Pleasence, Diana Dors and Ian Bannen, this involves Ian Bannen pretending he`s a war hero and has weedelling his way into the affections of Pleasences real life daughter Angela with dire consquences.
Story 3 is the worst where Ian Carmichael is haunted by a sort of invisible gremlin,this one is why i`ve given this review 4 stars.

The last story is where the saint (Ian Ogilvy) has bought a door and along with it brings another ghost/zombie, again another 1st class story.
I would recommend this to anybody.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Of all the old vipco/amicus/hammer-style-old horror's, even 10yrs after it came out when i first seen it as a child, this one left the best impression in terms of sheer atmosphere, set pieces, the acting, and that era. As with several in this genre such as 'Vault Of Horror'..'Tales From The Crypt'..'Dr. Terror's House Of Horror's etc... this was and still is one for that typical 'when you've just got in from a late-night out' and these would be on bbc1/bbc2. With fine performances from the late/great peter cushing who needs introduction, to the excellent david warner [pre-the omen] and the saint's-ian ogilvy. A mysterious/sinister-personality of a shop keeper [cushing] of all things 'occult' form around the world serves customers some very dire consequencies who try to 'have him over' so to speak. In All, great-70's era acting, great cars and set pieces in the back-drop from the era, enjoy and re-enjoy.... [Additional, as the european region2 version was expensive, i purchased the more reasonably-priced region1 version fron the U.S., however....what i found confusing on the cover was the odd PG-rating as oppose to the more appropriate 15-rating on the region2. I'm hoping at some point not to find out the region1 version isn't a watered-down/cut version].
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2007
'From Beyond The Grave' is a collection of humorous, but menacing tales of four dishonest people who come to a 'sticky' end for their wicked deeds. Some big names in this including Diana Dors - along with some tremendous performances. Margaret Leighton in particular is fabulous as Madame Orloff - the eccentric Psychic who is wonderful at wrecking your home and charging you for it!!

Marvellous entertainment!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
I first saw this film quite some years ago and once again thoroughly enjoyed watching it. I found that there was much I recalled yet after so long since I had last seen it, it was quite fresh. As a fan of horror films of this sort of age generally I genuinely feel it is worth the 5 stars although I admit a slight bias. The film itself has 5 stories all linked together by a common theme in the anthology style which was very popular at one time- and I have to say it's a style I enjoy. It seems entirely just that of all the customers of the shop, the only character who didn't cheat the shopkeeper (played very ably by the great Peter Cushing) was the only one who survived. That was in the fourth story about the door which led to a blue room. All of the stories are good, with various memorable things about each one, from the odd comic moment in the story about the elemental to that slightly sinister air exuded almost unconsciously by Donald Pleasence. I was interested to learn afterwards, that the actress who played the daughter of Pleasence's character in the film actually was his daughter in real life- Angela Pleasence. And what a weird character she played. I have to say I am fairly new to Amazon Video but l found it streamed without problems and the picture quality was very good. If films of this genre are your thing I wholeheartedly recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2008
A startling cast of eerie British eccentrics gather together for a delirious slice of quaint gothic. A solid roll-call of weirdness conspiring to chill and thrill in a darkly humorous, deadly shiver-some collection of short stories by R. Chetwynd Hayes and transferred to the screen by the excellent Amicus Productions.

'FBTG' is a portmanteau movie (ie, it's divided into segments), a cinema sub-genre whose horror strain was begun in the UK with the (still) genuinely scary 'Dead of Night' in 1945.

Peter Cushing (with an extra-ordinary accent: faintly Yorkshire..but anyone's guess.) plays the laconic owner of Temptations Ltd; a side-street antique shop into which a desperate array of cheats and criminals venture for a 'deal', but each deservedly ends up on the losing end of their particular terrible transaction.
Each customer is as tricky as they come and try to rip old Cushing off, but each finds adjusting his price brings a greater price of its own.

The opening gory story sees the brilliantly sinister David Warner conning old Peter into selling him a mirror for a tenth it's worth and finding out, far too late, it wasn't the wisest course of action he's ever taken. Something nasty and demanding lives in the mirror, and it needs blood to facilitate it's transmutation to the real world.
Warner is excellent as a Poe-type figure descending into madness; trapped in his corpse-strewn apartment, compelled constantly to spill blood for the thing in the mirror.
'Alice Through the Looking Glass' this tale certainly ain't.

Twitchy Ian Bannen's in the next story (remember him in the Peter Collinson/babysitter-in-peril thriller - 'Fright'?), playing a hen-pecked office clerk who invents himself an elaborate fantasy military history to impress a street shoelace salesman; (!) a sly and understated Donald Pleasence.
Stealing a DSO from Temptations Ltd, he then finds himself embroiled with Pleasence and his spooky, wiccan offspring (played by real-life daughter, Angela).
As his own home life is wretched, he finds the lavish food and unconditional respect he enjoys at the Pleasence's much more to his liking.
His seduction by Pleasence's alarming daughter is incredible: "I wish to serve you. I will do anything you ask, you only have to order....." she whispers - oblivious to decades of suffrage and bra-burning - and naturally he can't resist.
Needless to say it all ends badly, with a great twist (you WON'T see it coming), all seemingly overseen by a tut-tutting, sallow-eyed Cushing in his dusty emporium.

Poor old Ian Carmichael is the next to fall to Temptation, naughtily switching the price on a snuff box and finding himself with an evil spirit eating into his shoulder.
Engaging the services of a batty medium who trashes his house but ultimately ousts the creature (known as an elemental), it seems all is well, but it's only the beginning....
This is my favourite episode. Funny and scary in all the right places, with some lightning witty lines, and acted to perfection by Ealing favourite Carmichael; Nyree Dawn Porter - superb as his increasingly terrified wife; and Margaret Leighton - delightfully dotty as the avaricious exorcist.
A magical segment - even in such elevated company.

The final story is probably the weakest but is still good. Ian Ogilvy (" you took him from me, YOU TOOK HIM FROM ME..!!! ") 'purchases' a door which of course has a deRais type occultist and sadist inhabiting the 'Blue Room' beyond it.
This story also has a decent little hook AND the desperately sexy Lesley Ann Down in horrific peril as a redeeming perk, so all's well.

The film culminates with a rather clumsy culmination of the framing story, with a robber, who's been repeatedly disturbed by the various 'clients', finally having a violent crack at poor old 'defenceless' Peter.
Unwise.

'FBTG' is ace. Atmospheric, enthusiastically directed, constantly amusing while at the same time delivering delicious old-fashioned chills.
It has a surprising amount of gore - for those of you interested in that type of thing - and Cushing, mad accent and all, holds the whole thing together with a wicked twinkle.
So horror, humour and hantiques(I am REALLY sorry!): 'FBTG' may not be a horror Rembrandt, but it's certainly an esteemed and worthwhile objet d'art.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
Well possibly they do, but I'd be surprised.

This film is as far removed as can be from the slick, glossy modern American version of horror. Donald Pleasence and his daughter would never win prizes in a beauty contest, but they certainly know how to act witchy.

The film is a "portmanteau" - a series of short stories held together by a central theme. Four customers each buy an item from an antique shop, "Temptations Ltd", managed by the inimitable Peter Cushing. Most of them try to cheat the shop-keeper, and consequently they get into some very sticky situations.

The sticky situations range from a highly conventional businessman being forced to seek exorcism from the gloriously eccentric Madame Orloff [Margaret Leighton] to possibly the worst fate that could befall a human being - Edward Charlton trapped into committing serial murder in "The Gate-Crasher".

Up to the early 1970s, many of us in the UK still felt firmly connected to our peculiarly British past. It's all in this film: the Dickensian grimness, the colourful lunacy, the keeping up of appearances within suffocating relationships, and the timeless pokiness of Peter Cushing's shop.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
For me this just nudges Tales from the Crypt out from the top spot among Amicus portmanteaus, although it's a close-run thing. The Elemental didn't amuse me greatly, but the other three stories are among the best Amicus ever made. The wrapper is good, too, even if Mr Cushing from Kenley, Surrey, doesn't quite pull off a northern accent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2009
This film consists of four stories all revolving around a quirky antique shop with Peter Cushing as the proprietier.In all instances the customers who enter the shop and browse about make a purchase and manage in some way to dupe the unsuspecting shopkeeper out of the full price of their trinket of choice or in one case, exchange the price tag for a cheaper one. In the first tale, a young gentleman purchases an ornately guided mirror for a fraction of the asking price and gets more than he bargained for after holding a seance one night in his apartment. A ghostly face appears in the mirror speaking in dried up ghastly voice, the young man is then forced to go on a number of gruesome killing errands for his new ghoulish aquaintance. In another instance, a buissnessman is reluctantly persuaded to seek the assistance of an eccentric clairevoyant to rid himself of an unwanted invisible "elemental" who causes a consderable amount of domestic disharmony to both him and his wife after decieving the antique dealer on the price of a small snuff box. In the final story another young man purchases a heavy wooden door with a large carving of a lions' head to replace the door on a stationery cupboard.One day he opens the door to a very eerie blue stone room with a tall stained glass window and an archaic and not all together friendly inhabitant. This drama results in having to take an axe to the door to destroy the uncanny room and and the malevolent prescence. At the end we see that the shopkeeper is almost robbed at gunpoint by a shady character who is seen every so often lurking about near the store, he also ends up with a nasty surprise. The dealer remains unharmed and lives to continue his buisness, that's how the film concludes. If you are a fan of seventies horror films you may well find this entertaining or you like tales with a lesson to them. The theme seems to be throughout this that it's always best to be honest. This is an anthology style film in the mould of "Tales from the crypt".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)