Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars213
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Seeing as the contents of this DVD set don't seem to be available anywhere on the internet, I thought I'd let you know what you might be considering ordering here.

This seven disc box features EVERY episode of the Fast Show, including series 1-3, and all three parts of The Last Fast Show Ever, which has not been released on DVD in its entirety until this set. It also contains the one-off clip show "You Ain't Seen These, Right?", which was a collection of sketches not seen in the main series and only previously on the VHS edition of series 3. Also, the version presented here is extended by about 15 minutes, some of the extra sketches being better than the ones left in for broadcast. So that's every episode of the main Fast Show series. The box does not feature any of the spin-off series (Swiss Toni, Ted & Ralph, Grass or Jumpers for Goalposts). It also doesn't feature either of the live shows, Live and Farewell Tour. The reason for their omission is simple, as they are either on different DVD labels or not representative of The Fast Show's style. They are, however, available elsewhere.

The extra features on this set are abundant as well. In contrast to the barebones BBC releases of the other DVDs, this set is crammed full of extra features, which comprise of:

Highlights from Fast Show Night (about 18 mins)
Comedy Connections (39 mins)
Suit You Sir!: The Inside Leg Of The Fast Show (39 mins)
Interviews with the cast (35 mins)
Behind the scenes footage (18 mins)

There's plenty of documentary footage in there covering how the show came about, it's influence, what the cast did afterward and much more. Lots of insight.

Lets have a moment's reflection on the talents of supporting cast members Colin McFarlane, Paul Shearer, Rhys Thomas, Jeff Harding ("Hi, I'm Ed Winchester") and Eryl Maynard with Quail, the unwieldy dog. The show wouldn't have been the same without them.

You can check out the other reviews for the individual series on Amazon, but if you have yet to buy any Fast Show DVDs and you're a fan of the series, this is the set you've been holding out for. Perfect for Christmas no doubt. Buy it now.
1313 comments|545 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
I loved The Fast Show when it was first broadcast in the 90's. It was very different from the comedy staples of the time i.e. sitcoms set in domestic situations. It was mostly made up of short sketches with recurring comedy characters. A lot of the sketches had little or no storyline, which, strangely enough, is often what made them funny.

I watched this box set recently and if you liked it first time around it is worth buying it, as you will enjoy the jokes just as much.

The set contains are seven DVD's featuring:
- Series 1-3
- An hour long Christmas Special
- The Last Fast Show Ever - three slightly longer episodes that I hadn't seen before
- A BBC Comedy Connections episode about The Fast show
- Clips from The Fast Show night on BBC2, featuring fans and interviews
- A number of interviews with Charlie Higson, Paul Whitehouse and other members of the cast.

I think the second series was the best. Parts of the first series weren't great and the makers admit this themselves. Some of the sketches became longer (e.g. Channel 9/Ted and Ralph) but were just as funny. Perhaps at this stage it should have been renamed "The Catchphrase Show".

M favourite characters are Competitive Dad and Carl Hooper.
My favourite line is Carl Hooper's immortal query - "Bats, are they blind or just taking the mickey out of me?"
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
Forget Little Britain, the Fast Show was the best sketch show ever, yes agreed it had generally the same characters each week but they were in many different situations. Having watched all the way through again recently I had forgotten just how many comic gems there were. The documentary is worth watching just to see the real Rowley Birkin! A must for all sketch lovers.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
Bono estente. Enfigurera del Fast Show comprisatore par exempla Ken and Kenneth-eth-eth-eth-eth que hilariosos "Suit you, sir" na "Does she want it?" este montivo ma repetito "Oghh!" si repetito "Oghh!" si repetito "Oghh!" angulos muchos merrimente! Per addita sminky pinky los "Ted and Ralph" qui este amoros homo eroticos mas piquante et sentimentale. "Does my bum look big in this" performata par excellente Arabella Weir qui soyentara top totty, en opinione mio. Enforta "Rowley Birkin QC" indel montago monologos incomprehensibilos para exceptione sa "I was very, very drunk". Muy, muy jocularisticos! Totalitare bueno mi £10.99 por si DVD gizmo. Bono estente.
88 comments|91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
Previous reviewers either 'love or hate' The Ultimate Fast Show. All I can say is that it is Brilliant !!
If like me commitments in the 1990's meant that you missed a good proportion of this, but instantly recocognise 'Suits You Sir' and the like, but also the likes of 'Scorchio, Scorchio' and 'This week I'll be mainly....' then you are in for a real treat. This collection at this price (including free delivery) is absolutely first class value for money. Less the £2 each for 7 dvd's of some of the most genuinely funny sketches you will ever see. So if it gets 'a bit samey' who cares, there is 833 minutes to go at. Enjoy !!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
This was an extra pressie for the husband. I haven't heard him laugh so much or for so long, for ages. Has all the brilliant bits & characters from the show. A real gem to have in your DVD collection.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2011
Isn't the Fast Show BRILLIANT?

It was like short sketches and funny characters and stuff, BRILLIANT!

Aren't 7 disc box sets Brilliant? they've got like 7 brilliant discs in them and everything

Not just all the BRILLIANT TV series but also the Christmas show and a BRILLIANT documentary too, BRILLIANT

There's some Brilliant out-takes and behind the scenes footage from behind those BRILLIANT scenes

There's also some sketches that the Brilliant editor didn't think were Brilliant enough for the telly

You even get a Brilliant booklet with some early scripts in it as well, there's only one word to describe this box set

BRILLIANT!
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
My boyfriend introduced me to The Fast Show and I've been hooked on it ever since. Bought it for him this Christmas. Seeing as anyone looking up this DVD is probably familiar with the show, the only thing I am going to say is that the packaging looks good and it's a good quality box set.

Only issue I've had with it is Amazon's inability to wrap it properly and pretty much put it in a see through plastic bag with no padding. Luckily it got to me in pristine condition. Not so luckily, my boyfriend got to see his present as he opened the mail. Thought I'd make a mention of that on here as if you're ordering this in December, you might want to keep an eye on your mailbox.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
Excellent done and complete. Very good extras, especially the interviews with Harry Enfield and the lot. Paul Whitehouse is a genius, Charlie Higson complements him brilliantly and the two are THE best team in UK comedy. Loved it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
This DVD box set of The Fast Show is the definitive collection of the sublime sketch show that ran between 1994 and 2000. It contains the original three series, first shown in 1994, 1996 and 1997, as well as the 1996 Christmas special and the 2000 Last Fast Show Ever specials. It does not, however, contain the 2011 Fosters Funny online series as this box set was released in 2007.

The box set also contains highlights from the 1999 Fast Show Night, including the very funny programme introductions. These were done in character by the likes of Louis Balfour (Jazz Club... Nice!) and very rude South African department store clerk known only as No Offence, as well as pieces by fans of The Fast Show. In addition to this, there are two documentaries about The Fast Show, some interviews with the cast and behind the scenes footage. The documentaries are very interesting and are a wonderful insight into the show and how it came about.

Rounding off this box set is "You Ain't Seen These, Right?", a clip show featuring some sketches not seen in the show, and a booklet containing the original pilot script and some information about the show.

Whether you are a longtime fan of The Fast Show, or a first time watcher like me, you will absolutely love this programme with its abundance of wonderful characters, such as Ted and Ralph, the perverted tailors, car dealer Swiss Toni, who compares everything with 'Making love to a beautiful woman' and the Northern lad who thinks everything is brilliant. BRILLIANT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)