Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens
If you can afford it, buy it and stop worrying about the weight, how it compares to several prime lenses and it not having VR. I use it on a Nikon D700 or D800 using a Black Rapid strap and the weight just disappears. I admit that the quality might not be as good or as fast as some of the primes, but you make up for this with the convenience of using one lens without too...
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by Stephen Crawford

versus
36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I hate to give it 3 stars but there is a good reason
As soon as it arrived from Amazon I opened the box with joy and everything was incredible, the packaging, the carry bag that it comes with, build quality etc. However when I inspected the glass as some other people complained, I saw lots of small dust particles inside the bottom part of the glass. I read about this before and I can't tell you how disappointed I am! I...
Published on 17 Mar. 2010 by Bert


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Stephen Crawford (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
If you can afford it, buy it and stop worrying about the weight, how it compares to several prime lenses and it not having VR. I use it on a Nikon D700 or D800 using a Black Rapid strap and the weight just disappears. I admit that the quality might not be as good or as fast as some of the primes, but you make up for this with the convenience of using one lens without too much penalty. Besides a 50mm f1.4 or f1.8 can easily fit in your pocket for low light work.

I like many others was initially frightened by the cost and weight, but all of that went out of the window when I took my first landscape shot. The handheld result was razor sharp, had great dynamic range and the detail in the far of trees was incredible. What more can you ask for. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncompromisingly gorgeous, 17 Mar. 2008
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
This is the most beautiful lens I've ever owned. It doesn't have any exciting features like macro limiting or Vibration Reduction - it just takes achingly crisp, superb photographs and focuses virtually instantly, with almost no measurable distortion for most of its range and very little chromatic aberration.

This is a lens with two applications, depending on what camera you put it on.
On a DX camera, such as a D2X or D300, it offers the ideal range for portraits and groups, which is the equivalent of 36-105 on traditional film.
On a film or FX camera (currently only the D3), it offers the key normal working ranges (equivalent of 16-47 on DX) which are most used by most photographers. In that sense, it has slightly less range than the DX 17-55 workhorse. More importantly, it syncs exactly with the 70-200 VR and the new 14-24 lenses, to give the D3 user a range from ultra-wide to long telephoto in three lenses. At 24 on the widest end, it is wider than Nikon's previous wide offerings in this type of lens. Traditionally, 28 was the classic wide-angle lens, and 24 is moving towards the ultra-zoom range. For many users, this lens goes as wide as is ever necessary, since wider than 24 the apparent perspective distortion begins to be extreme.

There is some barrel distortion at 24mm, but this is largely gone by 28mm. This can be easily corrected in Photoshop in the few applications where it is a problem. The limited amount of chromatic aberration in this range is automatically corrected in the D300 and the D3. On older cameras, this is can be easily fixed in Nikon Capture or Photoshop.

So far, this sounds like a full-frame equivalent of the DX 17-55 workhorse, with slightly less range at the long end. The 17-55 is a beautiful lens, but this lens is a step better in image quality. Some of this is doubtless down to improved learning in lens design, but at least part of it is a result of Nikon's new N nano-coating, which means that there are virtually no internal reflections, and therefore almost no ghosting and no flare -- and an improvement in acutance in almost all situations.

Who should buy this lens? Essentially, every D3 owner. This lens is so perfect, and so useful, that investing in a D3 without investing in this lens is a false economy. Of course, if one of the attractions of the D3 is rendering your investment in Nikon lenses, and you already have a 28-70, then you might want to think twice, but if you don't own a premium lens in this range, you really should think about this one.

This is a superb lens for portraits on the DX format, but is probably not such a bargain, given that the wide-end is not especially useful for portraits, and the 35-70 can be had quite cheaply second hand. However, if you own both FX and DX cameras, this is a lens which will serve you in both formats.

Written text cannot do justice to this lens. Handle a camera with one fitted, and you will start working out reasons why you need to buy one.

Incidentally, this lens comes with a good case -- which you probably won't use very much, since, once you've put it on the camera, there are not many situations where you will want to take it off. Except, of course, to put on the 70-200 or 14-24 -- and, when you do, you can pop this lens in their cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, 19 May 2009
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
I'm only going to touch on the things I think useful from my experiences, as there are plenty of reviews elsewhere covering every other aspect:

Build quality: In a nutshell; first class. The lens is solid metal throughout, with sealed rubber focusing and zoom rings. The front of the lens DOES extend, at 50mm it is its shortest (look at the amazon photo) and it extends furthest at 24mm and just slightly at 70mm, the zooming has no effect on the weather sealing apparently, so it must be a rubber sealed mechanism. I have never experienced problems. There's also a rubber seal around the mount which again adds further water and dust protection.

To note: the zoom ring should be SMOOTH with NO play whatsoever, if there is even the slightest grinding, or slip between settings, take it back, I experienced both with my first copy and when I replaced it, the second one was perfect, so don't accept less.

Features: The SWM (silent wave motor) is excellent and focuses faster than I thought possible, it jumps in straight away and there is a manual focus ring with permanent over ride, so you can always be in control if you want to. The internal lens coatings really do the job well and you need to be doing something really crazy to see any ghosts (I know how that sounds)

Image quality: The lens is sharp at 2.8 all over the frame, even the edges, if it isn't and you are sure it isn't your technique, then take it back. Really at this price, don't settle for less! When stopped down to 5.6 this lens is at its sharpest throughout and on DX or FX it is magnificent.

Conclusion: It's great, expensive, but great. Once you get it, you will feel at the top, like you don't ever need a better lens in this category. I don't know anyone who owns it and says 'I wish I saved some money and got a cheaper third party lens' but I do know people with the third party lenses wishing they had mine. And if that doesn't say it all, what possibly can?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect walk around lens, 24 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
This is the best universal lens I have ever used with my Nikon D700. perfect for pretty much everything. Portraits, landscape, night pictures, animals, children. The quality of the optics is awesome (better on the wider end). Autofocus is instant but silent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good all rounder, 9 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
plus points
-Excellent image quality (Sharp)
- Excellent smooth bokah possible at long end (noted used this on the d300 and you really need FF to get this)
-very useful range day to day good for architecture to general people photography
- good flare and CA resistance

downsides
- v slightly soft corners at 24mm wide open
- not for trips to the poles! gets stiff around zero degrees (seriously hard to zoom when very very cold for a longtime fine again when above 5 degrees!)
- Dust sealing could be better (dust definitely can and does move in with time unless you are super careful with it)

Maybe should be 4 star but the image quality of this lens and usefulness makes it a 5 for me overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World class lens, 18 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
I've owned many lenses over the years, from small primes to large 2.8 zooms. This 24-70 stands up to any of them in terms of buid and the image quality it produces. It is heavy for a short zoom, but I like that solidity, I like to know I'm holding a good chunk of glass! And it's tidy, ergonomically very nice to hold and use. You don't need VR at these focal lengths, anyone who says you do muct have very shakey hands! You only need to be at a max of 1/80th sec to counter any shake [on FX at least, which is the only place I would recommend using this lens, get the 17-55 for DX]

Pro-grade, pro-qualit, of course ... pro-price too, but lenses like this hold value, for good reason. It is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best lens I own..., 2 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
This is a great lens, for both 35mm Film and Digital SLRs, supporting both regular DX sensors and the D3's FX format sensor. The quality is everything you would expect from a top make Pro spec lens, as is the build quality and feel. Auto-Focusing is very quick, and sharp through out the range. The only slight disapointments for me are;
1. The lack of a manual apature setting ring, it is all done electronicaly from the camera body, so this lens is restricted to cameras that support this. (I am 'old school', and will miss this)
2. Manual focusing at distances greater than 3-5m can be a bit fiddly in low light, as almost all of the focus ring travel is used below this distance. This is only a slight niggle as the Auto mode is very good.

I would strongly recomend this lens to any Nikon digital user who is looking for top quality results and as an investment in the future, especialy with the arrival of the FX digital sensor.

1 year on:

Now I'm a little less 'old school' the negative points mentioned last year seem much less important. This lens is still totaly brilliant. A years regular use and abuse and it is still sharp, crisp and smooth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent lens and still working :), 17 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. David Sadowski "David" (Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
This lens is and does what many reviews describe. I cannot find anything wrong with it and pictures quality if superb. Combined with B+W XS-PRO UV 0.10 Haze just does the job for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
Having used this lens now on a couple of shoots I can see why people who know about lenes rate this lens so high..it is stunning in clarity, focus, speed contrast, etc I beleive this lens will not come off my D700 until mt 70-200mm F2.8 arrives.. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Lens, 31 Aug. 2012
By 
Stephen (Woking, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens (Camera)
This is the best 35mm lens I've ever owned. It is fairly weighty so carrying around all day can be a chore but it more than rewards your efforts by giving superb results. There is a really sweet spot around f9-11 but even wide open this delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens
Used & New from: £985.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews