Customer Reviews


529 Reviews
5 star:
 (273)
4 star:
 (115)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Epic Cinema Experience
I'm not going to rate the film, that's been done to death everywhere else. What I'm going to do is rate the High-Def experience you'll be getting:

Visual: 300 visually is a stunning film. The 'crushing' technique is akin to the graphic-novel counterpart and really sets the atmosphere beautifully. I know very well that such a harsh technique will not appeal to...
Published on 22 Aug 2007 by L. Otto

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FILM
This is a good film and well worth watching.
I enjoyed it for what it was an action film.
As an action film in my opinion it doesn't have to be too believable, look at any shooting scene in a film bullets flying everywhere no one hit. Or some one gets hit in the arm and go's ow! and carries on running .
Hardly realistic.
No this was fun and the story...
Published on 16 April 2008 by Stephen R. Marsh


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Epic Cinema Experience, 22 Aug 2007
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm not going to rate the film, that's been done to death everywhere else. What I'm going to do is rate the High-Def experience you'll be getting:

Visual: 300 visually is a stunning film. The 'crushing' technique is akin to the graphic-novel counterpart and really sets the atmosphere beautifully. I know very well that such a harsh technique will not appeal to everyone but I will say that without it the film would be left a little lackluster. Moving on to the real High Definition detail: 300 is definitely not the most detailed blu-ray film around; it certainly doesn't show off the true potential of a blu-ray disc (this is more due to the post processing of the film than anything else) but it still looks crisp, vibrant and very detailed. And if I instilled doubt in anyone reading this then please, ignore it. The film looks breathtaking and definitely deserves a 4/5 for visuals alone.

Audio: Deep, clear, haunting and definitely the best audio experience I've had in a while. 5.1 surround sound really immerses you in the experience and makes you feel you are there in the middle of the action. All I need is a red cape and I'm good to go! ;)

Features: I keep reading that blu-ray movies have no extra features or something..I won't go into it but if that's a doubt for anyone here, then drop it immediately. There is a ton of extra features that include deleted scenes, cast and crew interviews, directors commentaries, webisodes (short behind the scenes videos covering everything from makeup and costume design to how the 300 got such buff bodies) and more. The extra features alone would give this film a 5/5.

In conclusion, 300 is definitely a film to add to your blu-ray film collection. Visually stunning with incredible audio to match, and a host of extra features to give die-hard fans a second helping of possibly the greatest action film ever! I'm going to confirm what everyone is saying; 300 is region ABC or regionless (whichever you prefer) and WILL run on UK PS3s. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 150 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a review of the actual dvd rather than the film, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Brief note on the film first: a very stylised version of what the battle of thermopylae may have been like, adapted from a graphic novel and filmed with back projection to make it look as much as like the comic as possible. The result is really quite stunning, and the action and battle sequences very rousing. And bloody. The film is framed with one spartan telling others what happened, and thus what you are seeing is what they think it must have been like. This is a point lots of people seem to have missed.

As regards the dvd: this is a two disc edition, and the first disc contains a widescreen version of the film, with direct scene access, and a commentary from the director and two of the production staff.

The second disc has:

be one of three hundred: a brief bit with the director giving thanks to those who supported the project online.

A documentary about the battle. twenty five minutes long with contributions from historians and it's fascinating stuff.

A documentary about the spartans. Short but good.

Conversations with the creator of the graphic novel. Brief but interesting.

A short and generic production documentary.

a look at the making of the film in images. fascinating but moves very fast and be warned if you're eplipetic as the fast moving could give you a fit.

lots of short production documentaries, that are all quite interesting, and can be watched as one.

A great film.

And a very good package for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and highly graphic., 18 Nov 2014
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all historical buffs is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Based on Frank Miller's 1998 graphic novel series of the same name, 300 is a fictionalized retelling of the Battle of Thermopylae between Spartan & Persian armies which also succeeds as a visually arresting tale of bravery, courage & patriotism and brings a comic book to life in such a highly stylized manner that it ends up delivering a unique & ultra-cool cinematic experience to its viewers.

If I've to sum it up in a sentence, what actually makes this movie work against all odds is its near-perfect blend of stylish direction from Zack Snyder, engrossing tale of heroism, larger- than-life action, arresting cinematography, ground-breaking visual effects, catchy one-liners, intriguing characters, strong performances from its cast, meticulous sound, cut-throat editing & grandeur soundtrack.

Amongst the performances, the sheer intensity with which Gerard Butler brings King Leonidas to life can be strongly felt in his roaring voice that echoes throughout the film. He is a big factor behind this movie's rousing success & is nicely supported by the rest of the cast. As for the things which might disappoint some viewers, 300 has many, ranging from historical inaccuracy to very racist depiction of Persian army yet it still delivers what it set out to do.

On an overall scale, this action fantasy is a visual feast for the eyes that takes over the screen like an invading horde & promises to leave you more than satisfied. With its scope of a classic epic, thrilling battle sequences & impressive production, 300 is a visually stunning & wildly entertaining piece of historical fantasy about bravery & blood, and succeeds majorly because of the stylish depictions of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'SURRENDER NOT AN OPTION', 27 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
'300' is one of those movies that deserve a frequent re-visit....it's a truly magnificent spectacle.
We begin with the young 'Leonidas' having to complete a long and hard initiation/trial to be
accepted as a 'Spartan' warrior.
Years have past, 'Leonidas' a King, husband and father......
A threat looms down upon 'Sparta' as 'Persian' hoards approach the empire, self proclaimed
'God' 'Xerxes' sends messengers to 'King Leonidas' offering a peace if he and his people
submit to his will and rule, the 'Spartan' king gives his answer.
The Spartans will now have to face the invader, 'Leonidas' seeks council climbing a difficult
rock-face to consult with the 'Oracle' before going to war, he tells of his plans to march north
to the mountain pass known as 'Hot Gate' at 'Thernopylae' to face the 'Persian' army.
A select few, the finest and bravest soldiers are selected to march north with their 'King' just
'300' to face 'Xerxes' massive force.
At 'Thernopylae' the '300' repel attack after attack, even monsters from far off lands are no
match for the 'Spartan' warriors.
'Xerxes' sends in his personal guards the undefeatable 'Immortals' to crush the defenders,
seemingly even they are no match for the skills of the '300'
Meanwhile back in 'Sparta' there is a rebellion mounting against the Kings actions led by the
leading politician who imposes himself upon 'Leonidas's' wife 'Queen Gorgo' in return for
her to address the parliament.
All this while the battle rages, want-to-be 'Spartan warrior' hunchback 'Ephialtes' having been
rejected for the fight turns traitor offering 'Xerxes' help guiding the Persians to the rear of the
'Spartan' defence.
A swords and shields spectacle to behold with frequent bloody and graphic battle scenes.
Special Features:
* Additional scenes- of the traitorous 'Hunchback' and never-before-seen 'Giant Warriors(in HD)
* Frank Miller's vision realised on film(in HD)
* 300 Spartans -fact or fiction - the shocking life of a Spartan revealed(in HD)
* Who were the Spartans ?
* How the actors built their characters based on Spartan customs(in HD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "This is blasphemy!", 13 Mar 2009
By 
Graeme Brown (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No. This is a bargain!

Zack Snyder's faithful adaptation of Frank Miller's seminal comic series is easily one of the most visually stunning films to be released in recent years and absolutely made for Blu-ray. Gerard Butler is excellent as the Spartan King Leonidas leading 300 of Sparta's finest into battle against the Persian hordes of the 'God King' Xerxes. The incredible, stylized action scenes are offset by political wrangling as Queen Gorgo (the gorgeous Lena Headey) desperately tries to convince the Spartan council to send troops to support the 300 on their nigh impossible mission.

Spending less than £20 on a Blu-ray disc isn't bad but for such a sensational film? It's a no brainer. Sex, violence, a legendary, action packed story-line and a wonderful cast - do yourself a favor and add this to your collection today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is SPARTA!, 15 July 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Frank Miller adaptations are on a roll. First we got "Sin City," and now we have the story of three hundred Spartans who repelled a massive invasion.

And the adaptation of "300" is a stunning one -- literally stunning, since it bombards the viewer with larger-than-life characters, smashing visuals and tight direction. It goes a bit too fast for its own good, but it's a truly epic film that takes the historical war movie to another level -- all the more so because it actually happened.

As the introduction tells us, the Spartans were the ultimate warrior people. Babies were inspected for weakness or faults, and killed if they had any; as they were growing up, they were taught and toughened by a savage regimen. Their only true hope was to "die beautifully" for their land.

A Persian messenger arrives, telling King Leonidas (Gerard Butler) that the god-king Xerxes (Rodrigo Santoro) wants the Spartans to bow to him. Leonidas' response: shove the Persians into a pit. But before he can go to war, he must consult the corrupt priesthood of Ephors and their beautiful Oracle. She predicts that Sparta will fall and the gods forbid war at the approach of the Carneaian festival -- courtesy of a hefty bribe from a Spartan traitor.

So Leonidas takes out three hundred of his best men, along with their nervy Arcadian allies, and begin trouncing the Persians. But they are being sabotaged, both by a hunchbacked outcast and by a treacherous councilor, whom Queen Gorgo (Lena Headey) is battling. And so at Thermopylae, Leonidas prepares for a final battle against the monstrous Persian Army -- knowing that their story of freedom will live on.

This is not a "sensitive" movie where you have any appreciation for the bad guys -- it's a glorification of three hundred soldiers who died for their land and freedom. It just wouldn't work otherwise. It doesn't blindly adore the Spartans -- we see their darker side in their "weed out the weak" policy -- but it does appreciate them. They respect and care about each other, and Leonidas is as kind as he can be even to Ephialtes, the traitor.

And it's done in a manner appropriate to its comic book origins -- grimy, bloody and epic, but with a stylized look that is almost like CGI. The battles are shockingly good, and full of fantasy-ish creations like the monstrous creatures or the silver-masked Immortals. Even a wall of corpses. But we also get some beautiful visuals as well -- roiling seas, sunlit battlefields, Spartan cities, and the drugged Oracle in her white veil.

While the script gets a bit over-the-top at times, it's hard not to be moved by dialogue that can be darkly funny ("It's just an eye. The gods saw fit to grace me with a spare") or stirring ("He did not wish tribute, nor song, or monuments or poems of war and valor. His wish was simple: "Remember us." That was his hope, should any free soul come across that place, in all the countless centuries yet to be").

Butler and Headey are simply great as Leonidas and Gorgo -- they're both strong, passionate and fearless, and they both do a great job in their separate storylines. But the movie is filled with good performances -- David Wenham as the narrator, Dominic West as a disgusting traitor, Santoro as the decadent, arrogant god-king, and many others.

"300" is a unique, stirring, stunning movie that pushes the action-movie envelope, and gives a thrilling edge to a real-life story of overwhelming edge. A brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 300 - Impressive reimagining of the legend, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
The battle of Thermopylae has entered into legend as one of the greatest acts of courage and sacrifice, as 300 Spartan warriors lay down their lives in a battle against insurmountable odds in order to delay the Persian advance across Greece long enough for a proper defence to be mounted. Due to their self sacrifice the Persian threat was repulsed.

This film reimagines this historic battle in a comic book fashion, and a highly entertaining tale that gets one caught right up in the excitement is the result. The high principles of the Spartans, the courage of Leonides and his followers, the exciting fight sequences, all makes for a good action romp. Everything is very much overdone, the bad guys are grotesque, the good guys are strikingly buff, the violence gory. The use of CGI'd blood is plentiful but justified. Not a film for the fainthearted, it is a good entertaining hundred minutes that is a bit different from the herd.

The only weak point is Gerard Butler's very Scottish accent, for much of the film tis great Greek King sounds a lot like Sean Connery. But apart from that it's all good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think!, 26 Sep 2010
By 
M. Young (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Originaly i had no interest in this film because it was all CG, that was untill i bought it out of boredom one night on my IPOD. Being a huge Greek History geek! i can tell you most of this film is pretty damn accurate to the actuall accounts from Herodotus and Plutarch. In some instances word for word. Not only that, it is a fantastic film to watch that got reviews less good than it deserved, much like Beowulf. 300 is action packed, a little shallow admitted, but there are some fantastic fight scenes and the film portrays the Spartan Warrior as he has been written in history - fearless, brutal, merciless, powefull and in the middle of the great and mighty war their society had bred them for.

It beats Troy and Clash of the Titans as a great Greek epic put on screen. However the only problem is how the Persians were portrayed. Granted they were easy for the Greeks to hold back and slaughter just as the film shows and the historical books tell us. But King Xerxes was a tough bastard as well and being shown to be a little bit feminine was odd. The ancient Kings of Persia were said to have been thrown into cages with lions with nothing but a small dagger, and underwent harsh warrior training techniques like the Spartan Agoge. But! I highly recommend this film. Gerard Butler makes an excellent Leonidas, his look and his accent somehow add to that image of the powerful and mighty Spartan Warrior and he also makes a better job of his role than Brad Pitt did as Achilles or Sam Worthington did as Perseus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Langages & subtitles, 11 Feb 2009
By 
P. David (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Langages :

English DolbyTrueHD 5.1
English PCM 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1 : English, French, German, Italian, Spanish

Subtitles :
English, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish.

Pour les francophones : allez-y sans crainte, c'est exactement le même blu-ray que celui vendu chez nous à l'exception de la jaquette (en anglais).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (when taken for what it is), 4 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: 300 [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I approached this film in two minds. I'd read a lot about its inconsistencies and historical distortions, and even suggestions of homophobia and racism.
First time I watched 300, I didn't really enjoy it. This can be put down to watching it on a 15" poor quality TV.
I decided to give it a second go - watching it in high definition on a 42", and the difference was staggering. I'm now very much a fan.
Regarding the historical mistruths - these are easily explained by it being based on a comic book and not history.
300 has little to no plot, but it is a pure, visually stunning, adrenaline filled, testosterone pumped dream (or nightmare depending on your tastes).
Taken for what it is (a comic book brought to life), it's hard to take negative claims against it seriously, because the film itself is not serious outside of its own narrow origins.
If you are looking for a film with depth and meaning, please avoid this film at all costs. If you are looking for an exciting, visually impressive comic book action film, then walk this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

300 [HD DVD]
300 [HD DVD] by Zack Snyder (HD DVD - 2007)
£4.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews