Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To laugh until you drop!
Catetherine Tate is certainly one of the funniest people in the UK...and this compilation of her show is just hilarious and it gets better and better, the more you see it. I almost know it by heart and still I laugh every time. The first season is good to get to know the personages, I find the second one the best and then the third there are some really funny sketches...
Published on 14 Jun 2009 by Rodolfo Cabaleiro

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive Isn't Always A Bad Thing
Catherine Tate is a comedienne who enjoys having multi persona in her show, which is to the style of Harry Enfield and Chums, no real order, but funny all the same. For 30mins a week, we got laughs from many of her usual sketches and a few one off's - like the dog trainer who's rather crazy.

Some of the best characters in this are the guy who cannot stand...
Published on 20 Sep 2008 by DL Productions UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive Isn't Always A Bad Thing, 20 Sep 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Catherine Tate is a comedienne who enjoys having multi persona in her show, which is to the style of Harry Enfield and Chums, no real order, but funny all the same. For 30mins a week, we got laughs from many of her usual sketches and a few one off's - like the dog trainer who's rather crazy.

Some of the best characters in this are the guy who cannot stand being called gay ("who dear me dear no dear"), the grandma who can't keep a lid on her nasty side; the silly woman who's gullible on the internet and marries a death row inmate and of course that funny sketch about the woman working in the wig salon, some of the funniest moments come from this.

There's some really good observations by Catherine though; like the restaurant waitress who does those stupid things you often find in themed places ("Table 3 wants Boogie Dogs *silly music*") and of course Lauren who's supposed to be based on a real teenager - she seems to have got the annoyance they can often give others, and the slang is just funny. There's also the office worker annoying that poor woman next to her with those guessing games, how many of us have people like that in our lives?

Some really annoying things - that Irish woman who keeps saying "he's a gay man now", it's one of her worst sketches; the one where a red headed woman is taken to a special refuge, thought that was really stupid and some moments in series 3 show that Catherine was really ready to stop making the show, as she was showing signs of running out of material.

This is a good show though, really funny, the gran has me in stitches, so yes, repetitive comedy can be good, like the likes of Enfield, Whitehouse, Bishop, Novak, Taylor and many others who've made very repetitive jokes lately. I can see why some people have not enjoyed it though, if you don't like the characters it can be rather annoying, and Lauren got sillier by the series - but I still think this will appeal to most people who like the above comedians.

The DVDs are pretty good, with few extras, but still worthwhile owning - but sadly this doesn't have the Christmas specials.

Worth a look at if you like CT, otherwise get this if you're a big fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To laugh until you drop!, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Rodolfo Cabaleiro (Antwerp, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Catetherine Tate is certainly one of the funniest people in the UK...and this compilation of her show is just hilarious and it gets better and better, the more you see it. I almost know it by heart and still I laugh every time. The first season is good to get to know the personages, I find the second one the best and then the third there are some really funny sketches and some other are just ok. But still, all in all and for this little price, it is really worth it to buy and laugh. Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous female comedy, 5 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The definitive version (charity specials are never worth looking at) of CT's wonderful sketches. Either you get this kind of cumulative comedy or you don't and I think other reviewers here might be happier with a more conventional sitcom or something with more men in it. CT is a great actress and the characters she creates are some very funny archetypes of ordinary womankind - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars catherine tate, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
love her stuff , the nan is funny as it gets , her attitude to everything and everybody is hilarious .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Tate Show, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Peter Aucott "PMSA" (UK -) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD's are the hard copy of the TV show and demonstrate Catherinne Tates unique talentl which you can indulge in at will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!!!!!???, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Love gran would be great to have dvd with all the clips of gran on one a must watch ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 1 Feb 2014
By 
S. Jouffroy "juarez1975" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Catherine Tate is so funny. I love this series, the range of various characters and situations. Would love to see a new series coming up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I love Catherine Tate's comedy. The box set is priced very well. Arrived on time. Arrived in perfect condition. Hours of brilliant comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant...., 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for my daughter as a stocking filler, such a good price for hours of entertainment. Catherine Tate is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars general review, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic show

awarded 5 stars as it always kept me intrigued & entertained

fantastic storyline and characters

highly recommended

fantastic comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD]
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews