Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One To Watch
If you're a fan of anything supernatural, scary or just a bit 'strange', then this is the show for you. The leads are well cast, both playing off each other perfectly, most of the time with humour, but when it's needed with incredible sensitivity.

The best example of this is the episode 'Heart' which sees the boys tackle the problem of werewolves, and how to...
Published on 20 Jan. 2008 by N. Pluck

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
its not my favourite series came after the x files , same type of thing but instead of aliens they deal with the supernatural hence the name
Published 13 months ago by Cambria


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One To Watch, 20 Jan. 2008
By 
N. Pluck "Nats" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of anything supernatural, scary or just a bit 'strange', then this is the show for you. The leads are well cast, both playing off each other perfectly, most of the time with humour, but when it's needed with incredible sensitivity.

The best example of this is the episode 'Heart' which sees the boys tackle the problem of werewolves, and how to cure a person of lycanthropy. If you only watch one episode, watch this one - But make sure the lights are down, and you won't be embarassed to shed a tear! For something lighter, try 'Tall Tales' or 'Folsom Prison Blues'.

One good thing about the Season 2 box set is that is has all the extra features on - In the season one (UK version) these were left out, but they're firmly in place this time round, just to confirm for those wondering :)

With Season 3 starting next Sunday, you should have enough time to watch it all to either catch up or refresh your memory before it starts up again. Definatly worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shows on TV, 28 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD] (DVD)
So season one was great, but season two was absolutely, 100%, out of this world. Many TV shows fail to live up to their first series (Lost anyone?) But Supernatural's second season out does it's predecessor providing us with more scares, thrills and this time it brings the tears too. This season also had me in stiches, particular episodes to note are 'Tall Tales', 'Hollywood Babylon' and 'Folsom Prison Blues'. The boys are on top form too. Ackles, particularly stands out though with his brilliant comic timing and heart wrenching family scenes. Padalecki also brings the goods, showing many more sides to the sensitive Sam we all love, the general character development is fantastic! Another episode to note is 'Heart' at the end of which you will be sobbing and marvelling at the great acting and chemistry between the two leads.
Definitely buy this season because it is the best show on air at the moment! Similarly to the season 1 boxset, there are not as many extras as i would have liked, however the commentaries and other various goodies are worth a watch and the gag reel will definitely have you laughing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing- Best season yet., 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well if you think Season One was good, Season Two is the perfect season. We pick up from the extreme cliff-hanger of Season One's finale, which is solved with a very heart-breaking conclusion. This season shows us how the brothers deal with tragedy, while fighting more monsters. Season Two has some very important revelations that come to light, a lot of questions answered, and even more posed. The introduction of characters Ellen, Jo & Ash is wonderful, and often hilarious. The acting is as ever, superb, the stories are clever, scary and often leave you on the edge of your seat. There are some truly heart-breaking moments in this season, guaranteed to get the tears flowing! Whereas some of the episodes were so funny, I didn't think I'd ever stop laughing (2x15, 'Tall Tales', for example). There are a lot of new things introduced this season, and the 20th episode 'What is and what should never be', in my personal opinion, is the best episode of Supernatural throughout all the seasons. Ackles & Padalecki's acting in this is simply amazing. There was not a single episode in this season that I disliked. We learn a lot more of what is happening to Sam, and we see another side to both of the brothers, with the leads acting all sides of their personalities excellently. I have seen 6 seasons of Supernatural, and this season is unbeatable in quality. If you loved Season One, then watch this as soon as possible. The advice I would offer is to watch it from the beginning of Season One, as this is not the kind of show to get into halfway through, you need to know about the characters and their situation. This season will not disappoint fans. This is the season that introduces vampires, other hunters, and new demons. Exciting from start to finish. The season raises a lot of interesting questions and moral dilemmas that will leave you hungry for more.

My personal 5 stand-out episodes of Supernatural Season Two-
. In My Time of Dying
. Tall Tales
. Roadkill
. Born Under a Bad Sign
. What is and what should never be

and it was very difficult to decide, because every episode is brilliant, but these are unforgettable episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic rock, classic car, classic season, 15 April 2012
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It's difficult to explain what Season 2 of Supernatural is about to those who haven't seen it yet, as what happens in the first episode of the second series shapes the overall story arc you will be watching. What I can say without spoiling the first episode for you is that there is tension between the two brothers arising from a revelation hinted at in episode one and revealed a few episodes in.

There's loads of action of course, and some funny moments too. It's also a more emotional series than the first, not just because of the two brothers talking about their feelings (in a manly way, of course); there are some very moving scenes early on but also three episodes in the second half of the series - Roadkill, Heart and What Is And What Should Never Be - have some powerfully emotional moments. Sam and Dean also gain some new friends and enemies, and we start to learn more about the lives and activities of "hunters". It all builds up to a series conclusion that is probably the one all fans hold up as the most memorable and defining of the whole series - one that closes one storyline whilst setting up a larger one that will shape the tone of every season that follows.

Oh and here's a fun drinking game for you - fill your glass and take a shot every time Dean stuffs his face with food this season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 Super, 3 Nov. 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD] (DVD)
This season builds on the excellent 1st and carries on straight after it left off. Without spoiling the content, the first episode is poignant for the departure of one of the cast and does a great job of being an arc story as well as a monster-of-the-week story. And with great twists in both. And by the end of the final episode there's a whole new set of dangers and predicaments happening that manage to all tie in with the overall remit.

Supernatural is never truly great TV but always feels comfortable and is great fun to watch. It does get better with every season and Season 2 is no exception. It deals with all manner of ghouls and critters that doesn't encroach old ground from the 1st season which is truly astounding for the type of show - even The X-Files did occasionally. As with season 1 there are too many great episodes here to point out any one or two, but I'll try. 'Bloodlust', 'Simon Said', 'Crossroad Blues'(excellent), 'Croatoan', 'Tall Tales' (hilarious), 'Roadkill' (great twist), 'Heart'(stunning characterisation), 'Hollywood Babylon'(also hilarious) and the finale.

Roll on season 3 and better and better episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better and better, 11 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD] (DVD)
I really don't get to watch that much TV but I really love the CW shows, One Tree Hill, Smallville and especially Supernatural. So much so that it's the first time I have bought a season in 2 parts. Why do Brits have to wait so long for an entire season to be released????

Anyway, all the elements are there and the guys really deliver the goods. Laughs, scares and of course the now obligatory brother dying at the end season finale. LOVE IT!
It doesn't hurt that the 2 leads are gorgeous but they are really getting into their roles by the end of the season. Jensen as Dean plays big bro with a vengeance and Jared as Sam gets tempted to the darkside. There are also some great in-jokes particularly in Hollywood Babylon.

I love so much about the show but one of the main things is the music. I have rediscovered a few golden oldies as a result of watching this and can often be found rocking to Kansas on my MP3.

I am currently getting into season 3 and if possible it's improved on the formula.
Hoorah, as long as there's the Winchesters, women everywhere will get their rocks off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spinechilling Sexy Fun, 26 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD] (DVD)
I have been addicted to this series since it first hit the screen. I love the humour, the scariness, the wacky storylines and the amazing relationship that these two brothers share. The first time I saw Jensen Ackles cry on-screen I wanted to jump into the telly and kiss away his tears! Phwoar! Tough, sassy, sexy AND sensitive? What more could a girl want?

Okay, seriously; the series ticks boxes when it comes to humour and the ability to convey stories that we might consider urban myths with interesting and amusing ease. The lead characters are likeable and the productions are not too high tech that one loses the sense of being lost in the moment of fear or laughter. And I have indeed laughed at many of the stories - usually after coming out from behind the sofa!

I love Supernatural and am mad as hell that Bravo stole my boys from terrestrial (did I spell that right?) television! I am just going to have to find room on my shelves for every episode of this fantastic series at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confused about Special Features!!!, 25 Nov. 2007
By 
D. Passfield "Grommit" (Thurrock, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first season and was pleased to see that a second was released - though I hated waiting sooo long for it to be released on DVD!!! None the less, I love watching the show and I'm glad to add it to my DVD collection!!!

In reply to 'Ticked Off', who wasn't sure if there were any special features, Yes, there are some special features (deleted scenes, 2 commentaries, gag reel, Jared's Original Screen Test, Webisode Gallery and The Making Of All Hell Breaks Loose Part 2). The only problem is, I can't find the featurette on the making of All Hell Breaks Loose pt 2. I've checked all 6 discs and i'm currently unable to find the damn thing!! So if anyone can help with this, then please, please, pleeeeeease do!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Amy Connolly "book addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD] (DVD)
This season starts exactly where the first one left off.
It starts with a bang and the hits just keep coming.

This season was definitely more coordinated and confident than the first, and promises great things to come.
If you seen the first season and wasn't convinced, I really recommend keep going because this is better than the first.

Scary, funny, charming, paranormal - what more could you ask for??

I'd really recommend it, but first you need to watch the first season. And i'll let you in on a secret - the show just gets better and better!! I'm on the third season right now and the twists and turns in the plot are mind blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars diamond in the rough, 19 Feb. 2015
I purchased season 1 and I think one of the main reason it appealed to me is the emotional storyline and journey of the Winchester family. I love the fact that this is about 2 brothers and a great point of view of their relationship from a male perspective without being cheap and stereotypical and "all American homeboy stupid". It feels real and gritty and funny and playful and serious, just the way most families are instead of being 2 dimensional. Also the angst ridden relationship with their dad. The 3 main guys are fabulous and believable actors. The supernatural story arcs are great and for once it doesn't romanticise all the nasty demons and vampires etc. My only gripe would be that some of the story content is just not believable like how they always manage to get to a crime scene and all the info with a fake badge. Or they find evidence which is so blatant and obvious but apparently the police miss all this stuff, even if they may not know what it is I'm sure they notice a big burned handprint of a witch like nature on the windowsill of a child who gets sick after opening a window.....however some things I decide to I overlook as I feel perhaps in 2006 the year season 1 was aired people may have gotten away with it. But again why can't the bots invest in suits instead filthy jeans if they r impersonating officers. Also they could use more tricks in their arsenal for hunting they pretty much use dumb luck a lot. ..hope season 2 cleans up and focuses on a story rather than a story of the week type format all the time. Also....they could do with some friends as allies....i think in all honesty im watching it just to see the family relationship mature..other than that. .lol yeah I loved it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD]
Supernatural - The Complete Second Season [DVD] by Jared Padalecki (DVD - 2007)
£10.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews