Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, could be better.
Firstly, i saw the hives at the eurockeennes de belfort festival during the summer and they were awesome, the energy and entertainment value are second to none and the drummer was first-class, however i was left slightly disapointed by the new material, it felt somehow sub-standard. A surprise it was then when i got this album and gave it a run through, it is much better...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by Rodney_Mullen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars new cd
Like the cd very much.We watched them on jules holland show on new years eve and thought they were great
Published 20 months ago by ian g hutchman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, could be better., 29 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
Firstly, i saw the hives at the eurockeennes de belfort festival during the summer and they were awesome, the energy and entertainment value are second to none and the drummer was first-class, however i was left slightly disapointed by the new material, it felt somehow sub-standard. A surprise it was then when i got this album and gave it a run through, it is much better than i had expected and there are a number of top class efforts with 'tick tick boom' and 'hey little world' being instant hives classics. Conversely there are a few dodgy tracks knockin about here which is a slight shame. Overall a pretty good album, definitely a must buy for any hives fan, but there is a general feel that this band are capable of more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More of the Same and Something Different, 6 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
Following The Hives previous album, there was some scepticism as to whether they could develop their sound in a way other bands of recent times have been accused of failing to do so. While maybe not developing their original sound, they have made an album which is more varied than 'Tyrannosaurus Hives" in the types on songs on offer. Retaining their best elements in some songs and offering something completely different in others. It is hard to imagine the near 3 minute instrumental of 'Stroll through Hives Manor' appearing on past Hives' albums.

Tracks such as the first single 'Tick Tick Boom' and 'Hey Little World' are familiar; but that is not a criticism, as they are characteristically energetic and will surely not disappoint fans of the band. Yet the Hives can not be accused of being afraid to explore their musical boundaries with 'T.H.E.H.I.V.E.S' providing a funky Prince meets the Bee Gees sound (Coincidentally it was recorded in the same studios which Stayin' Alive was). Meanwhile, I imagine 'Puppet on a String' would feature if, by some strange reason, The Hives' collaborated with Disney to make the soundtrack for a sequel to `Fantasia'. Trust me on that one.

It is a testament to the Hives' experimentation that the only inferior track of the album, 'Return the Favour', is one of the more atypical sounding songs for the band. The lack of fear to try something new alongside the often winning formula of the past has paid off. It is an album that will likely raise a smile to both fans of the Hives with its quirkiness, whilst possibly finding the band new fans with the more pop orientated sound that is present. This is a genuinely fun album in a time when seriousness seems to be the trend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute beast of an album., 15 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. M. J. Roberts (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
Ill keep this short and sweet.
Many people say The Hives are a one trick pony.
And they might be right.
But its one hell of a rocking pony.
A pony dressed in a black saddle and a white tie, with a haircut all the ponies in Shoreditch will be copying by the end of the month.
The best track are the first track 'Tick Tick Boom' and the eighth track 'T.H.E.H.I.V.E.S.' (which was produced rather well by that nice young man Pharrell)
If you like rocking out and shouting lyrics at the top of your voice then buy it.
If not spend your money on Orson's new effort. Im sure its just lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A more evolved sound, 4 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
It's good to see this band progressing and experimenting with new sounds. Fans of the first two albums may be surprised by the evolved sound of tracks like A Stroll Through Hive Manor, and The Hives, Puppet On A String, but this album is a step forward, and people don't like change!

The band still enjoy their anthem 3-chord progression tracks with the opening Tick Tick Boom, even the video on MTV should have old school fans running to the local store to buy this album. Later tracks like You Dress For Armageddon, Well Allright, Return The Favour once again establish the band as punk pioneers and creators of fine good musik.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black and white indeed., 30 May 2008
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
This is a bit of a difficult album to review - and I had to think long and hard about whether or not it was worthy of 3 or 4 stars.

The problem is this - when its good, its bloody good. Possibly some of the best material they've produced. There's absolute belters like "Tick, Tick, Boom" and the marvellous "Try It Again". Pure, unadulterated Hive-tastic feel good rock out tunes. "You Got it All Wrong" again - classic shout along, quirky Hives.

The formula isn't in need of fixing - and they're certainly not pushing any boundaries - and they don't need to.

Where it falls down and drops that star is on tracks like "It Won't Be Long", "T-H-E-H-I-V-E-S" & the awful "Giddy Up". They're almost there in parts - but its clear that Pharell has had a (bad) influence here. The Hives are NOT hip-hop. To me these tracks fall flat and The Pharell connection fails. They're probably great if you're into hip-hop or whatever but I'm not and neither are they. They contain nothing that makes the Hives stand out.

Thankfully we're back to normal service by "Square One Here We Come" and the sublime "You Dress Up For Armageddon." The less said about "Puppet on a String" the better and "Bigger Hole to Fill" rounds it off nicely.

The quality of the good tracks push this firmly into 4 territory - but its a pity about Pharell's meddling. I'm not normally used to skipping tracks on a Hives album so fingers crossed on a different producer that will leave them alone to do their own very special thing next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 13 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
Great album, more of the same from The Hives rocking tunes that you want to shout along with. Most of tracks are the same but make great rock music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World Domination, 19 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
The Hives search for World Domination continues with this fun but not shabby album! Bit more variety than normal Hives album. Worth the wait and worth spending a few quid on. Well usually ten quid!!

I think we should allow these likeable Swedes World Domination as would probably make a better job than the muppets we currently have attempting to run the World!

Remember, 'madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result'!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some tracks are awesome but others are average., 15 Oct 2007
By 
M. Fuller (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
How can you not love the Hives? I mean a Swedish punk band that oozes cockiness doesn't come around too often. If only this album was full of tracks like Tick Tick Boom and Try It Again then this record would be incredible. As it is it's all good fun but they are still not reaching their full potential, maybe a try before you buy album if thats possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like every song of the album!!! The sound is amazing, great quality and it arrived on time.

I hope I can see them at a live show this summer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black & White Album (Audio CD)
ok. good single but the rest of the albumn is average. i`m sure the hives are a great live band but this was just ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Black & White Album
The Black & White Album by The Hives (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews