Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Watch
This watch is sweet. I have been thinking about getting a G-Shock for a while and this really caught my eye. What makes it stand out is the negative face, the digits are clear whilst the rest of the face is dark. Hope that makes sense but as you can see from the picture, it looks cool.

Anyway, what does this watch have. There are no fancy functions, just a...
Published on 19 July 2009 by Brian Hamilton

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Seller to lazy to make sure its the right item
Disappointing. Didn't get the right item, received the g-shock watch without the black screen not as pictured. Be prepared to mess about sending stuff back
Published 28 days ago by MR JL Walker


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Watch, 19 July 2009
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
This watch is sweet. I have been thinking about getting a G-Shock for a while and this really caught my eye. What makes it stand out is the negative face, the digits are clear whilst the rest of the face is dark. Hope that makes sense but as you can see from the picture, it looks cool.

Anyway, what does this watch have. There are no fancy functions, just a basic set comprising world time, stopwatch, alarm and countdown timer. Each of these functions are well thought out and comprehensive (well as far as they can be).

The alarm for instance, has a snooze function, there are five different alarms that can be set and you have the option of having LED's on the face flash as the alarm goes off. So, as I say, pretty comprehensive.

There is another function I really like on this watch, auto illumination. The light comes on when you lift the watch to read it. This function actually works, and to save battery power it deactivates after six hours. A cracking little function and really handy when working late in to the night.

The build quality is good too, well finished with a resin strap, it seems pretty bombproof given the price.

A very nice watch for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - loads of functions, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
This is quite simply a cracking watch.

It hasn't lost or gained any time in the few weeks I've had it. Amazing for a watch that doesn't set itself automatically via the atomic clock.

There are plenty of holes in the strap to fit even the thinnest wrist and the watch is not as big as I feared. Most G Shocks are huge but this one is in the medium category these days.

The watch is easy to set up. Just press adjust on the relevant screen and cycle through the options.

The face has three main information windows and a framed sub-window. There is also a set of tick boxes around the face that turn on one at a time every second. They whizz back to zero by rapidly switching themselves off in reverse order at the end of each minute. There is also a small section at the bottom of the face that shows if an Alarm is Set, if the Snooze is on, if the hourly Signal is on, if the buttons are set to Mute and if the Auto Illumination feature is on. (Auto Illumination mode means that the light will come on every time you flip your wrist around to look at the watch. Handy for those winter-time runs)

You can set the contrast of the display (I have never seen that on a watch before) from 1-7. I have left it at the midpoint of 4 and it is easy enough to read.

In normal time mode, the top window can display either the year; or the number of days elapsed so far this year as well as the number of days left; or the time (hours and minutes) only in another time zone of your choosing. The sub-window always shows the day of the week and also the Week of the year except when in dual time mode when it shows the time zone you have selected. There are three different settings for week of the year, ISO; first full week starting on a Sunday; or first full week starting on a Monday.

The stopwatch can be set to give you a countdown of 5 seconds at the end of which it beeps and red and green lights flash at the bottom of the screen. The main display shows total elapsed time, the middle display the most recent lap time and the upper display the cumulative time at the end of the most recently completed lap. The sub-screen keeps track of the number of laps. It can record up to 1/1000th of a second shy of 10 hours.

Recall mode allows you to see the most recent timed event and to scroll through the lap times. It'll tell you which lap was the quickest.

Countdown timer (this is my favourite) actually has the ability to run two countdowns simultaneously which is great for cooking. Each timer can be set for 99 hours, 59 minutes and 59 seconds. If you set one timer then it will countdown and beep at the end. If you set both timers then the first one will countdown, beep at you and the second countdown will start automatically as soon as the first has finished. Ideal for your M&S curry with garlic naan.

There are 5 alarms which can be set to come on once, daily, every week day or every Saturday and Sunday. The fifth alarm has a snooze functions. You can also turn on a time signal so that your watch will beep every hour should you wish to annoy the whole office. Interestingly, this can also by set to run all the time or between any two dates.

Finally there is triple time mode. You've guessed it, you can select two additional time zones which will be displayed in the top two windows. The sub-window will tell you which zones they represent.

Of course it has a light which rather nicely lights the digits up in a turquoisyish colour.

What the hell more do you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great looking and functional G Shock, 2 July 2010
By 
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
I've had this watch 6 weeks now. I hadn't worn a digital wristwatch since I was about 9 yrs old but I got fed up of ruining analogue watches while cycling or hiking. The shock from off roading especially, as this has shaken hands off and I've even had the glass pop out of brand name watches. This is clearly because they are not built for any type of abuse.

That's why I decided to buy a G-Shock. I was initially worried about it being & looking too big on my wrist as I only have a 7" wrist diameter which is why I went for this over one of the bigger G-Shocks like the G-7900 or the massive GA-100. I also considered the 5600 as this is a smaller build but decided that the features on the G-7710 combined with its better looks and that attention grabbing negative lcd display and the cheaper price made me decide upon the G-7710-1ER. I'm happy with my decision.

The strap is comfortable, the watch is light and fits snugly without irritating, it shrugs off water and dirt, you can forget you're wearing it without fear of damaging it.

Some people told me the negative displays were a pain to see properly but I find the gold numbers on black very easy to see in all but the lowest light conditions and after all it does have a decent glowing backlight which can be set to auto so it lights up when you tilt your wrist.

I won't go over all its features, it has way too many and a ridiculously accurate 1/1000th stopwatch but one of the more unique ones is the ability to have the hourly signal set for only part of the day/week. Mine only beeps on the hour between 9am and 11pm on weekends.

Very cool, accurate (mine gains 1-2 seconds a week) and tough watch ... 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Good., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
Can't find any faults with this watch. Does what it says on the tin sort of thing...
Got it for my Husband as a gift and he wear's it work everyday and there haven't been any signs of wear or any problems so very happy with it.
The matt black strap looks smart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars G-Shock, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
It is a very decent watch for the money spent. I would recommend it to everyone who needs a reliable watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G-Shocking value, 29 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
Having never owned a G-Shock watch before, and hearing nothing but good reviews, I chose this watch as a Christmas gift for myself. Being a Casio brand I expected a good watch but this watch is the boss! Its got lots of great, handy features and it looks really cool. I fact, every now and again I catch myself glancing admiringly towards its rugged good looks.
Cracking watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best watch for the money, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
I was looking for a water-resistant sports watch to use when running or w/e. I needed something that is good quality and can last for a long time. I bought this watch in May 2013, so it's been a year and I can't say one bad thing about it. I researched a lot before buying and I definitely made the right decision. I don't know what else to say except if you need a good sports watch that doesn't cost a ton of money, get this one. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant watch, the display is clear to read and ..., 26 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
Brilliant watch, the display is clear to read and just the right size even for skinny wrists. The light function works well and the strap looks quite strong. I have used it for bike riding, swimming and even in a steam room with no ill effects and of course being a quartz it is ultra precise. Can't beat the quality of a G-shock. If I didn't love automatic watches so much this is the only one I'd wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no problems with the watch, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
great product only one problem my eye's are getting old LOL , I could have bought a bigger time display no problem ,my fault. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent G-Shock, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: G-Shock Men's Quartz Watch with Black Dial Digital Display and Black Resin Strap G-7710-1ER (Watch)
I like to wear G-Shocks all the time but some of them are a little too big to wear with a shirt and tie, this one is perfect as it's 46mm and low profile. It has an easy to read display and a myriad of timer and stopwatch functions, a great little watch for not much money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews