Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta move with the times !
One of my favourite mix albums of 2008 !!!

I really can't understand why people are giving this a hard time.
Dance music is a constantly evolving creature and DJs such as Harry Choo Choo are artists who like to find new sounds, grooves and textures in thier music.
Every time I hear a new mix from Harry (which is never often enough !) there is always a...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by Agent Cooper

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so......
I wouldn't go as far as giving this album the 1 or 2 star treatment, because i've actually found it to be quite enjoyable. What I do find a bit wrong however is that reviewers are slating the album because it's failed t live up to their 'expectations' - not what it actually is.
What's important to remember is that this album, like all the others in the series, is...
Published on 21 Nov 2007 by Picard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so......, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sessions - Harry 'Choo Choo' Romero (Audio CD)
I wouldn't go as far as giving this album the 1 or 2 star treatment, because i've actually found it to be quite enjoyable. What I do find a bit wrong however is that reviewers are slating the album because it's failed t live up to their 'expectations' - not what it actually is.
What's important to remember is that this album, like all the others in the series, is called 'Sessions', and doesn't hint on the cover at what character of music it covers. Therefore, I just slapped it on the other night, and took it in without 'expecting' it to be anything, and it's definitely a great album for the night.
In some respect, its quite refreshing that its not just pure boring electro - it only mildly covers it, while combining lots of vocals and smooth mixing.
With a Sessions album, its a gamble as to which mixes are included. Therefore, you're only going to appreciate it if you just focus on surprise rather than 'what's hot' at the moment in clubs.
But, cut long story short, this is still only a fairly good album. If you're looking for something new and fresh this winter, this may be a good choice, but if you want what's happening in the clubs at the moment, this may appear a class apart in the wrong direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please bring back the REAL sound of Subliminal records!!, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Lee Reid (Burnham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sessions - Harry 'Choo Choo' Romero (Audio CD)
I orderd this mix because iv always been a fan of subliminal records, But i was so disappointed with this mix,its a noisey,very comercial mix electro house that i supose is the sound of today, but thinking back to the dayz of the Da Dronez crew,hazin+phazin,cro magnen,just cant get enough,So lonely,Night@the black, to name a few HCCR gems,To me that was the real sound off sublimnal not this gabbage!, I miss those dayz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 16 July 2009
By 
N. naylor (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sessions - Harry 'Choo Choo' Romero (Audio CD)
disappointed with this album, there are a couple of good tracks but album overall does not compare to previous 'sessions' albums that i have bought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sessions Harry Choo Choo Romero, 4 Dec 2007
By 
C. Allen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sessions - Harry 'Choo Choo' Romero (Audio CD)
Apparently this is the last in the Sessions series of the year, and after an amazing start, the last two releases have lost their way a bit, and i'm afraid this is a bad end to the series. Other reviewers have commented on the fact this is not HCCR's best mix, and i tend to agree, as i've always been a fan of said DJ, but this fails to deliver.
There was a couple of decent tracks though, inc Bellatrix Feat. Sophie May - I Can't Help Myself (Laidback Luke Bella Vocal Mix) & Jerry Ropero & Michael Simon vs. Mendonca - Do Rio Berimbau.
Despite this poor release, i do hope the series returns in 2008, and i'm sure it will return with a bang!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 5 Nov 2007
This review is from: Sessions - Harry 'Choo Choo' Romero (Audio CD)
I bought this album as I am a great fan of "Subliminal" and in particular the dark, percussion driven sound of HCCR.

This is not what you would expect (and in my case hoped!) from HCCR. It is a techy almost minimal mix - no trace of the tribal/filtered funk signature sound.

Some may say that this is the direction house music is heading - in which case I must admit that I am getting too old and hang up my dancing shoes once and for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta move with the times !, 20 Oct 2008
This review is from: Sessions - Harry 'Choo Choo' Romero (Audio CD)
One of my favourite mix albums of 2008 !!!

I really can't understand why people are giving this a hard time.
Dance music is a constantly evolving creature and DJs such as Harry Choo Choo are artists who like to find new sounds, grooves and textures in thier music.
Every time I hear a new mix from Harry (which is never often enough !) there is always a progression in his musical direction. He often goes for more Techno orientated grooves than other "House" DJs.........the main reason why I like his music selection so much.
Yes, there is a more minimal feel to this mix, but always with that essential funky groove to it, and it also has the anthemic "Rise Up" which is as "Big Room" as you can get.
Harry has given us his take on the sounds of "now" which is what a DJ of his stature should be doing, not churning out the same stuff that was cool 7 years ago.
If you are not used to this style of House music, give it a few more plays and it will grow on you.

PS. Worth noting that Danny Tenaglias' "Futurism" CD mix is in a similar vain, and is also amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sessions - Harry 'Choo Choo' Romero
Sessions - Harry 'Choo Choo' Romero by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews