Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admire Dame Judi? Then buy this!
This DVD collection contains some of Dame Judi Dench's most lauded work from between the 1960's and the 1990's. The collection is a must if you are a keen DJD fan. A lot of people only really woke up to her talent when 'Mrs Brown' was first released in 1997. This is a fantastic collection, therefore, if you would like to see her in works dating back to before she...
Published on 29 Nov 2007 by Digger77

versus
57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judi Dench Collection
I bought this package since it contained Chekhov's 'The Cherry Orchard' and Ibsen's 'Ghosts' and would have done so whichever artist or artists were involved. Judi Dench gives excellent performances in a wide variety of roles so confirming what a fine actress she is.

This is not easy viewing. There is only one comedy, Feydeau's farce 'Keep an eye on Amelie'...
Published on 25 May 2009 by Pruss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Judi Dench, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
One of the finest actresses that Britain has ever produced. Wonderful performances. Judi is so versatile and a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars part of our English stage, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
excellent acting, well written , English as properly spoken. Nostalgic enjoyable, costumes delightful and reminders of some of our best acting and productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine value, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. J. E. Jackson (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
I am delighted to own this collection. It is superb and has filled me with nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
Magnificent collection of performances of Dame Judy. A 'must' buy for serious fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We have come a long way..., 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
It is amazing how dated some of this seems. It has really brought home to me how much film/theatre has moved on. Interesting to watch her performance progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
arrived on time & enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
Pleased with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 July 2014
By 
Mrs. D. Greig Smith (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
Nice to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars will not play, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. B. M. Alton "Beth" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD set some time ago but have only just had the time to sit down to watch it. It will not play on my DVD player or my computer but I don't know why. The notification merely says words to the effect that it has been copied in an unacceptable format. It is straight from the box and I am very disappointed. Can you explain the problem please, Its a BBC DVD. Can it be returned at this late stage. I await your advice. Beth Alton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judi Dench, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
I had to buy this collection to obtain the play I really wanted, starring Norman Wisdom, in probably his finest dramaic role as a terminal patient, along with Fulton Mackay. Norman Wisdom has the role of a brash & uneducated former salesman with Fulton MacKay playing a retired university lecturer. But the, reasonable, cost for the whole collection was well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews