Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The highlight of Red Nose Day 2007
Catherine Tate's special sketches for Comic Relief are excellent, the standouts being: Lauren meeting Tony Blair (who gives a good performance!); Nan's chaotic appearance on Deal or No Deal; and Lauren locking horns with new teacher David Tennant. While the novelty appeal of Lauren is wearing off, the character shines in the two sketches she appears in, as there is a...
Published on 17 Mar. 2007 by M. D. P. Meechan

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive Isn't Always A Bad Thing
Catherine Tate is a comedienne who enjoys having multi persona in her show, which is to the style of Harry Enfield and Chums, no real order, but funny all the same. For 30mins a week, we got laughs from many of her usual sketches and a few one off's - like the dog trainer who's rather crazy.

Some of the best characters in this are the guy who cannot stand...
Published on 20 Sept. 2008 by DL Productions UK


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive Isn't Always A Bad Thing, 20 Sept. 2008
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Catherine Tate is a comedienne who enjoys having multi persona in her show, which is to the style of Harry Enfield and Chums, no real order, but funny all the same. For 30mins a week, we got laughs from many of her usual sketches and a few one off's - like the dog trainer who's rather crazy.

Some of the best characters in this are the guy who cannot stand being called gay ("who dear me dear no dear"), the grandma who can't keep a lid on her nasty side; the silly woman who's gullible on the internet and marries a death row inmate and of course that funny sketch about the woman working in the wig salon, some of the funniest moments come from this.

There's some really good observations by Catherine though; like the restaurant waitress who does those stupid things you often find in themed places ("Table 3 wants Boogie Dogs *silly music*") and of course Lauren who's supposed to be based on a real teenager - she seems to have got the annoyance they can often give others, and the slang is just funny. There's also the office worker annoying that poor woman next to her with those guessing games, how many of us have people like that in our lives?

Some really annoying things - that Irish woman who keeps saying "he's a gay man now", it's one of her worst sketches; the one where a red headed woman is taken to a special refuge, thought that was really stupid and some moments in series 3 show that Catherine was really ready to stop making the show, as she was showing signs of running out of material.

This is a good show though, really funny, the gran has me in stitches, so yes, repetitive comedy can be good, like the likes of Enfield, Whitehouse, Bishop, Novak, Taylor and many others who've made very repetitive jokes lately. I can see why some people have not enjoyed it though, if you don't like the characters it can be rather annoying, and Lauren got sillier by the series - but I still think this will appeal to most people who like the above comedians.

The DVDs are pretty good, with few extras, but still worthwhile owning - but sadly this doesn't have the Christmas specials.

Worth a look at if you like CT, otherwise get this if you're a big fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The highlight of Red Nose Day 2007, 17 Mar. 2007
By 
M. D. P. Meechan (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Catherine Tate's special sketches for Comic Relief are excellent, the standouts being: Lauren meeting Tony Blair (who gives a good performance!); Nan's chaotic appearance on Deal or No Deal; and Lauren locking horns with new teacher David Tennant. While the novelty appeal of Lauren is wearing off, the character shines in the two sketches she appears in, as there is a great twist on the 'Am I bovvered?' catchphrase. The Daniel Craig sketch could have been better, but Lenny Henry meeting the charitable office worker is hilarious. This is a great buy, and Catherine Tate has created sketches which reflect the two key aims of Comic Relief: raising money for charity while having a laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so funny time and time again, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
daisybelle1 (cardiff, united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i thought this dvd was fantastic, i watched it time and again and found it hillarious every time, especially the tony blair sketch, i still laugh at it today this is definately one worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value For Money, 25 April 2007
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Very very Funny. Catherine Tate at her very best.

My favourite character is Nan, and I simply laughed my head off as she competed with Noel Edmonds in Deal or no Deal. Absolutely brilliant, worth the fiver alone.

Buy it, for a great cause and will have you in stitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be bovvered - Buy it!, 18 Jun. 2007
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Comic Relief certainly have gotten it right this year. They couldn't have picked a better person to do one of their charity DVDs and Catherine Tate certainly delivered with a stonking selection of sketches! At only a £5 you get great value for money, a fantasitc laugh-a-minute that will have a grin plastered all over your face PLUS you get to treat yourself to an even bigger smile because you are also donating to charity at the same time.

Plenty of people have bovvered to buy this - if you haven't already then can I, as Lauren would say, 'aks you a question' - WHY NOT?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To laugh until you drop!, 14 Jun. 2009
By 
Rodolfo Cabaleiro (Antwerp, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Catetherine Tate is certainly one of the funniest people in the UK...and this compilation of her show is just hilarious and it gets better and better, the more you see it. I almost know it by heart and still I laugh every time. The first season is good to get to know the personages, I find the second one the best and then the third there are some really funny sketches and some other are just ok. But still, all in all and for this little price, it is really worth it to buy and laugh. Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Thing On Comic Relief, 20 Mar. 2007
By 
TimM (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Catherine Tate's contributions to Comic Relief 2007 were the highlights of the entire evening; rivalling Peter Kay's "Amarillo" video from 2005. The Lauren meets Tony Blair sketch is pure brilliance, and hats-off to Tony Blair for pulling off what could have been a "car-crash" moment with such aplomb! The sketch with Daniel Craig maybe over-ran a little bit, but that may be because Craig himself looked as if he wished he were anywhere else. The Deal Or No Deal sketch with Noel Edmonds has a much more adult content than the rest, with strong language.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious - the best of 2007 red nose day, 17 Mar. 2007
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Catherine Tate is a comedy genious and her Comic Relief sketches - all of which are available in the DVD (plus more!!!) - absolutely brilliant. Among the sketches are Elaine Figgis marrying Daniel Craig, Lenny Henry guest guest starring with the charity worker from Newcastle. Also, Nan makes an appearance with Noel Edmunds in a unique and unmissable game of Deal Or No Deal and there are two sketches of Lauren. In one sketch, she meets Tony Blair which (I wont give away any spoilers in case you havn't seen it) has a fantastic twist on the usual and in the second sketch David Tennant is Lauren's English teacher which is the best of the scenes on the DVD and one of the best Lauren scenes to date.

Catherine Tate has generously made all of these sketches for comic relief and £3 of the £5 DVD will be going to the charity.

I would highly recommend this DVD to any fan of Catherine Tate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous female comedy, 5 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The definitive version (charity specials are never worth looking at) of CT's wonderful sketches. Either you get this kind of cumulative comedy or you don't and I think other reviewers here might be happier with a more conventional sitcom or something with more men in it. CT is a great actress and the characters she creates are some very funny archetypes of ordinary womankind - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Tate on Comic Relief, 21 April 2007
By 
S. Williams (County Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great DVD. I recommend it. There are 5 sketches and 2 comic relief films, one about poverty in the UK, the other poverty in Africa, and how Comic Relief help.

I would also like to say that some of the earlier reviews were put on BEFORE the DVD was released, and the sketches seen on Comic Relief are slightly shorter than the DVD. It really shows the power of the editor. Only small scenes were removed, but they add to the overall effect.

So I say, if you buy the DVD, basde it on the newer reviews, rather than the ones which were posted before it was even released.

I hope this helped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Catherine Tate Show : Complete BBC Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD]
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews