Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appropriately Titled Triple Mix CD
Finally, it seems we may have a new triple mix CD to rival Tom Middleton's classic 'The Sound of the Cosmos.' New York based disco genius, Francois K was chosen by the Ministry of Sound to compile and mix 'Masterpiece' and they couldn't have picked a better man for the job. Listeners expectations would be high of any CD with a title this bold, so Francois pulled out all...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by R. Mullaney

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 CD,s but only one standout.
I agree with Huntley's review above - the first CD is unimpressive, the second better and CD really hits the spot. I would have just released that one alone, or a double set with Disc 2 and 3. Dunno why they did it this way.

Anyway as long as you get this for a good price it is worth it for CD 3.
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by Ziontrain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appropriately Titled Triple Mix CD, 19 Feb 2008
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masterpiece Created By Francois K (Audio CD)
Finally, it seems we may have a new triple mix CD to rival Tom Middleton's classic 'The Sound of the Cosmos.' New York based disco genius, Francois K was chosen by the Ministry of Sound to compile and mix 'Masterpiece' and they couldn't have picked a better man for the job. Listeners expectations would be high of any CD with a title this bold, so Francois pulled out all the stops to deliver an amazing mix.

The mix is split into 3 different sounds, inspired by cities Francois loves and regularly plays in:

Disc 1: Napoli. This is the big room house CD. The ambient intro morphs into Dubfire's 'Ribcage' and sets the tone for the mix. Francois blends deep house, minimal techno, acid and peak time floorfillers to create an exciting but accessible mix that's not too underground but still doesn't tread old ground.

Disc 2: Manchester. Techno. Francois is just as happy dropping techno cuts from Len Faki, Airfrog and Joris Voorn. High tempo and high energy mix.

Disc 3: Tokyo. This is an interesting mix. Things start very slow and low and get a little more eclectic. There is still a house sense to proceedings but nodding towards slower funk and electronica.

Overall, this is one hell of a listening experience. Sometimes the mixing can be a little urgent and there is the odd galloping beat but Francois K is a master of creating a vibe through music and he certainly delivers a masterpiece.

Like this? Try: The Sound of the Cosmos - Tom Middleton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Essential Mix..., 29 Feb 2008
By 
Lee J. Garrington "Lee" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masterpiece Created By Francois K (Audio CD)
Francois K's `Essential Mix' double CD release from 2000 is the finest mix CD I own, so any new release from the man is always something to look forward to, especially one covering 3 CDs! So how does this mix compare to that classic? Well the two are very different. Essential Mix was a wildly eclectic freestyle mix covering everything from Dub Techno, to Funk, Afro-House to Hip-Hop. Masterpiece is essentially an in-depth exploration of House, Techno and the cross over between the two.

CD1 contains the big tunes, which are proven to work the floors across the world. However there is nothing obvious about the selection. Standouts include the ominous, skeletal Villalobos rework of Shakleton's `Blood on my hands', Dubfire's forceful Techno on `Ribcage' and deep electronic classic `Shrinkansen' by Tom Middleton. The only letdown is the Deadmau5 track, which to me sounds like generic Trance.

CD2 increases the pace with the finest Techno mix I have heard since John Selway's `Lightwave' mix from a few years ago. There is a perfect balance between harder tracks and a deeper Detroit flavoured approach as well as a good balance between forgotten classics and standout new releases. The move from Fumiya Tanaka's percussive minimalism into Joris Voorn's widescreen euphoric Techno shows a true master at work. Ben Simm's acid track leads into timeless Detroit gems from Kenny Larkin and Rob Hood. By the time you hear the classic `Time, Space, Transmat' refrain on `Nightdrive (thru Babylon), you know Techno does not get much better than this.

CD3 is the most varied of the three where we get something nearer to what Francois would play on one of his `anything goes' mixes. We start off with a quite experimental electronic sound and a great mix of `little fluffy clouds'. Some off-the-wall house gives way to deep house music with an increasingly afro-centric vibe and some deep and percussive tribal business. Finishing with some real-deal wild African street funk from Congo's finest Konono No 1. Personally, I would have liked CD3 to be less House-oriented and to feature more Drum n Bass, Dub or Dubstep for example but hey this is a Ministry of Sound mix!

Overall another superb selection from one of the worlds finest DJs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix - listenable again and again, 8 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. B. Hillis (Windsor, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masterpiece Created By Francois K (Audio CD)
I received this free on joining a well known London club. It is a hugely enjoyable mix. I have found it both accessible and long-lasting, and have continued to listen to it for much longer than comparable mixes. The 3 CD set mixes well known tracks and lesser known numbers.
CD 1 - accessible sinuous house and trance
CD 2 - brilliant - maintains the pace and the interest - tracks 04 to 06 are superb
CD 3 - more varied
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 CD,s but only one standout., 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Masterpiece Created By Francois K (Audio CD)
I agree with Huntley's review above - the first CD is unimpressive, the second better and CD really hits the spot. I would have just released that one alone, or a double set with Disc 2 and 3. Dunno why they did it this way.

Anyway as long as you get this for a good price it is worth it for CD 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very much like his live sets..., 15 Sep 2008
By 
C. A. Mckee (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masterpiece Created By Francois K (Audio CD)
I would tend to agree with the other more critical review of this compilation, am just giving it another listen through since I got it way back at the beginning of the year. The first cd is really the only one with any sense of direction, with some nice foot tapping ebbs and flows. The second cd is a perfect cd after a night out with some nice classics, but a little too slow for my liking, the third is more of the same, and dare I say it, verging on tedium.
Unfortunately with it being a big label release, most of the tracks ( on the first cd in particular) feel a bit dated. Its a nice overview of some pretty good tracks from the previous year but nothing more. The second and third cds seem a bit like some of the more relaxed sets I have seen (6hrs... 70mins he easily could have just played one of these cds). This is a tribute to the artist as the production is nice and smooth, there are no jarring cuts or drops.
In honesty I would have expected something a little more adventurous from a DJ such as francois K, and this falls way short on that. What it does succeed in is making some nice background music (dare I say chillout) for afterhours etc. If this was the intention then fair enough. If it was to make a masterpiece, and if you are looking for a masterpiece, then look somewhere else! All this seems to do is slot very nicely in line with all the bleep around at the moment, if that's your cup of tea then you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unimpressive, 24 Aug 2010
Not impressed at all by this compilation. at all... some nice tunes and the mixes are well done BUT the choice of the tunes is average at best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FK Masterpiece, 1 April 2008
By 
A. P. Huntley (Wales(Newport)/Melbourne, AU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masterpiece Created By Francois K (Audio CD)
CD1 Average
CD2 Average
CD3 Understated
Always a risk working for the big record companys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masterpiece Created By Francois K
Masterpiece Created By Francois K by François K. (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews