Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film
It is a really enjoyable film, I bought it for my daughter and she loved it. I would recommend it as a romantic comedy
Published 20 months ago by Barbara Finnan

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Must be tough playing in the shadow of your father"
This is a great time to come out with a movie about poker, since the sport has taken off at supersonic speed with amateurs winning the main event of the World Series in the last few years and people following the action on ESPN. The main problem I see with this movie though is that in an effort to be original it runs into unreal situations like a misdeal followed by a...
Published on 6 Oct 2007 by Sebastian Fernandez


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Must be tough playing in the shadow of your father", 6 Oct 2007
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucky You [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a great time to come out with a movie about poker, since the sport has taken off at supersonic speed with amateurs winning the main event of the World Series in the last few years and people following the action on ESPN. The main problem I see with this movie though is that in an effort to be original it runs into unreal situations like a misdeal followed by a huge bad beat, or a close call to end a contrived bet.

The plot is fairly typical, a poker pro, Huck Cleever, trying to make it to the World Series of poker and win the main event. In the process, he meets a girl that shakes his world and makes him rethink his priorities. The added complication is that he is the son of a two-time winner of the event, and the son-father relationship has been in tatters for a long time. During his quest, Huck experiences huge swings in his luck, and this provides an enlightening view of what the life of a professional gambler can be like.

The acting is not particularly inspired, with the exception of Robert Duvall, who plays L.C. Cheever, the father of the protagonist. Duvall infuses his character with the external toughness and inner conflicts that the role requires and is therefore extremely successful in the process. There is a wide array of poker pros taking part in this movie, but most of them have silent roles, the exceptions are Sammy Farha and Jason Lester, who have a couple of lines each. The list of celebrities includes among others Phil Helmut, Daniel Negreanu, Johnny Chan and Doyle Brunson. I did not really understand why a couple of pros play characters with different names, like Jennifer Harman, who plays Shannon Kincaid, or John Hennigan as Ralph Kaczynski.

Overall, I think that the idea of the movie was good, but the execution was deficient and the overall quality suffered as a result. For a long time to come, poker movies are going to be evaluated in terms of how they compare to "Rounders", and in that sense, this one comes up short. Poker players will probably get some enjoyment from this production, but they should not expect much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky You [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It is a really enjoyable film, I bought it for my daughter and she loved it. I would recommend it as a romantic comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky You [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
great price and quick delivery. The film was ok-a bit lame in parts but a happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bad film, 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: Lucky You [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This DVD arrived promptly and was as described. However the actual film itself is really rather poor. Not a great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM WAYYYYYYYYY TO EXPENSIVE, 17 Sep 2010
By 
G. A. Holohan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film but what angers me is the fact that sellers on here are over charging for this film
if you go on a certain auction site you will find this DVD at half the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Billie Jean, 7 Sep 2010
Was really excited that i had at last found this DVD and it is great when seeing in english. would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS FILM!!!, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Me and my sister used to watch this film all the time. Its a shame that it hasnt been relesed in england yet. but i am glad we can still get a hold of it. Helen Slater is brilliant in this film (fair is fair!). Billie Jean and Binx Davy and two of their friends go on the run after binx' scooter gets ruined by some punks. Its full off action as you'd expect from the 80's. A great soundtrack and dubious fashion :) this film is a must have. Its a shame its so much money so i got it from ebay which was much cheaper but its still a must have. xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great but a good watch!, 5 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. S. A. Arnold "Seb" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucky You [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A film about a professional gambler trying to win the World Series of poker.
In answer to Mr. R. P. Quinlan's review the film is ABOUT POKER!!! and about a professional POKER PLAYER trying to win! not about Drew Barrymore, all she is there to do is be a reactant that makes Huck Cheever see the consequences of his life and the need to make changes! And she plays that role very well. If you want a drew barrymore film, go get one of the many chick flicks she has done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars received, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky You [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
received the product quickly by post and are very happy with it and would like to send my thanks for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was dissapointed, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not get chance to watch it as it was for america viewing only quite disappointed that it was unclear about countries it could be viewed in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucky You [DVD] [2007]
Lucky You [DVD] [2007] by Curtis Hanson (DVD - 2007)
2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews