Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

183 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced electronics and superb performance, 17 Mar 2008
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
The D300 is Nikon's premium DX format camera, offering professionals and extremely serious amateurs a full-sized, high-speed, professional camera when fitted with the vertical grip, or a comparatively small and lightweight but well specified workhorse when used without.

A lot of people are saying that this camera is the real replacement for the D2X. This is both true and not true. In terms of resolution, frames per second and battery life (with the vertical grip), it matches or exceeds the D2X. However, it lacks the robustness and waterproofing of its larger cousin. If you can't see the point of robustness and waterproofing, then the D300 is pretty definitely the best DX format camera you can get. If you can see the point of them, a second hand D2X, or moving up to the D3 is probably the best way to go.

The D300's specifications, however, only tell half of the story. Nikon has accomplished a near miracle by cramming the resolution and frames per second into this camera. But the real revolution is in the electronics. In common with the D3, the D300 corrects for chromatic aberration in camera, which means that virtually every shot on most lenses is sharper and crisper. The D300 also has better (51 point) autofocus, metering and, crucially, white balance. Other electronic benefits include Live View, which gives dSLR users the best of both worlds -- magnifiable rear LCD live view, as well as true through the lens SLR view (but not both at the same time). The D300 also includes DLighting (a kind of tone mapping) and the ability to apply some basic alterations in camera after shooting but before transfer to Photoshop. How important these are depends on what and why you are shooting, but it may mean that you can hand a client a set of production quality JPEGs straight after the shoot, or send them to the PictureDesk, without having to use a computer.

Finally, for those who haven't yet mastered sensor cleaning, the D300 has a self-cleaning sensor.

What's the verdict on the D300, and who should buy it? At half the price of my D100 just six years ago, and one third of the price of my D2x just two years ago, this camera is amazing value. The price is slightly higher than it appears, because to get D2x beating frame rates you have to have the vertical grip, and have to get the D2x style battery to go with it. But this is not a significant extra expense.

If you are a professional and you like the huge, chunky feel and weight of the D1, D2 or D3 series, then the D300 feels a little flimsy and insecure -- even with the vertical grip. On the other hand, if you prefer something which won't worry your physiotherapist, the D300 is a great camera. Nikon categorises it as 'professional', which means ownership of a D300 gives you access to Nikon Professional Users, and ownership of the D300 and one other pro camera, along with the ability to demonstrate you earn your living from photography gives you access to Nikon Professional Service, with all the attendant benefits. You can, of course, opt for the D3, with its extraordinary low-light performance, but the D300 is itself no slouch, and its resolution is big enough to shoot a bill-board without upscaling.

If you are an amateur, and you have the money, then the D300 gives you access to the finest DX format camera that Nikon has ever produced without the enormous weight of the D2x. The resolution is sufficient to produce fine prints at up to 30" across, with judicious post-processing, and the noise performance is better than any other Nikon DX camera. The built-in chromatic aberration control means that the D300 produces genuinely sharper images than the D200, D2x, D80 or D40x, an advantage that the D200 did not have over, say, the D40x.

Nikon surprised a lot of people when they released this camera, as many believed that they would bet their future on the FX format for professionals. The actual performance of this camera for its weight and price - in my mind - amply justifies Nikon's decision to continue to innovate in this format.

Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 6 Feb 2008
By 
Bosscat "Wobblesnap" (Loughborough, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
This is a camera to knock spots off the competition. It has the functionality of a professional DSLR with results to match. Where to start? Great images even at a high ISO, rapid and accurate focusing, very accurate exposure and intuitive menu. It is easy to use but as one would expect with a camera at this level it will not give of its best unless the user has a reasonable level of understanding of digital photography.

I agonised for weeks before splashing out. It was more than I wanted to spend but oh I am so glad I decided to invest. If you are a keen photographer and are ready to be impressed, no amazed, by performance then hesitate no longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best professional/amateur Nikon yet at a great price., 1 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
I have been a user of Nikon cameras since 1980 since I switched over from Olympus. In that time I have never been tempted to wander as each manual, automatic, film and digital camera has always delivered up to expectation. Well they have until now. This camera exceeds expectation!!!

I am currently using, for work and pleasure, a Nikon 2DH and a Nikon 2DXs. Great professional cameras, both expensive but I have never had a days problem with either. They are workmanlike, ok to operate and deliver the goods. Some of the commands can be a pain, like zooming in to look at a image after it has been taken, but overall they are great cameras.

I bought the D300 after seeing the images taken from another sports photographer who literally bought the camera and on the same day cover the Oxford United v Southend United FA Cup tie. Risky business using a camera without trying it out first. But this camera is so easy to use. And zooming in is as easy as anything with a single button on the rear to achieve. This camera also allows manipulation in the camera with presets for UV, skylight filters and sepia and monochrome conversions - in the latter case it doesn't change your original but rather produces a new image in the desired effect.

Straight from the box, once the battery is charged (about 2 hours) the camera can be set to auto everything including white balance and it will give you results like no other camera I have ever used. The autofocus is snappy and I had no trouble when testing it on following a heron on the local nature reserve. With the new autofocus module and selection to the 51 3-d focus option all my shots were pin sharp.

The camera is produced for professional and high-end amateur use and has a magnesium body and many attributes of the top-of-the-range Nikon D3, but at a third of the price. I can not understand how Nikon can do it. Ok it is not as large and as comfortably bulky as the D2H, D2Xs or the flagship D3 but it does have the advantage that being smaller its less conspicuous. This will accompany me on holidays, being smaller and easier to carry and less weighty in my gadget bag.

The camera also comes with Nikons NX software which I have been using for 6 months and it is about time this software was free for Nikon users. I will review that separately, but its a well worth edition.

All in all, a great camera and as another reviewer states it has an easy to follow manual which is again a big improvement on most camera manuals you get with cameras. I always end up buying the independent instruction manuals from Magic Lantern, but not in this case.

Buy it and enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny - Excellent Camera, 27 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
Bought this from Calumet after some years away from SLR photography, however a four month old son re-invigorated me and I took the plunge. I went for the D300 on the basis that in the past I had been what you might describe as an 'advanced amateur' hence I liked the creative control options of the D300, together with the non-fussy lack of scene modes (yuk) and the simplicity of the major camera controls. I also bought it in preference to the just launched D300s as I felt an extra 300 for a video mode which I would never use was just a waste of money, although I did like the dual card slot on the 300s. Its all about the value proposition at the end of the day, and the D300 fell in price at exactly the right time with the launch of the 300s, so if you are on a look out for a pro spec camera with granite build quality this is for you.

I've had the D300 for a couple of months now, and have taken probably 4,000 photographs with it. The major point to notice is that a good number of these could be described as 'keepers'. The colours are fabulous (I configured 'my menu' to have 'picture controls' as my number 1 item) using NC (neutral) for people and SD (standard) or VI (vivid) for buildings, scenery or events. I've not yet needed to alter the individual balances in each control, other than to add some sharpening into NC. Aside from that, the D300 processes beautiful images. I've not yet shot in RAW, and I don't intend to, as for my purposes the Large Fine JPGS are wonderful, time after time after time. The in-camera crop function (the scissors symbol) show just how good the sensor is, as I've printed 10x8's happily from cropped images with breathtaking results and little or no noise even up to ISO 3200.

As to focussing and general operation, I tend to ignore the 51 point AF and use the 13 point AF mode instead, which is great for portraits as the focus point is easily controllable by the rear multi-selector dial. I'm getting consistently sharp AF in all lighting conditions, better than any previous SLR I've used by a long way. Thereafter I leave the exposure mode on A for Aperture Priority auto, set the aperture and shoot away. Great fun and truly excellent results.

As to lenses, I've gone for the 35mm f1.8 DX (great and really sharp at f5.6 which is I think the sweetspot for this lens), the 50mm f1.4 AFS (in reality a 75mm portrait lens, and also bought to future proof if I ever go full frame) and as a walk around zoom the 16-85, which is just so much better optically than the 18-200 which I've used before and would not recommend at all. I spent a great afternoon snapping away at the Red Arrows with the D300 and 16-85, camera set to S and advance mode to C high, and blasted off 200 very decent shots of the air display. Remember the in-camera scissors above? Cropped a number of JPGS taken at the 85mm end of the lens, and have some fantastic enlarged prints of the Arrows at their brilliant best. The D300 made it easy and fun.

Finally, build quality. It really is granite, sealed and tough and good in the hand (I have large hands). Yes its heavy, but the quid pro quo is that rain is not a particular problem and the results make the effort of carrying the D300 very worthwhile indeed.

Very Highly Recommended, grab one while you can before the 300s completely supercedes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: D300 from the D80 perspective, 28 Oct 2008
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
Until recently I had a Nikon D80 and I also wrote a review about it. So I think it would be useful for you, D80 owners and D300 prospect buyers, to have some clues about what this D300 is about from a former D80 user. I will update my review as I'll be getting into more and more of this camera.

First noticeable difference is the size. The D300 is bigger and heavier than the D80, but the size it is not a problem for mid-sized hands like mine are. About weight: I bought a neoprene strap some time ago for my D80. I use it also on the D300. The strap which is included with the camera is a bit too rough for my skin and the weight of camera can be a real pain if you carry it on too long. Any neoprene strap will do, just choose one which is a bit more elastic and has a smooth internal layer (touch it, it is important to do that BEFORE you buy it).

You won't notice any important difference in the feeling of the grip size, although it is a bit bulkier, because the body has been reshaped in the back of the camera so it is easy to hold it even with one hand. On the back, there is a handy AF-ON button which is completely in the reach of your thumb and the AE-L/ AF-L button is not far from it either. The body has a rubbery feel which is different than the D80 (more plastic) and lays comfortable in your hands giving you the sensation of a good grip.

Controls: One thing that annoys most photographers is to have to lower the camera from their eyes very often when they change some settings. You will not have a mode dial, like in D80, just a button and only 4 modes that will be displayed in the viewfinder; this is a pro camera, the amateur-like modes (portrait, night etc) are gone. It will be very nice for you to know that you don't have to change white balance, ISO and picture quality settings by looking at the back of the camera (like on the D80) to find the buttons. They are on the top, like on D200, which I think it is very convenient because they are arranged in a triangle shape and you can get to your needed button without removing the camera from your eye, because you will remember quite quickly the location of each button: front the quality, left the white balance, right the ISO. Moreover, ISO setting is displayed in the viewfinder and you'll be quite amazed to find how useful this little feature is ! On the D80 I had to use and push the custom function button to see this or to look on top, on the LCD display. On top right are only two buttons: to the left is the mode, to the right is the exposure compensation (use this with caution with matrix metering). Voila, with four buttons you control the most important settings for taking pictures, and, best of all, you know their location without having to look at them. What needs special attention is the release mode dial, is the one you have to look at when changing modes. The rest of lever controls have only three positions so it's very easy to know which one position is which.

The build quality is outstanding, it looks and feels like a tank. Remember that, with camera, you are getting an environmental sealing which is not the case for the D80/40/40x. Combine that with a sealed lens like the 17-55DX f/2.8 and you'll gone have a very nice combo even in bad weather. Is that important ? Yes, it is. Otherwise you have to take care all the time and protect your camera from water drops, dust and snowflakes. The sound of the shutter is softer (more silent) than on the D80, probably because of some other materials were used for building the mirror holder and the shutter.

ISO, noise: The noise at high ISO is outstanding. When I purchased the D80 I found myself very often wanting to shoot in lowlight conditions and I got a Nikon SB800 for that. However, using flash to some extent annoys people and high ISO was mandatory in such situations. Now you can use ISO 3200 with 100% confidence and getting low noise, well-detailed photos with good saturated colors will be a rule. ISO 1600 is almost noise free, you can see it at pixel peeping but for prints it is non-existent. More important than low noise is detail preservation at high ISO. The 2 more megapixels also help. What helps most on the field is the Auto ISO feature, something that I have never used on the D80. I took shots using a minimum shutter speed of 1/50 s and ISO as high as 2000. That gives you a very wide range of exposure options without being afraid of noise and lost details. One advice, though: be sure to set high ISO noise reduction to low or none (in the menus). You can always remove any noise with a software but never can recover lost details. For noise removal I strongly recommend Nik Software Dfine 2.0 plugin for Adobe Photoshop or Imagenomics Noiseware. In my opinion, the ISO 3200 is a blessing. That means you can take photos in rooms lit with 60W light bulbs without having to cry for blotchy images. If on the D80 ISO 3200 was good (in my opinion) for 6x4 prints and black and white larger images, with D300 you can go far beyond that. Image quality wise, ISO 6400 on the D300 is almost on par with ISO 1600 on the D80, and, more important, using a noise reduction software you can get very good looking images out of ISO 6400 pictures.

Metering: no more complaints for "matrix overexposure" fans, although I always felt that this "overexposure" is more related to poor usage of this metering mode on the D80. On D300, the matrix is spot on, and you'll like it as much as I do, on sunny, cloudy, evening and artificial light, including the TTL mode on flash.

Focus: this will hit you. Actually nobody could understand (neither did I) what a pro-level focusing system means until you'll be using one. No more hit and miss, no more problems on portrait compositions, no more problems of focusing with AF points other than the central one. The settings menu will give you a plethora of possible focus combinations, and memory banks to save your settings for quick selection. When you'll get your D300, do this test: on continuous servo high speed, track a car. You could make a movie with those sharp images.

Colors: I have a habbit, I always shoot in Adobe RGB mode. It is the best way to do when you are after the most color information from one scene. Moreover, even if you have aRGB jpegs, you can always assign a different lower-gamut profile in Adobe Photoshop CS3 or other image editing software. The colors ARE different than the D80's: closer to the warm side of the spectrum, gone is the sometime-magenta cast that you once noticed on your D80 especially under bright sun. The colors ARE PERFECT. So perfect that you can distinguish between subtle tonalities on flowers, skin tones and complexions, to a much better extent than with the D80. The shadows won't have any bluish creep anymore, dark is dark, black is black, maroon is maroon etc. Even at high ISO, the noise is more luminance than bluish. Again, you have a entire army of in-camera settings for colors, brilliance, contrast, hue ... you can customize your preferences for image rendition, you can save more than neutral-vivid-black and white modes personal settings for color and luminance settings. There is only one single exception to this perfection which you have to consider: when using dynamic D-lighting mode, colors tend to get more saturated as high as you get with your D-lightings settings. On RAWs (NEFs) this is easily corrected in your raw processing software, but on jpegs and tiffs, quite difficult.

RAW mode: Please, please use Nikon Capture NX2 Software for Windows and Mac or ACR from Adobe Photoshop. The results with Lightroom are horrendous in terms of noise reduction. I don't know why, it should have the same RAW engine as Photoshop CS3. UPDATE: These problems seem to come from preproduction firmware NEFs. I found no more problems opening NEFs in Lightroom with a production firmware camera.

Please remember that the first 300.000 D300 sold also have a license for Capture NX included in the box (I also got it) so you won't have to spend on licenss. I like the way this software renders colors and noise even if it does not have the most impressive interface one ever built. One more advantage with Capture NX 1.3: you have a new "Picture Control" menu under "Camera Settings" which you can use to add custom picture settings to the D300 (and name them as you want "less vivid", "more neutral" etc) and a custom-curve editor that you can use to add more control to your custom picture preset. Moreover, the 1.3 version of NX picture control options come with some D2x-image-like presets that are great for rendering skin tones in portraits.

Memory Card: if you shoot in 14-bit mode (recommended if you shoot RAW or TIFF and have to shoot high dynamic scenes), please remember that the RAW files, uncompressed, are somewhere around 25 MB each. Get a fast card. I bought a SanDisk 4 GB Extreme IV CompactFlash Card, that supports 40MB/s transfer. It runs smoothly, the camera buffer will not clog. Take care: 25 MB NEF file will stress your computer out and squeeze all resources from it. You need at least 2 GB of RAM (I have 4), and a fast processor. I have a Core2Duo 6300 plus win XP 64 bit edition to avoid RAM limitation. Update May 7, 2008: I bought also a 8GB 300x UDMA Lexar CF card to have another CF card for my camera and it seems to me that the write and read speed on the Lexar is inferior to the Sandisk Ultra IV. So my advice is to stick with Sandisk.

I won't go into details, but I just want you to know that I have this camera for less than 24 hours, I already shot >100 photos (Update May 7, 2008: >3,000 photos; no hotspots, dead pixels, nada), and I love all of them. It is a perfect upgrade for my needs.

Promise to come back with further news.

Update (22 Jan 2008 - after two months of use):
No problems whatsoever. The camera works like a charm. I'm delighted.

Update (7 May 2008):
No problems encountered. Meanwhile I purchased a Voigtlander APO Lanthar 90mm f/3.5 for Nikon which is an amazing lens - manual focusing - for its price, and a Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens which is quite a fun to use a get photos with it. Is nice to have the added possibility of using metering with an AIS-like lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best enthusiast DSLR ever?, 18 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
I`ve owned SLRs for over 30 years and not only is the D300 the best DSLR I`ve owned (I`ve had 5 to date), but also the best camera I`ve owned, full stop. (Well maybe my old Pentax Super-A was my all-time favourite.)
There were a couple of glaring problems with the D200, which were more than just an irritation: One was the appalling auto white balance, which was pretty much unuseable in artificial light, and the second flaw was the very evident noise above ISO 400.
Not only have these issues been sorted out in the new camera, but the high ISO capability is now only bettered by the D3, a camera which will cost you three times the price of the D300.
I use the camera on "vivid" colour settings and slightly higher than standard sharpening. The results were, to my eyes, jaw-dropping. Colours that jump off the page and sharpness out-of-the-box like I`ve never seen. This is the first DSLR I`ve used that not only equals 35mm film, but quite possibly exceeds it.
As for features, well there are more than you`ll ever need. I still think that live-view is a bit of a gimmick as it`s quite fiddly to use. It`s off by default and you certainly won`t be using it if you`re in a hurry, but I can see it`s usefulness in tripod work and portraits. Personally, I don`t think I`ll use it.
The other "must-have" feature is sensor cleaning. On the D300 this can be set to operate on startup, shutdown, or both, or manually, or switched off altogether. Although I`ve never had a problem with dust, it`s comforting to know that I`ll probably never have to get down and dirty with some swabs and a blower. There`s been some talk of the camera over-exposing, but so what? Mine doesn`t and if it did, I`d just fiddle with the ev until it was right. No problem.
You`ll just have to take my word for it that if you invest in a Nikon D300, you won`t regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a machine, 13 May 2008
By 
Paul Hodgson "www.bof.uk.com" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
I was reluctant to move from my already proven D200 to the D300 believing that the hype was only that - hype. Nikon claimed stellar D2Xs performance and more from the D300 - I was skeptical but took the plunge and bought one anyway.

We shoot weddings and on many occasions the lighting conditions are such that only bats could negotiate the environment. Unfortunately, for those wants digital noise free images neither the DsXs or D200 from Nikon could cope. In truth there's really only the Nikon D3 that can but for that you need to remortgage.

However, the D300 is no slouch when it comes to keeping digital noise to a minimum. What I've experienced is that a well exposed photograph at say iso3200 looks more like iso800 on either the D200 or D2Xs, it really is that good.

Other notable improvements over the D2Xs and the D200 - larger rear LCD, a Live View feature, a 100% field of view via the viewfinder, better battery life.

In addition, if you are able to afford the MB-D10 battery pack I would, within a heartbeat. It feels so much better than the battery grip on the D200 mostly because this time it's made from the same material as the camera body. The D200 grip however, was made from plastic. My only gripe with the new grip is that they've changed how you use two batteries. Instead of two being fitted into the grip, ala the D200, the D300 grip requires one in the camera and one in the grip. A stupid design - now you have to unscrew the grip to recharge both batteries - just dumb.

And finally - if you're in the market for a new digital camera, I would highly recommend the D300 any day. It's more camera than most people actually need and is built to last longer than most people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding DX format camera!!!, 18 Jan 2008
By 
P. Slopnicki (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
This is absolutely lovely piece of kit. Resolution, high-iso performance, AF system, speed and customization options are all top-notch. Despite all the features it's incredibly easy to use - you could literally pick it up and go out taking pictures within minutes. The optional grip makes it as fast as Nikon's previous sport/reporter camera, the D2H, but at much higher resolution. It's also got the best viewfinder as far as APS-C format cameras go. My only gripe is with positioning of cross type AF sensors - I would prefer them to be a bit more wide-spreaded, rather than packed in the middle. But that's nit-picking. It improves on D200 in EVERY respect, betters D2H and is as good as D2X, just for less (much less in fact) than half-price. What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply great., 25 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
Just upgraded to this from a well used and much loved D100 for digital work. The first thing that strikes you is the feel and weight of the body, this feels like a proper pro SLR should. Having used F3 and F5 pro film cameras for many years the solid feel of the D300 is welcome and very familiar. The basic control layout is also classic Nikon so if you have used a Nikon Pro/ProAm SLR before this will also be totaly familiar.

The menu system is comprehensive and highly cutomisable as are the control buttons and wheels. This allows the camera to be adapted to various shooting stiuations with commonly used controls and menu items available at the finger tips. This flexability takes a bit of getting used to, and may not be to everyones taste. With the option to save 4x camera setups and 4x custom menu set ups, a good few hours with the guide book and the instructions is well advised to get the best set up for your shooting style.

Having run around 2000 frames through it in just over a week in various shooting situations from outdoor, low light and a full studio set-up the image quality is simply outstanding. Sensor noise is very well controlled right up to iso 3200. 6fps in RAW with a 15+ frame burst means running out of buffer is a thing of the past, in 12MP JPG mode 40-50+ frame bursts are possible. One point to note is that setting the 14bit RAW mode instead of 12bit drops the frame rate to a default max of 2.5fps

Metering seems to be very accurate without the annoying 0.7 stop offset of the D100/D200 which makes processing easier with Lighroom or Photoshop RAW.

This is simply an outstanding camera that will exceed the needs of many photographers, more than capable of producing world class results for those who have the skill to use it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive autofocus and high ISO performance., 10 April 2008
By 
M. Hunt "M Hunt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D300 Body Only (Electronics)
The D300 is my first DSLR. I bought it because it combined the three things I wanted from a DSLR: Build quality with weather sealing, reliable auto focus and good image quality above 800 ISO.

In fact it provides more than that because it is built like an ergonomic tank with almost everything falling to hand or finger with ease. Only the `Mode' button is a little awkward. The autofocus has proven to be everything I hoped, distinguishing similar coloured objects in good lighting and only faltering when using the extreme left or right AF point. Moving in by one AF point solves the problem. Image quality up to 1000 ISO is much better than I expected and occasionally I've got away with 1200 ISO.

Like my previous 2 Nikons I have found it a very intuitive camera to use and generally the menus are fairly easy to get to. The wonderful LCD screen is very viewable and does a pretty good job of reproducing the scene you've just photographed. I do wish that it there was slightly quicker way to get to the custom `shoot' and picture control options. Having said that, they are fairly easy to get to. Currently I have my shoot options set up as `walk-around', `monochrome', `wildlife' and `action'.

Given the actual file size produced, anything less than a 2gb CF card (75 images in raw at 14 bit is quoted but I've got 140 images out of a 2gb card) is wasted really since you'll changing cards quite often.

My version came with Capture NX, which made the box well worth the money paid since the camera alone is a delight. Having taken it out in snow and light rain I am confident in the weather sealing.

Although I've only used the high speed `burst' option once and on a slowly moving subject, all the 5 frames taken were in focus. Using continous focus and all 51 AF points to photograph runners during the London Marathon, the camera tracked subjects very well, generally only losing them when the lens could not cope with the high relative speed towards me at shorter distances. The in-camera picture modes for processing are good with vivid giving a rather punchy effect above that of Velvia which is a litle excessive for me, and a subdued neutral effect that works very well for portraits.

I've used it with a range of lenses including an AIS 50mm f1.8 and a pre 'D' 24mm f2.8 AF lens. Both produced wonderful, pin-sharp images.

Given the AF and high ISO capabilities of the D300 I cannot wait for the time to get out looking for wildlife and the airshow season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D300 Body Only
Used & New from: 299.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews