Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid And Rugged
Amazingly fast transfer speed. Simply plug it in and save - it's as easy as that. I was astonished to watch my music collection transfer into the XT at around 4 seconds per album! Included is a tough white lanyard with handy plastic clip with which to easily attach and remove the Patriot XT. This wonderful device has hung around my neck on hot sweaty train journeys and...
Published on 30 Jun 2008 by Cliff White

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes 8GB and its fast but...
i dont know whether i am the only person who has usb sticks and loses the end to them all the time, but if you are like me then definitely dont buy this product. the rubber end doesnt even clip securely. the fact that it is rubber on the metal insertion piece is supposed to compensate for its grip. it doesn't.

also, i was particularly looking for a durable usb...
Published on 3 Mar 2009 by Reuben Lowe


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rapid And Rugged, 30 Jun 2008
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Amazingly fast transfer speed. Simply plug it in and save - it's as easy as that. I was astonished to watch my music collection transfer into the XT at around 4 seconds per album! Included is a tough white lanyard with handy plastic clip with which to easily attach and remove the Patriot XT. This wonderful device has hung around my neck on hot sweaty train journeys and even to a festival - and still works perfectly thanks to its durable rubber housing. The rubber cap is not physically tied to the XT's body but has never shown the slightest sign of slipping off. This is a well thought-out product which I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 1 Aug 2008
By 
DWM (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Does everything it says it would. Both computers I use it on find it immediately and download is seriously fast. Whay does anyone bother with burning discs anymore?! For a non-IT junkie I still find it amazing that you can carry around so much memory in a small stick. Great value - buy one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, tough, good capacity, 15 Sep 2008
By 
Paul - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Although the product is now more expensive than when I bought it just a week ago (paid 17.99) I think it still represents value for money. It has a tough rubbery exterior, with a rubber cap. There is a lug for a lanyard too.
It's quicker than any other USB stick I've used with XP, and with Vista it's simply awesome.

There are of course cheaper and smaller products available, but if you want something tougher that you can still feel in your pocket, or want to take a spot of wear and tear in bags or cases, this is the product for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Patriot is fast and reliable - although...., 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
I was thinking of upgrading the capacity of my Flash memory and reviewed lots of different alternatives on the net. The Patriot caught my attention with it's striking black and red design...it looked kind of manly :) It actually functions brilliantly, it's V Fast and it also works with Vista to expand the ram capacity.

Now for the negative stuff -
It's a little on the large side because it is encased in rubber (on the positive side the rubber offers protection and waterproofing, it's pretty indestructable).
The other point is that I have lost the USB cover/cap, becasue it completely seperates from the body of the stick. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB Pen Drive, 27 Mar 2008
By 
Terry (Evesham, WORCs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
If you want a FAST,rugged USB Pen Drive,this is the one. 8gb capacity,Patriots lifetime guarantee, and Amazon's great price,why look further.Plugged in,my computer found it straight away and you won't believe how quick and easy file transfers become.Wished I had bought one years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast/Reliable, 23 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Used countless times over the last couple of months and faced no issues despite it's rapid read/write speeds. It feels solid and looks the business.

Edit: 16th June (8 months after review) Still has never failed me even though I use it a lot!

Edit: 31st Oct (12 months after review) The rubber lid may, perhaps, be less tight that it used to be. Removing the drive from my bag/pocket, at times, results in the lid being shoved off. Not really an issue (especially after 1 year of very frequent use) but now it's easier to lose the cap.
Reliability and speed is still solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some usage stats:, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
This pen drive comes in shrink-wrap and includes a white lanyard and a USB 2.0 extension cable (about 30cm / 12in long). Some real-life usage stats for you guys:

These tests were performed under Linux. (Ubuntu 10.04 LTS)
The USB stick was formatted as NTFS.
For anyone interested, I used /dev/shm/ as my RAMdisk.
The file used was a 350MB *.avi file.

Copy from RAMdisk to Patriot USB stick:
1 file @ 350MB (367019896 bytes) - 0:33.61 (~10.4MB/s write)
Move from RAMdisk to Patriot USB stick:
1 file @ 350MB (367019896 bytes) - 0:32.63 (~10.7MB/s write)

Copy from Patriot USB stick to RAMdisk:
1 file @ 350MB (367019896 bytes) - 0:12.36 (~28.3MB/s read)
Move from Patriot USB stick to RAMdisk:
1 file @ 350MB (367019896 bytes) - 0:11.27 (~31.1MB/s read)

I can confirm that this drive DOES meet the Xbox 360 required speed stats and thus will work as an external device. However, due to the bulky casing it will not fit at the rear of the legacy white Xbox 360 Premium (20GB). On the other hand it does fit easily into the two front facing ports.

I am unable to test it on the new Xbox 360 S.

The rubber case is very rugged and, as per the packaging, 'splashproof'. (Well, I got drenched in the rain and it was fine in my pocket). The only gripe I have is that you can use the end as EITHER a lanyard connector OR to hold the cap when in use. Not both, as the lid simply falls off if you try to use it while attached to a lanyard.

Overall, I rate this product 5*. Excellent value for money - served its purpose well. I am impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Fast!, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Simon Oram "Simon" (South East London (UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Great! Took it out of its packaging, pluged it in and straight away it came up. No more waiting around. And files transfer at super fast speeds! The thick rubber covering the stick does its job and protects the usb from any damage including water. You could chuck it around and it would carry on working. Even though the lid is not fastened on, there is little chance of it coming of and getting lost. Overall a great buy and is definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 15 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. D Camm "therealdjcamm" (Falmouth, Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
WOW, this is the best USB memory stick ive ever had, and trust me ive got through quite a few in the past five years...

I'm a Sixth Form student and its 8GB capacity is perfect for storing and transporting all of my work around, ranging from photoshop files to powerpoint 2007 documents. Its uberfast transfer rate means work can be loaded and saved much quicker than with conventional memory sticks. And its rubber outer casing is a fantastic design inovation, no more brakages at the bottom of my bag or under my books. The cap is rubberised as well and although there is no true catch to secure it the rubbers tight grip keeps it on no matter what.

Its also supplied with a male to female USB cable incase you have to use an older maching where the designers obviously hadnt thought about people using USB memory sticks...

Oh and it looks cool aswell, with the red and the black, overall 5/5* :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but don't get too enthusiastic, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Norberto Amaral (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patriot XT Boost 200X 8GB USB 2.0 Rugged Waterproof and Shock Resistant Flash Drive (Personal Computers)
Every reviewer of this USB flash drive is quite enthusiastic about it. I'm too, but I must dampen that a bit with a few calls to reality:
- It is too thick and too long, probably one of the largest of the kind currently on the market
- The rubber casing is of that kind that keeps attracting dust and all kinds of fibres, so forget about keeping this squeaky clean all the time
- The rubber cover doesn't inspire too much confidence: it seems to be wanting to fall off at any time
- The strap that comes with this is made of an ugly white polyester piece of string. It looks ugly, is ugly, and can only get even uglier after getting dirty and impossible to clean

Having that said all this: this is a beautiful piece of kit and by far the fastest I've ever seen. Kudos!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews